We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Missouri Athletic Club
Ranked #67 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Neat Place”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family stayed here for a night and went to a Cardinals game. The first floor is fantastic! It's an historic building and really shows off the lobby and other rooms. Henry took us on a tour of the building and also recommended the Jack Buck Grill for dinner. The food was good there and the tour was very interesting. It makes you feel like you are living in the city 60 years ago. The location of the hotel is excellent too.

The room was average. It was a bit small and pretty outdated. Not a lot of room in the bathroom. We found the historic atmosphere to make up for the room though. A special thank you goes out to Ricki, one of the staff who helped us jump our vehicle when our van wouldn't start. He was very helpful and refused to let me tip him for his trouble. The staff was extremely kind and courteous. A nice stay and find in the middle of St. Louis!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review! We receive a lot of great comments on our historic building but I'm thrilled Henry was able to spend some time showing you around the club and telling the story of the MAC. We will be certain to thank and reward Ricki for his efforts in assisting you with your van. Both of these team members have been with the club for 20+ years and have an unmatched dedication to servicing our members and guests. It is fantastic to have them mentioned by name. We would love to have you back soon - maybe next time for some playoff baseball at Busch Stadium?! Thank you again for your review!


Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
33
45
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I must say the hotel is a little outdated but the rooms are nice and clean. The staff though is with out a doubt world class. They have been so helpful and friendly our entire stay. Catherine at the front desk is so friendly and helpful. Also we had a issue where I accidentally locked my keys in the car and the front desk sent out the hotel technician (Allen). He was so helpful getting my car unlocked. I can not say enough about the staff here. I can not wait for next 4th of July so we can come and enjoy this hotel again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastonglock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for the kind words about our staff! Both Katherine and Allen are great assets to our team and we will be sure to celebrate the success of their service with them. We would love to have you back even sooner, but if not then we will definitely look forward to seeing you again next year for the 4th! Thank you again!

Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Came here after a ball game. Loved the bar room. They let us smoke cigars and they served great drinks while we hung out. Great time! Awesome location close to Busch stadium, the casino, and everything else downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your review! We love having fans stay with us while in town for games or sporting events, and love to hear that you had a great time with us! We hope the MAC becomes your home away from home when you come back for a game or just to get away. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We found the Athletic club in Trip advisor under B & B. It is the most wonderful old building with fantastic staff both on reception and in the bar. It's the perfect place to stay and our room overlooked the Mississippi river. The food at the bar was excellent. The hotel is only a short stroll from the Gateway Arch which is fantastic and a definite must see.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our historic building, the view from your room, and the food in the Jack Buck Grill. Most of all, it is wonderful to hear that our staff treated you well during your stay. It sounds like you had a nice trip to the Arch as well, which I must agree - it is certainly a must see while in the city. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to St. Louis!

Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from a week stay in St Louis, Missouri for a convention. I stayed at the Missouri Athletic Club and if I was to go back I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The 'hotel' is a far cry from the cold, informal large chain hotels and every single member of staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit tired but immaculate and you have full use of the amazing athletic facilities, including pool, if you are inclined. The food is good as well and its central location cannot be beat. I highly recommend this place. Like I said, the staff are terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virden_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your review! Many of our guests do enjoy our differences from a large hotel chain. I'm happy you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities during your stay. It is also fantastic to hear praises for our staff! Thank you again so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again when your travels being you back to St. Louis!

Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Good hotel with impressive sport facilities. If you want an experience before the traditional hotel room this is a good option for you.

The location is great and the service quite good. The rooms are a little bit old but all clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a different experience. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the extensive athletic facilities as well. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst on a road trip
Good points - reasonable price, good location, nice welcoming staff, free wifi, parking at a price
Not so good points - room was a bit dated but clean, shower wasn't so great, there was a dress code for the building

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Rooms Manager at Missouri Athletic Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the MAC! I'm glad that we had an opportunity to have you as our guest for one night during your road trip. While it is true that rooms are a bit dated, our staff focuses on making sure they are clean and comfortable for our guests. I apologize that your shower experience was sub par and hope that it did not hinder your overall view of your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and reviewing the club. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to St. Louis!

Zach Freeman
Rooms Manager
Missouri Athletic Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#60 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Downtown
Marriott St. Louis Grand
Marriott St. Louis Grand
#29 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Missouri Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Missouri Athletic Club

Property: Missouri Athletic Club
Address: 405 Washington Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2183
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Missouri Athletic Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Missouri Athletic Club Downtown, is a unique, yet classic fixture of St. Louis' historic Washington Avenue since 1904. Original mahogany wood, rich leather, and lavish hand carved detailing, lay the ambiance of this one of a kind experience. Both the Jack Buck Grill and Sportman's Club, each house their own bar atmosphere, and are known across Missouri as the best in the business for top-notch American cuisine from Chef Barton Phillips. One of the sole remaining establishments in St. Louis where cigars can both be purchased and enjoyed in traditional luxury club atmosphere, the experience is one-of-a-kind, the Art Gallery on the Lobby level is breathtaking, and the facilities are extensive to say the least. Best of all, you don't have to be a member to stay overnight in one of our 74 guest rooms and suites, and take advantage of our prime downtown location! Within walking distance to Busch Stadium, the Edward Jones Dome, St. Louis Gateway Arch, and the banks of the Mississippi River, and easily accessible to several major highways and St. Louis' own Metro Link commuter system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Missouri Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Missouri Athletic Club Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing