We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #36 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
University City, Missouri
1 review
“A lovely time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Everyone we met was really helpful. Billy and Justin checked us in and out without a hitch. My husband and I visited on February 1st, for our anniversary. The woman who was working the bar that evening, at the Fox and Hound, was also very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear A B,
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about The Cheshire! I am so glad that our wonderful team members like Billy and Justin ensured you had such a lovely time! We cannot wait to see you again!

Happy Anniversary!
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    217
    96
    58
    34
See reviews for
268
275
45
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Thank you! For your wonderful service, always smiling and willing to help, we are SSM Emp. and its always nice to know if in the ever changing weather in st. louis, if we cant make it safely home, we know you all are a phone call away, thanks for all you do to help make our stay wonderful. The rooms are always warm and clean, and well stocked with everything needed. Hot breakfest in the am.. Thanks so much!!! Dottie and Sally

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Dottie M.
Thank you so much for sharing such kind words about the Cheshire! I am glad to hear that when the weather is inconsistent, you can count on awesome team members like Billy, Kevin, and Ben to take care of you all! We hope to see you again soon (but don't hope the weather is too bad!)

Thanks again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have a son at WashU and have stayed at various hotels for the past 4 years. This is fun place to stay; an English hunting lodge from a more geentel era (Note the 14 foot brown bear in the common area)! It was pretty cold during the weekend, so the fireplace in the common area was charming. Breakfast is included, which was interesting as it included slabs of sliced turkey and ham in addition to more common bagels, cereal, fruit salad etc. The guest rooms are named after British authors, playwrights, etc. A copy of their respecitve work is in the room and you receive a souvenir bookmarker of that author. We were on the ground floor, and the actual floor was freezing – must be concrete slab under the carpeting. We had to keep the room at 74 degrees to stay warm. The room was lovely, but the bathroom was amazingly small and has no heat source, so it got really cold, unless the door was left ajar. The overhead bathroom light is on a timer, so keep moving to keep it on! We asked to have the sink drain plug fixed as it was stuck in the open position, it worked exactly once after it was “fixed.” The hallways are not heated either, so it was rather cold. I guess we could have asked for another room, but we were only there for 2 nights. We ate at the adjacent hotel owned Basso restaurant – see my separate review.

Room Tip: Don't stay on ground floor in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenmom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear goldenmom1234,
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice words about The Cheshire. We definitely are something completely different! We hope to see you the next time you are in St. Louis!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel has an Old English flavor to it. It is tastefully decorated. My wife booked us a theme room for my birthday. The room was nice enough but the hard wood floors had a film on them, I suspect from whatever cleaning solution housekeeping uses. The bathroom was a bit dusty around the edges and in the corners. It wasn't bad, but for the price you expect immaculate. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Spencer M,
Thank you for taking time to provide us valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was anything but perfect. I am glad that you still enjoyed your birthday celebration with you wife, though. I will share your comments regarding cleanliness to our housekeeping leadership team. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let me know.

Happy BIrthday!
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This weekend we stayed “in-town” at The Cheshire for my birthday and I don't think I've ever had a finer hotel experience. Every single detail of our stay was perfect. Although we were visiting from “in-town” I felt a million miles away from home which was what we were hoping for. The décor and ambiance of wood burning fireplaces in the Fox & Hound and lobby set the tone for a perfect romantic weekend. We stayed in a suite that was gorgeous. We ate one night at The Restaurant which was stunning and the food and wine pairing was exceptional. The warmth and charm of the hotel was only eclipsed by the young, friendly and welcoming staff at both The Restaurant and the hotel. I want to thank all the friendly faces that welcome us and wished, me, this perfect stranger a happy birthday. Thank you Lydia, Justin, Sara, Easton, Benjamin, Billy, Mike, Haider from the hotel and Oliver and Ronnie at The Restaurant. I’m grateful for what each of you did to make me feel so special. We will be back!

Room Tip: The suites are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear bigbluz,

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review and Happy Birthday from the rest of the staff at The Cheshire! Our unique decor and motif for the property and Fox and Hounds Tavern takes you away into a setting of a traditional old English inn and pub. With our variety of great dining options, our market, and cigar lounge, our goal is to create a feel of a resort for all our guests to enjoy within the area and property; perfect for a weekend getaway within town. We enjoy making each guest's stay a unique experience and we are grateful for you sharing your wonderful experience with our staff.

We look forward to your next arrival!

Sincerely,
The Cheshire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our daughter gave us a weekend stay at the Cheshire for our Christmas present.
OOOOHHHHH, did we ever have the very best relaxing, enjoyable, welcoming,
warm exceptional stay.
Can't say enough about the STAFF...besides the history and ambiance of the Cheshire, and how delightful our room was,
the staff are the ones who make this fabulous hotel.
BILL, KIMMY, CHRIS AND CHRIS & BEN !!!!!!
They are ALL outstanding. Their personalities and true kindness really comes through. Because of this outstanding crew we will return many times to relax and enjoy the Fox and The Hound and the Great Room. (love the fireplaces). Hope to return for another weekend get
away also.
The Jacobsmeyer's
Thanks again for our wonderful weekend. The Jacobsmeyer's

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor, view of the pool (even thought it is winter) very nice continental breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B_kelly_cheshire, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Susie J,
Thank you for recently staying with us and your glowing review of The Cheshire! Where to begin? Thank you for mentioning so many members of the staff and pointing how wonderful they made your stay. We are all very proud of our team members and how much they contribute to each and every guest’s stay. Everyone here takes great pride in guest satisfaction and thank you for passing all that on to us. We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you all the best
Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Last night we had an awesome experience. From the check in with Billy and Ben to Fox & Hounds bar/restaurant. Billy helped us with all of our questions. We loved the character, the friendly staff, the breakfast and the room! We also loved Lydia in housekeeping. GREAT EXPERIENCE! We will come back in the summer when the pool is open! Such a charming place
Thank you Cheshire for making my Birthday special!

Room Tip: We had a mini-suite and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Katie E,
Thank you so much for your extremely kind words about your awesome experience at The Cheshire! Billy, Ben, and Lydia definitely bring character to the hotel! We hope that we can count on seeing you the next time you make a visit to St. Louis!

Thanks again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Property: The Cheshire
Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing