We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a Lunch!”
Review of Blues City Deli

Blues City Deli
Ranked #16 of 2,888 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: This is a delicious little deli that has 77 reviews on Google Maps but I can't seem to find it here on trip advisor. Thought you might want to add it.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! What a Lunch!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were taken to Blues City Deli during a recent visit to St. Louis. When pulling up to the Deli, my first thought was "you expect me to wait in THAT line-in this heat?" I was assured (quite, correctly) that the line moved fast. After only a few minutes, we were at the counter ordering what turned out to be the BEST sandwich I've had--maybe, EVER. Piled high with meat and topped with the tastiest sauce, I couldn't stop raving about it--but...so did the other three people with whom I had lunch.
Even if sandwiches aren't your first choice for lunch, you won't be disappointed (at all) with any of their sandwiches.
This is a small place that serves a GREAT BIG sandwich--and lots of charm. I'll be happy to visit again during my next visit to Soulard in St. Louis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatParkHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    44
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Deli in St. Louis”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great owner, great sandwiches. Be prepared to wait in line!!! Try red beans and rice. We go at least once a week. A St. Louis Gem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunofabeachStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Sandwiches”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We found this via another site and after eating we were glad we went. The shops sits on a street corner surrounded by row houses and is a nice quiet neighborhood. i am not a sub/sandwich kind of guy but I was happy we went here. I had a Mike's Spicy Beef & Cheddar and it was the best sandwich I have EVER eaten at a shop. The flavors were spot on and it was fresh and tasty. We got in fast at noon and didn't have to wait but a couple of minutes for our food. The best thing was that after eating this huge sandwich for ONLY SIX BUCKS I did not feel miserable but yet I was full. We will be going again on our way home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,036 reviews
615 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“First class in all respects - worth a visit for sure”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really enjoyed the food here - huge portions, reasonable prices and a very good menu. Hard to decide which one to pick - try the Redbird sandwich with slaw on the side. Really yummy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudjoe Key
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Probably the best deli I've ever visited......enough said! Expect a line, but they move them through fast. I can't wait to go back to St. Louis to eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blues City Deli also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Blues City Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing