We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star quality with super friendly attention” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“5 star quality with super friendly attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stacy makes the bed and breakfast experience very special. The quality of the breakfast is totally 5 star both in the level of gourmet cooking and in the presentation. She also takes the time to let you know what is available in St Louis according to your interests. The room was very clean and the interior decorating was suburb throughout.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
98
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I don't like to write negative reviews. Therefore, I will start with the pros:
1. Lovely period home; nicely decorated and well cared for
2. Food is good
3. Neighborhood is fantastic; we really love it!
4. Room was spacious with a very well functioning, smaller-sized bath
Now, the cons:
1. Our room, Lafayette, was on the 2nd floor of the main house. On the 3rd floor is a room with a jacuzzi bath. At 2 am on our 2nd night the jacuzzi was turned on (before it was full) by the folks staying in that room (inconsiderate, but you can't control that). To describe it as loud does not convey they full noise level. So we were awakened suddenly by this noise that sounded like a truck backing up and it went on for about 20 minutes but was really awful until the tub was full. We mentioned it to the owner who said she was not aware of how loud the noise is when the jacuzzi is on (seriously?). She said she would start a policy of no jacuzzi after 11 pm. That's good, but I would make sure the policy is clearly in place before booking that room.
2. The mattress was hard. It might work fine for some but we like it a bit softer. When I asked for a quilt or something to use as a topper the owner told me that her more expensive rooms had toppers: 101 on how to infer your guest is a complaining cheapskate. We actually booked the only room she had available for our 3 day stay. BUT, later that day she did find a quilt and put it on the bed and it was a big improvement and we appreciated her efforts and thanked her.
So, if the all the beds had toppers and the jacuzzi never went on after 11 pm I would give this establishment 5 starts.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lafayette room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Shayne, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We're very sorry that your time with us did not meet your expectations. The room that you stayed in, the Lafayette, has a new mattress that we purchased last year. We've received a lot of positive feedback about it, but unfortunately it did not meet your needs. We only have two down mattress toppers at the moment because we are gathering guests' feedback on them. I mentioned which rooms they were in. I certainly did not intend for my response implied that your travel budget was tight, but rather that the toppers were already in use.

The Jacuzzi above the Lafayette is not normally loud. When it is fully filled (we fill it with bleach & water to clean it after each guest departs), I assure you that it operates at a quiet hum. I also assure you that *no one* has ever run the Jacuzzi at 2am prior to your stay. In the morning, you described in extensive detail the noise that disturbed your evening. I offered you a free night's stay for your next visit. We hope to have the opportunity to meet your expectations should your travels bring you to St. Louis again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Delicious food, perfect location, great hosts, and a lovely property all make this a fantastic b&b! Stacy is an excellent host (and cook) the bed was so comfortable and all of the sites of the city are nearby. Although one could easily never leave the property, much less the lovely little neighborhood. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessBb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Manager at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. More importantly, I’m so glad that you feel your stay with us was a 5-star experience. It means so much to hear that you enjoyed your time in St. Louis. It’s warm, friendly guests like you that make it easy for me to smile all day, and remind me of why I chose to be an innkeeper. I hope you’re able to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffeyville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed the weekend at this B&B and of all our travels so far, we agreed that this was the best place we've stayed at.

Very knowledgable regarding local shopping, eateries, and things to do and see, easily and happily accommodating of my dietary restrictions, wonderful breakfasts!

Just an excellent experience all the way around. In the future, should we find ourselves in the St Louis area again, I am sure that Napoleon's Retreat will be our first choice in lodging. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! St. Louis is an awesome place to visit, and we enjoyed sharing our love of this city with you. I'm so glad we had a chance to chat over breakfast. Being greeted each morning by your cheerful smiles really made my weekend! Thank you :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything was excellent. I loved the large Josephine suite with the separate living and sleeping areas. Breakfast was delicious and filling (quiche, frittata, fruits, pastries, etc). Parking was convenient and available. Lafayette Square was a very pleasant neighborhood with park and restaurants within a short walk. Stacey and the 2 pooches were excellent hosts. It is walkable to Cardinals game at Busch Stadium.

Room Tip: Josephine suite was great with separate living (with TV/kitchen) and sleeping area for couples with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rr108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Manager at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your kind, thoughtful review. We're very glad we had a chance to meet you. If only the weather had cooperated more during your stay! The 3 days of solid rain sure made it challenging to attend the ballgames. Thank you on behalf of Indie & Peanut for all of the love & attention you gave them! I thought it was so sweet when you asked about the pillows in your room. We had purchased some allergen-sensitive pillows to "test", and it sounds like they passed with flying colors. We really appreciate that you took the time to provide us with feedback, and we hope you're able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Inn for one night; Stacy was beyond accommodating and did a great job making recommendations for our short stay. We walked around the Lafayette Sq neighborhood and had drinks and dinner there - a very cute neighborhood with lots of great options if you'd like to stay local to the hotel.

Our room was very clean, well appointed, and check in/out was a total breeze.

Breakfast was delicious; we had a great time meeting other guests as well!

Highly recommended for a "romantic" evening in the city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We're very glad you were able to visit with us. Thank goodness you had a chance to experience the City Museum - my favorite attraction in all of St. Louis! We hope your travels bring you to our fair city again, and we would be delighted to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Napoleon for a night in April on our first trip to St Louis. It was a delightful experience. The Lafayette room was spacious and well appointed, and even though my husband was on crutches he was happy he made the effort to climb the stairs. The breakfast was tasty and it was fun talking with the other guests. Stacy suggested nearby restaurants and we loved the ones we tried (The Chocolate Bar, Bogarts BBQ, an italian place whose name I forgot). We also loved the Lafayette Park area as there are lots of beautiful homes, good eateries and coffee shops. We will definitely stay at the Napoleon if we are in St.Louis again. Thanks Stacy for the great suggestions for attractions-we loved the zoo, the Botanical Gardens and the Arch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janadian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy K, Owner at Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I'm delighted you chose to stay with us during your first visit to St. Louis. I wish we hadn't had a full house, or I would definitely have moved your reservation to our 1st floor room. Your husband was such a trooper with his crutches! We hope you're able to visit St. Louis again soon, and we would be honored to host your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1815 Lafayette Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2507
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning B&B located 1 mile from downtown in historic Lafayette Square. This 3-story Victorian mansion has 5 luxurious rooms, all with queen beds & private baths. Free wi-fi & full gourmet breakfast. One block to city's best restaurants and Bailey's Chocolate Bar. Steps away from 30 acre Lafayette Park, an urban oasis in the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Napoleon's Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing