We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Olde English Inn”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #43 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Love this hotel! With all the charm of an English Inn, this hotel has cozy rooms, dreamy beds, a great pub and a warm fireplace to enjoy a glass of wine and conversation. My husband and I stayed here 30 years ago and found that recent remodeling maintained the authentic old English decor. Minor concerns were that the bathroom floor was very cold and the bathroom light is turned on by motion sensor, so a middle of the night bathroom trip lights up the room.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Etlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Etlimerick,

Thank you for returning to The Cheshire after so many years! We are really happy you and your husband enjoyed your stay. As noted, the property was renovated in 2011 and we've tried our best to keep the original charm the hotel kept throughout these years.

Our staff will be happy to accommodate you accordingly as the motion light detector is a feature not everyone is a fan of.

We hope it won't take so long for us to see you again!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
There are newer reviews for The Cheshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

I simply adore the cheshire. I love the look of it, I love its history and I love how amazing the staff treats each and every guest. Last fall, I had an occasion to stay in the Jane Austin room. I found everything in the room to be perfect. The furnishings, the bedding, they were all special. I cant wait to go back again.

As a person that manages property, I must give props to an organization that is doing such a fantastic job.

Room Tip: In the summertime, if you plan on using the pool, ask for a poolside room. The pool is special. Yo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Romaname,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We've really enjoyed your feedback of our property as you may have known, The Cheshire has underwent renovation in 2011 and from there we've kept the vintage experience along with the modern day touches that you've managed to enjoy. Since your last stay in fall, our property has expanded with new restaurants, a market, and even a cigar lounge!

Thank you again and we are definitely looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for Valentine's Day night...what a unique, interesting experience! It was like being in a museum! Every hallway was filled with antique furniture and artwork and/or old British documents, and the lounge area even had a stuffed bear! The decor was upscale, but we never felt out of place. Got a great rate using Hotel Tonight, too :-) The only complaint was the motion detector that controlled the bathroom lights - if you got up in the middle of the night you'd be blinded by FOUR bright lights coming on! We took care of this by removing the cover on the motion sensor, putting a tissue over it, and then putting the cover back on. We mentioned this to the staff, and apparently we're not alone in our dislike of the light :-)

Highly recommended, and would return even though we live in St. Louis!

Room Tip: For something different or more space, try one of their themed suites.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudAndPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

BudandPam,

Thank you for choosing The Cheshire to celebrate one of the most romantic times of the year! We are glad you were able to explore the hotel as The Cheshire holds so much history and has become a great landmark and a prime destination for St. Louis. As mentioned, The Cheshire can be compared to very nice museum. You can say you're getting the best of both worlds!

We are glad the lighting situation was temporarily fixed for you and we do apologize for any inconvenience that had caused.

Looking forward to your return!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Unique and lovely hotel. Would love to stay again. The mattress was extremely comfortable. Fire place made the first floor smell great. Breakfast was a great treat. .....................................

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Olga,

Thank you taking the time to to write your review! From our presidential double pillow-topped mattresses to our delicious complimentary breakfast, we can ensure you your wonderful experience at The Cheshire will be awaiting for you on your next trip.

We hope to hear from you again.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I surprised my husband with a romantic getaway for our 20th anniversary. We are a bit picky when it comes to hotels and this hotel is nearly perfect. This is NOT your typical chain-hotel. Impressively clean and well maintained. LOVED the architecture and ambience. Complimentary breakfast was OK. Muffins, fruit, pastiers, cereals, bagels, toast, various juices & milks. Would like to see something a little hartier. The room was a bit stuffy, but loved that we could open the windows - like in a Christmas Carol. The bathroom sensor light was a bit odd - ended up having to call the front desk to figure out how to get it to turn off at 2:00am. Would like to see free parking for over-night guests. Overall a fabulous experience. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

TKS92,

We are very grateful that you and your husband had such a good experience at our property especially to celebrate such a special occasion! The Cheshire has grown into a great romantic getaway in St. Louis with our unique Novelty Suites and in addition of our new dining establishments.

We hope to see you on your 21st anniversary!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

A very busy hotel which at the same time is very friendly, the inside decor is far from minimalistic and is very homely. The room which I stayed in was a suite and the comfort level was excellent. I usually have problems with the beds but this one was like the princess and the pea. As for the bar staff they were fantastic and Stella on tap well life can't get any better.........especially when there note house........

Room Tip: The suites are perfect. Each room has a theme. Enjoy and read the book. I stayed in the Sir Walter S...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Mark,

We're very happy that you had such a great stay at our property and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. To make your experience even better, we've established new dining options along with a gastropub which includes over 32 beers on tap!

We hope you'll return to experience more of The Cheshire and all of our Novelty Suites.

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

The staff is generally helpful and polite. The bar in house has good food, and is a very popular spot for locals. The service there is great. The breakfast is well above average, not a huge offering, but well chosen and high quality. The lobby area is more a long and angled hall than the typical large overdone lobby, but it's very nice, and has a beautiful fireplace. The rooms are fine, nothing to write home about, but no complaints. The location will either be great or to far out depending on what you are lolling for. It's near the galleria shopping area and the Clayton business district. It is not terribly near downtown-about a $25 cab.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

spiil,

Thank you writing and sharing your experience at our property! The Cheshire is the perfect destination if you were coming into town to enjoy Forest Park, shopping, the local universities, a romantic getaway, or just want to get away but stay close enough to the busy downtown area.

Our iconic Fox and Hounds Tavern will continue with its great service as we hope you'll return to enjoy again. We hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
1.9 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
2.4 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
1.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Forest Park
2.5 mi away
The Parkway Hotel
The Parkway Hotel
#29 of 121 in Saint Louis
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £109 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing