We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #40 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We were only here one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. The amenities are the nicest and the service is superb. Our room was a nice size and the bed was heavenly.
The morning breakfast was more than adequate and we found the attention given to guests to far exceed our expectations. This is a must!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Jeanette M,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cheshire! Your feedback is appreciated and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We are looking forward to having you come back and stay at our facility.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    223
    102
    65
    34
See reviews for
278
280
47
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
383 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed for our first time here and have decided that if it maintains this high level of service, cleanliness and affordability, we will always stay here while in St. Louis. The lobby and pool area are incomparable in the midwest. The service was amazing -- friendly, always going the extra mile. By the end of our one-night stay, I felt like the employees were friends. Food was basic bar food and good. Nice to have a breakfast in the morning (breakfast burritos and standard continental breakfast fare). Husband loved being able to run in the park. I spent about 6 hours poolside in the evening, from 5 pm until 11 pm. The poolside couches and lounge furniture were beautiful, clean and comfy. Our room was very quiet and extremely clean and comfortable. Bathroom was sufficient and clean. We will be back, soon and often.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Lisamarch,

Thank you for staying with us at The Cheshire. We sincerely enjoyed having you here and were very excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide great service for you so you will consider us again on your future stays. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you back here soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

I have never been so pleased with a hotel. The service was top-notch & extremely helpful at every interaction.

The British author themed hotel was uniquely decorated. The rooms were large and very comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed the fitness room and the relaxing atmosphere poolside.

I would definitely return next time I'm in town. I highly recommend staying at The Cheshire.

Billy at the front desk is a fantastic go-to guy & had lots of recommendations for what to visit & how to get there. The kind of service we were given was second to none. Thank you, Cheshire staff, for an awesome visit.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cheshire. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We strive to give the best customer service possible, and are glad that we were consistently able to execute this for you. Thank you for recognizing our staff and we hope that you continue to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The pool area was great. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. We also enjoyed the Fox and Hound bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear nurse950,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cheshire. We appreciate your feedback and are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay. We love the fact that you enjoyed the Fox and Hound, pool area, and the beds. We hope that you continue to visit us throughout the summer and stay at our facility.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

First off, I'm suspicious of places that look like they're going to be Disneyesque knock-offs of the real thing. Cheshire isn't! The decor -- everything -- reflects the original owners love of England and you'll love the antiques and English touches that make this place more English than the average English inn. I loved the photos of the royal family in the business center and all the walls provide art galleries of English prints. Rooms are named after authors, poets or works. Ours was the Death on the Nile (Agatha Christie) Suite and I fully expected Hercule Poirot to tuck me in. Room was spacious and uber-comfortable with a huge bathroom with whirlpool and extra roomy shower. Staff was more than friendly, courteous and helpful. Kid and pet friendly. Beautiful pool area, Here on business this time -- I'm coming back for pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank okietravelOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, General Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear okietravelOklahoma,

Thank you for staying at the Cheshire. We were glad to hear how much you enjoyed the decor and your stay here. We would love for you to come back during the summer and enjoy the pool area. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you return to visit our facility very soon.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. I loved the themed decor. It looked authentic and wasn't at all over the top. It looked classy in fact.

Some of the little things that were positive: 1) electrical outlets at mid-wall level next to the beds, plus an iPhone charger - excellent. So many times in hotels you have to climb down on your hands and knees to find an outlet to charge your phone. 2) They rent bikes! How cool is that? Forest Park is nearby, one of the most beautiful urban parks in the country, in my opinion. I think the bike rental idea is super. 3) It's a small thing, but playing on the old English theme, the "do not disturb" signs for the doorknobs say "Unless you are the Queen, don't even think of knocking." That made me smile. 4) The front desk staff was extremely friendly. Again, it's a small thing, but I have been to many hotels where the desk staff is robotic. These guys were great, as was the fellow helping guests with their luggage - exceptionally friendly. 5) The rooms were clean, the TV was sharp, and the shower was good.

There were a few areas that were below average. Unfortunately, on remodel projects like the Cheshire, there is not as much flexibility in redesign, I know. However, potential guests should know about: 1) There was no place to put your bathroom "stuff" except for the bathroom floor - no shelves at all. 2) There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. 3) The A/C fan in the room was very loud. Though this was actually okay in our case since we had the problem with our loud neighbors... 4) And for some reason, the doorman wasn't friendly at all. This was the first person we met. Maybe he was having a bad day, but he made a poor first impression.

Overall though, I enjoyed the visit and will probably return.

Room Tip: We could hear our next door neighbors talking loud and clear. We happened to have an adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee-Moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Tee-Moe,
Thank you so much for choosing the Cheshire for your recent visit to St. Louis. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of your experience. I am delighted to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the added ambience of our new British Theme. We are always working to improve and add additional amenities for our guests to enjoy on-site or during your stay.


Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, MO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It didn't hurt that the rooms were all named after some of my favorite British authors. Prints and paintings of English countrysides and other equally proper British subjects line the walls, mingling with massive wood-carved furniture and beautiful pottery and dishes. It also didn't hurt that the room was tastefully-decorated with nice sculptured carpeting and drapes and furnished with a comfortable bed and high-count linens, a wide leather wing-back chaise lounge for those who like to relax and read a work by one of those British authors, and a desk handy for those of us who have to work while on vacation.
The bathroom was small but efficiently arranged with a window to lighten the space. The tub was narrow; but with the bowed shower curtain rod, it didn't feel overly cramped. Subway tiles around the tub, the Versailles-patterned floor tile, and wallpaper in a smaller print -- all in beige tones -- helped expand the space, too.
The continental breakfast was above average and included fresh fruit, pastry, danish, cereals, turkey, cheese, and something hot -- one day it was a breakfast burrito; another it was a biscuit egg, cheese, and bacon sandwich. Excellent teas and coffee as well as other drinks were available all day. The pub downstairs is tiny but does a lot of business where the friendly crowd spills out into the adjacent lounge areas. Try the lamb sliders!
A large adjacent building is being refurbished and will then house a bigger pub and an event space. Guests can also sit outside on quality patio furniture around the pool, some under tented gazebos, or out front along the street.
The staff is very nice -- from the doorman to the front desk to the maid -- all professional yet friendly. My only complaint was that our door stuck, making it difficult to open and close.
I would rather spend less money, but this place is worth it! We'll be back.

Room Tip: We peeked into other rooms when we walked by as they were being cleaned. They are similar. We did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nevada_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
948 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
391 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Property: The Cheshire
Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing