We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average but convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kota Wood Fire Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kota Wood Fire Grill
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washingtion
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Average but convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Had an early dinner before the show at the Fox. Nice interior, nice view, would have preferred outside seating. We were promptly seated (had reservations) & waiter was immediately there with menus. We ordered drinks & food at the same time since we had a limited amount of time. Received drinks promptly, had to ask twice for water refills. Received food in a timely manner. The sweet potato fries were awesome & the burger was great. Fish tacos were so-so. Would not order them again. We reordered drinks, received them, and never saw our waiter again. Had to ask another server for the bill. The staff seemed overwhelmed by the before-theatre crowd, which is amazing since this happens every evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Louis Mo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location However????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is my fourth time at Kota. It will be my last. They just can't handle the crowd. It is across the street from the Fox Theatre and a block away from Powell Symphony Hall. There is not enough wait staff to handle the people and the kitchen must be understaffed.
The food is just average. You can make reservations, but once you get there it will take about 45 minutes to get your food. Not a good thing when you need to be at the theatre.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyStLouisMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
1,036 reviews
518 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Always Had Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just ate at Kato's last night before going to the Fox. We have always been waited on immediately and gotten our food in a timely manner. The only problem we have ever had is once we have our food, the waiter does not return very quickly to see of everything is ok. But we only go on nights that we are going to the Fox and it is packed, so we just go with the flow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Every time we go to the Fox, we eat at Kota! The menu is diverse, the food is good, the prices are reasonable, the portions are plentiful, and the staff is helpful and friendly. The owners even came over and introduced themselves and made sure we were being well taken care of. We'll be back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
168 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Problems again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This first time I ate here I really enjoyed the place, but on each occasion since then there have been issues. This time they were out of 2 wine choices (which made me remember...this has happened before!) IF they are no longer going to carry them, they LINE them out on the menu!! Fish tacos were the most bland, boring ones I have ever eaten! My wine glass came with obvious lipstick marks on it--not mine! When I notified the waiter, he offered us free drinks. When the bill came, he had only compted 1 drink, not my friends and mine. Service was very slow. The location is the only thing that was good, but with all the other places within 2 blocks of the Fox Theatre and Powell Hall, I will dine elsewhere. This place is not living up to it's reputation. It was my friends first visit here, and she was very interested in trying it as she and her husband attend many events nearby also, but her food was also bland, and the inaccuracy of the menu were issues.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MnJH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kota Wood Fire Grill also viewed

 
Des Peres, Saint Louis
Ladue, Saint Louis
 
Affton, Saint Louis
Overland, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing