We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog and people friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cheshire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cheshire
Ranked #38 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog and people friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Cheshire was a perfect stop as we made our way across the continent. Traveling with a young Aussie , I wasn't sure how things would go, but this hotel welcomed us with open arms, dog bowls, a dog bed, and healthy dog treats! We are dinner right inside in the lobby area, with my pup laying right next to us. The room was clean and the staff went above and beyond. Thanks Cheshire! We will return when we head west!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jamie K,
Thank you so much for your extremely kind review of The Cheshire! We loved having you and your adorable dog stay with us! We definitely love taking care if all of our guests, especially our furry ones! I love to say that we are beyond pet friendly! We cannot wait for you all to come back soon!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    217
    96
    58
    34
See reviews for
268
275
45
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! Talk about client services and really wowing us. We normally stay at the Chase, but wanted to mix it up. Our first impression was the valet guy Byron who made us feel like we were somebody. Next we have Andrew at the front desk who was so gracious and extremely welcoming. We found our way our to the pool deck and Mandy treated us like Rockstars. She got our reservations at "the restaurant" squared away with her close friend Carlos. She was so fun and helpful. Thank you all for an extremely delightful, resort-like experience. We don't get to do this too often. Love the suite we are in as well. Amazing client services.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Eric B,
Thank you so much for the extremely kind review of The Cheshire! Byron, Mandi, Carlos and I loved getting to meet you and your wife! I am so glad to hear that you both had such a great time while you were here! Our entire team really loves creating guest experiences, and I think that it really shows. We cannot wait for you two to both come back soon!

Thank you again so much,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We LOVED our time here! I had to sway the hubs from the Chase Park Plaza, but what a boutique experience! Andrew at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we loved our room. Once we checked in headed directly to the pool.... LOVED Mandy doing bar service. She hooked us up with dinner reservations!
Byron was our valet dude and he also brought it. Cool place.
We stay 4 star most of the time bc I am high maintenance on hotels.
Seriously one of my fave stays!
Restaurants are great too. They have several onsight. Rock on!
We will be back...stat!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBecking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear CBecking,
Thank you so much for the extremely kind words! Byron, Mandi, and I loved having you and your husband with us! I know nights away from the kiddos can be few and far between, and I am so happy that you had such a great time! Thank you for convincing your husband to come to The Cheshire! We cannot wait to see you again soon!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with our room. The hotel has a wonderful staff and close to many attractions. The hotel has a wonderful old English decor. We stayed for 1week and the price for the room was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Thomas W,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a wonderful review about your stay with us at The Cheshire! I constantly am reminded about how great the members of our team are! We loved having you for the week and hope that you come back very soon!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose The Cheshire for a one night stay while in St. Louis. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed for a few more nights. From the time we arrived until we checked out we have nothing but good things to say. Plenty of parking,check in was fast and very friendly,the hotel is set in an old English charm and was neat and clean. All of the staff were more the helpful and very friendly. It is always pleasant to see people that enjoy there job. With four different on site options for dining you have lots of choices. Our favorite was the fox and hounds tavern. From the moment we walked in the staff acknowledged us and made us feel welcome. We would like to give a special thank you to Kimmi, she was great! She went went out of her way to chat with us and recommend things to do in the area. She had a vast knowledge of "adult beverages" and how to serve them. I couldn't begin to tell you what a relaxing and fun evening we had at the fox and hounds tavern, everyone was wonderful staff and guests alike. We can't wait to return and spend more than one night!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Sharron O,
Thank you so much for your extremely kind words about your stay with us at The Cheshire! Kimmi had such a great time taking care of you all! She really is truly an amazing asset to this team. In fact everyone here is very passionate about hospitality! I really am so happy to hear that you had such a great time! We cannot wait for you to come back!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Gotta stay at the Cheshire Inn! It's a quaint, boutique Inn where the rooms are superbly named for English writers. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the tavern is an excellent meeting place with an impressive selection of libations. The location is just a short walk to the Forest Park where there are a lot of attractions. The continental breakfast did the trick with just enough of a variety that it didn't overwhelm you, good food and coffee, and kid friendly. We're looking forward to staying in the Ian Flemming and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle suites... can't wait.

Room Tip: Any of them are good. Find your favorite English author and go for it. There is a copy of the auth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mark M,
Thank you so much for your very kind words about your stay at The Cheshire! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities and themed rooms! Our location right across from Forest Park is really amazing and makes a weekend away that much better! We cannot wait for you to come back to try the different suites!

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I travel from Chicago to STL every week and the hotel makes a very big difference to me. I have been staying at several other high end hotels in the area and I am ready to switch. The main reason for the switch is plain and simple...............the staff. They were extremely accomodating! The great service started with Lydia taking the time to give accurate directions. The next day I needed some addtional help in my room and Sara went out of her way to assist (in less than 5 minutes). Justin also took some time to help me with several questinons around dinner and the workout center. At the end of the day, the people make the differene and I just wanted to say that is the reason behind my switch to the Cheshire. Thanks for a great stay and see you next week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Front Office Manager at The Cheshire, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Scott A,
Thank you for your glowing review of The Cheshire! I am so delighted to hear that your stay was so great! I truly believe that you are correct that this hotel would not be the same without the amazing team members such as Lydia, Sara, and Justin! They really are so passionate about creating amazing guest experiences. We cannot wait to see you back next week.

Thank you again,
Andrew Allred
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire

Property: The Cheshire
Address: 6300 Clayton Rd, Saint Louis, MO 63117-2500
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#42 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheshire embodies the charm and authenticity of a traditional British inn with all the modern conveniences of today. Guest rooms range from our Deluxe class to our Royal class with turndown services and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Hotel Saint Louis
Cheshire Lodge St Louis
Cheshire Inn St Louis
Cheshire Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing