We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of St Louis”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #47 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My boss booked me onto this hotel while on a sales trip. He had been there before and loved it.
The rooms are fantastic, and each one individualized. I stayed in the Graham Green Room.

Everything was perfect!! The beds, the toiletries, the staff, the decor, and the fact that there are 3 great restaurants across the parking lot, made my stay even better.

Room Tip: Pick your favourite author!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

ElCoyote007,
Thank you so much taking time to write such wonderful thing about The Cheshire! I am truly very happy to hear that your stay was perfect! We hope to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis (maybe you would enjoy the James Bond Novelty Suite!)

Thanks again,
Andrew Allred
front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night. We loved the decor and the themed rooms. The lobby area was comfortable and cosy. The room itself was more shabby than cosy and was dirty. The shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in recently. The walls were paper thin and we think the couple next door were re-enacting the infamous scene from "When Harry Met Sally". At least we were entertained! The next night we stayed at a Courtyard by Martiott for a third of the price and had a much better experience. Even though we were completely underwhelmed by the hotel we do have to say the staff was very pleasant and friendly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hmm1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Hmm1960,
I am truly very sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything but perfect. You valuable feedback will be shared with our entire team so that we can improve in the future.

Thank you for your time,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The main common rooms are cozy. The fireplaces lovely. Our room was well appointed. Very comfortable bed. The hallways are shabby and dirty. The bar and restaurants are interesting with good food. Cons: the jacuzzi tub in our room kept running at random times. Very noisy and unsettling. Limited room service. The fire alarm sounded at 5:00ish. There was no fire and we made it back to our room my 6:00ish. We went for our anniversary and to get some much needed rest. Between the faulty jacuzzi and the alarm, we were exhausted. The hotel did not comp anything for the inconvenience. I will visit the restaurants again but would not recommend the hotel for the price. There are better options in St Louis.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 113janie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear 113janie,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback about The Cheshire. I am sorry to hear that your experience was anything but perfect. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Restaurant.

Thank you again for your comments and time,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our 1-night stay in this cozy and romantic hotel. The British literary theming is just right, with very modern room furnishings. The king bed was very comfortable and the room was set to 73 degrees, which felt wonderful when it was in the single-digits outside. I am always cold but our room was warm. The only thing I didn't like is that we were in a handicapped-accessible room, which you could tell by the bathroom: there was no tub under the shower, or any partition between the shower and the rest of the bathroom (besides the shower curtain). During a shower, nearly the entire bathroom floor became wet and it took a while to drain/dry up. I have never seen this before, but it was understandable from the viewpoint of someone in a wheelchair. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FJT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear FJT2011,
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments about The Cheshire! There is only one thing better than having a drink and cozying up next to the fire at The Fox and Hounds on a cold winter day, and that's a refreshing ice cold beverage pool side during a sunny summer's day! At the Cheshire, you can do both!

We hope to see you then!
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Cheshire hotel should be a great place but…….they have a major CLEANING ISSUE!!!!!As many reviews would mention it,they don t know how to clean the property?????from lobby to elevator and the most problematic:THE ROOMS ARE FILTHY,champagne cork,peanuts,dust,human hair,pubic hair+1 lamp out of 3 would not work in my room……
As much as the English design is fun,i prefer to stay in a CLEAN ROOM,with clean towels,clean shower…………..just the basics,and should you complain about it-thank you for letting us know……will be your answer.

Room Tip: avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christophe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear chrostophe m,
Thank you for providing valuable feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear your stay was anything but perfect. Your comments will be shared with our new Housekeeping leadership team.

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Everyone we met was really helpful. Billy and Justin checked us in and out without a hitch. My husband and I visited on February 1st, for our anniversary. The woman who was working the bar that evening, at the Fox and Hound, was also very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear A B,
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about The Cheshire! I am so glad that our wonderful team members like Billy and Justin ensured you had such a lovely time! We cannot wait to see you again!

Happy Anniversary!
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Thank you! For your wonderful service, always smiling and willing to help, we are SSM Emp. and its always nice to know if in the ever changing weather in st. louis, if we cant make it safely home, we know you all are a phone call away, thanks for all you do to help make our stay wonderful. The rooms are always warm and clean, and well stocked with everything needed. Hot breakfest in the am.. Thanks so much!!! Dottie and Sally

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Dottie M.
Thank you so much for sharing such kind words about the Cheshire! I am glad to hear that when the weather is inconsistent, you can count on awesome team members like Billy, Kevin, and Ben to take care of you all! We hope to see you again soon (but don't hope the weather is too bad!)

Thanks again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
986 reviews
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
398 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 122 in Saint Louis
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#42 of 122 in Saint Louis
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £110 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing