We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!”

Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis
Ranked #3 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mother Church of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis, the superstructure of the Cathedral was built between 1907 and 1914. The Cathedral's 100th Anniversary is being celebrated in 2014. It is known for its' beautiful interior mosaics, which took nearly 80 years to create using more than 41 million pieces of glass tesserae. The Cathedral is known for having one of the largest mosaic collections in the Western Hemisphere.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We are glad that we visited the cathedral. The murals and architecture is beautiful. A must see in St. Louis. We attended the tour they offered and was explained to us what's the meaning of each murals. Everything that is written in the bible represents the mural in the walls and ceiling. Also the life of St. Louis. A well spent time and worth of visit.... Glad we did...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank J2075KBmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,999
    254
    30
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The most Impressive Church I've Visited in the US”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I am a big fan of the Byzantine architecture of this incredibly beautiful church. From the time you enter until you approach the ornate alter you are treated to amazing mosaic scenes and portraits! I can't say enough about this church! I liked it so much better than St Patrick's in NYC and many of the churches we have visited in Europe. Definitely a must see when in St Louis!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stopped at the Cathedral and enjoyed the beauty and history inside. It is worth the stop and only took us about 30 min (I took a lot of pictures).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bichsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was being renovated . So not interesting for the moment”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Renovation in progress. So just wait..
There was not much to see. Nice organ though. A bit disappointing for the moment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cattryfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The church is open to the public and once you enter the church there are murals and architecture throughout.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing