We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel Near Forest Park”
Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #47 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently spent a weekend in St. Louis to do research at the History Museum, and while there spent two nights in this charming hotel. The hotel is "historic" and is decorated in an English theme, with each room dedicated to a literary figure. I was very lucky to get the George Orwell room, featuring Animal Farm, which happens to be one of my top 5 novels of all time. That aside, the room was as clean as any hotel in their ranking level - I never find hotels to be spotless as I would like, but I didn't notice any problems. I was there on a chilly weekend, and the heater worked great - I was completely comfortable. The bed was king sized and had a large frame that my husband knocked his shin on twice due to its awkward design and placement in the room, but the mattress was comfy! I could hear a lot of the activity around me in the morning, and I think that when they renovate, they should consider some noise control between rooms. Breakfast was free, and it was so-so. I really liked that they had fresh, decent bagels and muffins, and individually packed juices and milk. On the other hand, the toaster for the bagels didn't really work, supplies were not stocked regularly, and there isn't a really great place to sit - people were just leaving plates and containers on the furniture in the adjacent seating area in the lobby, and staff took forever to clean these. There was not a place where customers could leave their used things, and a little station like that would probably solve the problem. However, the experience overall was positive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Jennifer A,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write such nice words about the Cheshire! We love you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our comfortable an clean rooms. You notes about breakfast have been shared with the team and improvements to the toaster have been made.

Thank you again for your time,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

There's only been 2 times I've actually walked out of a hotel after walking in without staying the night... this almost made #3.

Yes, it's a cool looking hotel and the lobby in impressive. But look closely. Carpets are worn, wood furniture is trashed and there's dust. A LOT OF IT. My room: hair in various parts of the shower. Dust on the bathroom trays, dirty floors... awful. The bed linens seemed clean but I didn't sleep well partly because of being grossed out and partly because the guy next door was on the phone for an hour late at night and the walls are THIN. More dirt all over the room. Cracker crumbs on the office chair, really? And dust on all the furniture. NEVER again will I stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daphne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear daphne r,
Thank you for taking time to provide us feedback through Tripadvisor. Your experience is disappointing, and your comments have been shared with our housekeeping leadership team. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Kimmi, who runs the bar in the lobby of The Cheshire, showed me how to love the Manhattan and Old Fashioned. I'm a cocktail fan and bartender but those two drinks never spoke to me. Kimmi's ratios correct the cloying and otherwise offensive flavors of the drinks.
There are a few great whiskey and cocktail bars in St Louis. Fox and Hound's bar doesn't have the broadest menu but nails execution, earning a visit every time I visit STL.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Aaron C,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of The Fox and the Hounds! You are correct that Kimmi is awesome, and we are very lucky to have her on our team! We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The décor is interesting. I am just disappointed that the hotel manager hasn't contacted me. I sent a personal letter to the hotel.. Expecting a call back and or some level of compensation for a really bad night. The lights wouldn't turn off.. and the bath was a little unclean.. Razors were left in the shower.. Probably hadn't been cleaned but I don't know..
Lastly disappointed that the staff at the front desk said there was nothing they could do .. asked us to go to priceline for a refund .. apparently the staff hasn't been trained in Excellent customer service.

I am still open for this correction .. 314-402-5433

Vickie Moss

Room Tip: its a nice hotel ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grgry844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear grgry844,
I am very disappointed to hear that your stay was anything but perfect. Your valuable feedback will be shared our entire team. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were seeing a band at the Duck Room at Blueberry Hill and wanted a hotel close by. I wouldn't just stay here because it's close by, I would go out of my way because that is what all the staff at The Cheshire did for us. The front desk was very helpful and Kimmi D.the bartender at the Fox and Hounds' pub inside the hotel was one of the best. She was very inviting, sweet, suggested some great drinks and was very personable. She made us want to come back and tell all our friends. The room was large, extremely clean, and comfortable feeling with ambience. The Cheshire is the place to stay hands down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Krista7777,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words about or hotel! We are very lucky to have great people on our team like Kimmi! I am so happy to hear that we can expect to see you again soon!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Visit St Louis monthly, and staying at the Cheshire is like having a second home.The restoration of the property to it's original Tudor charm has been beautifully done, from the rooms, to the delightfully cozy lobby, to the landmark Fox and Hounds' pub..
The staff, that is uniformly friendly and helpful, only adds to the hotel's warm and inviting ambiance. The Cheshire's restaurants are among the most highly rated in St Louis, and the Inn has a great little deli/specially shop for take-outs. Yes, it's an older property, so it lacks amenities like an indoor pool, but it's self-serve breakfast is top rate, and is included in the room rate. I love staying at the Ches, and always look forward to returning. .

Room Tip: The hotel has specially designated " business rooms/floor areas " that are quieter, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear susanlw,,
Thank you so much for the kind words about The Cheshire and our amazing restaurants! You are correct that our amazing team really adds to the charm our the property. I truly hope to see you the next time you are visiting St. Louis!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cheshire hotel and we had a wonderful experience. The front desk service was wonderful. Billy Kelly and Easton totally made our stay wonderful. They told us where to eat and what things to do in St. Louis. The room was huge and it's a perfect location. We ate at the Cheshire Restaurant and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. We were so happy with it we went back for Brunch and it was amazing! I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting St. Louis. Be sure to ask for Billy or Easton at the Front Desk.
Maureen W.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Maureen W,
Thank you for taking time to write such nice words about our hotel and awesome team members! We are truly very lucky to have people like Easton and Billy on our team! It is so nice to hear that your experience at The Restaurant was so great as well! We hope to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis!

Thanks again,
Andrew A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
1.9 mi away
Clayton Plaza Hotel
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
980 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chase Park Plaza
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis at Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
1.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £111 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing