We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent”
Review of Clydesdale Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Louis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clydesdale Cottage
Ranked #9 of 26 Saint Louis B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellent”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

While staying in a B & B is a little unconventional, I highly recommend this as a place to stay in St. Louis. It is two blocks from A-B which makes it super convenient.

They already have many business travelers. Free wifi, computer, and printer are available. The rooms were reconstructed recently, are very clean, and every room provides lots of space to move around.

Additionally, the owner/operators made sure that I had a good breakfast and were flexible on what time breakfast was available. Maureen the hostess, is an incredible cook and had fresh fruit and yogurt, homemade pancakes, eggs, French toast, and a house specialty that was so good my eyes rolled to the back of my head…

This is no small thing: The morning it poured, Maureen gave me a ride to A-B. They are also willing to give rides to the airport if needed; however, taxis are readily available.

Restaurants are close by, including a Cajun restaurant that moved here from New Orleans. The River Bend Inn has incredible food and is only a block away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ray and Maureen were really nice and went out of their way to provide great hospitality. We were in St. Louis for a Cubs/Cards game. Ray offered to give us a lift to within 4 blocks of the ballpark. It really saved us some time and couple bucks. It was just really a good example of how they both make the extra effort they to make you comfortable.

We stayed in the Angel room. The bed was very comfortable, everything looks new. Ray had said they completely renovated several years ago and it shows.

That being said, it's really cozy. Couldn't have asked for a better place. The location is great too, in the Soulard area.

We'll be back, that's for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent a night at this great B & B in St. Louis and absolutely loved it. It is on a relatively quiet dead end in the Soulard area of St. Louis. Historic 4 family building that has been meticulously re-habbed into 4 b & b rooms. We stayed in the King room. Room felt very private, wouldn't have even known there were other guests staying if we hadn't seen them at Breakfast. Comfy bed, large room, nice bathroom. Feels very upscale. Inn Keepers Ray and Maureen go out of there way to make sure you have anything you need. Lots of good restaurants, the Soulard Market, Budweiser Brewery, and Cherokee Street Antique Row are all close by.
The gourmet breakfast was fabulous, home made caramel pecan rolls, fresh fruit, sausage and an excellent spinach and mushroom quiche.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaSMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stopped for the night on a road trip to visit family and friends. This was the perfect place to stay! The hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. They helped with our bags, gave us great recommendations for restaurants and sights around STL, and even sent us off the next morning with coffee and fresh baked banana bread for the road. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and had an attached large bathroom. The location is very convenient. It's right near the AB Brewery in the Soulard neighborhood. Off-street parking is provided. Breakfast was delicious and served at a time that worked best for us. This was our first time at a B&B and we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was my 1st time at a B&B and was quite impressed. Very clean, nicely decorated. More accommodations than most hotels (never seen q-tips in a hotel bathroom). Close/free parking. Mini-fridge available. Plenty of privacy. Food was wonderful. Hosts very accommodating to what time you want breakfast as well as vegetarian/meat preference. The host even scraped the ice off my truck! You definitely won't get that kind of service from a hotel. This is a nice, clean, convenient location close to downtown and in the middle of the fun Soulard area. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The Angel Room is very nice. Although I'm sure they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant_M_Wasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

For several months we've sought out lodgings in/near Soulard. On a recent St. Louis trip we drove past Clydesdale Cottage and hoped that it would become our new home base for St. Louis visits. CC is a 4-unit B&B tucked away in an enclave just south of the Budweiser Brewery and just east of Benton Park. Hosts Ron and Maureen greeted us warmly and even invited us to join their large family's Thanksgiving dinner!

We stayed in the Angel room overlooking the historic church next door. While maintaining a charming historic feel, everything in the place feels fresh and new--because it is! Make sure to ask for the "before and after" photos of the "cottage"--it's amazing how they've created a lovely B&B in what was a brick shell 7 years ago. Our room had plenty of space for the two of us and included a large bathroom with stall shower.

We explained in advance that we didn't have much time (or calories just 2 days after Thanksgiving) to enjoy the breakfast part of our accommodations, so our hosts accommodated our wishes with a light, delicious breakfast of homemade banana bread, grapefruit halves and delicious coffee, encouraging us to plan for a heartier, more leisurely breakfast the next time. There will definitely be a next time for us!

Note that Clydesdale Cottage is conveniently located next to I-55. We were prepared for and did hear the "whooshing" sound of a freeway, but for us that in no way detracted from a wonderful experience for us. A selling point for us, too, is that it is a short 1-block walk to the cozy and delicious Riverbend Cafe.

Room Tip: We peeked into all of the rooms, and they all appeared to be lovely. I guess I would select a room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Freshly renovated yet maintaining early 20th century charm, this historic B&B situated in the soulard district offers the perfect St. Louis accommodation. The rooms are large and spacious, very private and quiet, and exquisitely clean. The location offers easy access to downtown, stadiums, riverfront, shopping, and excellent dining. The food is superb whether sweet or savory, pure Morning comfort. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and as seasoned travelers all the way from New York City this B&B was truly a hidden treasure. Be sure to ask Maureen and Ray for recommendations for everything that is St.Louis as they will no doubt point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_James79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Benton Park Inn
#5 of 26 in Saint Louis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Fleur-de-Lys Mansion
#3 of 26 in Saint Louis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clydesdale Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clydesdale Cottage

Property: Clydesdale Cottage
Address: 900 Utah St, Saint Louis, MO 63118-2620
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Soulard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing