We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff but no breakfast :-/”
Review of Hotel Ignacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ignacio
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff but no breakfast :-/”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel as we were in St Louis for a wedding and I was impressed by how beautiful it was and how incredibly friendly the staff were...This really made our stay worthwhile, as did the bikes out for hire. This hotel was recommended by a friend from St Louis and, although it wasn't quite within our budget, we decided to treat ourselves. The beds were exquisitely comfortable and the room well decorated and very clean. It is also well-located close to some important parts of town. The only downside was that breakfast was not included even though there was tea and coffee available downstairs. It would have been nice to get even a continental style breakfast considering that the room was not cheap. However, the friendliness of the staff made up for this and I would certainly return if I could afford to splash out again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neddyirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    97
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
75
118
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a find! Don't let the size of this hotel fool you. It has excellent meeting facilities, room appointments with modern decor, and a very urban atmosphere. The staff is friendly and capable. The location on St. Louis University campus, near the Fox Theatre and College Church make it an excellent location with easy access to either downtown St. Louis or the central west end. The lobby area is warm and inviting and the restaurants adjacent to the hotel have very good food. Topped off with a motorcycle museum on the corner - how fun can your stay be?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We only spent one night in St Louis but did some extensive research on where to stay. We settled on Hotel Ignacio and couldn't have been more satisfied. When we called for reservations the person at the hotel was very helpful in offering suggestions for eating and the area around the hotel. One of the suggestions was Pappy's Smokehouse for lunch which was a short walk from the hotel. By the way it was excellent; great ribs and fun atmosphere (we all loved the music they played). The staff at the hotel was great and the rooms very much in the European style, contemporary with high tech phone systems and modern updated bathrooms. Had a great sleep in a comfortable bed and we were ready for an early get away in the morning. The cafe at the hotel was also every responsive to our needing to get an early start. We had a good breakfast that was served promptly with a smile. Our entire experience at the Hotel Ignacio was pleasant and we would hesitate to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerIgnaci, General Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. I can't tell you how much it means to me and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, mo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Beautiful, boutique hotel which reminds me of one we stayed at in London. Staff very friendly and helpful. It is owned by St. Louis University and the campus, which has undergone beautification over the last 20 years, is just across the street. You can easily walk to restaurants, College Church and several museums on the campus (and two adjacent to the hotel).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank STLAnglophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this hotel. It was very cozy with a unique private feel. The beds were very soft and the rooms and lobby was modern and the decor was impressive. The next time I go to St. Louis I would stay at Hotel Ignacio again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeikaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springboro, oh
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were looking for a nice hotel, centrally located at a reasonable price. Hotel Ignacio filled the bill. We were also intrigued by the contemporary look of the place. It is located near St. Louis University in a nice part of town. We were able to walk around at night and felt safe doing so. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The waitresses in the breakfast area were very outgoing and easy to talk to. They also were very competent servers. We ordered a breakfast off of the menu and it was delicious! I can't say enough about the décor of this hotel. It was simple and elegant, filled with artwork and sculpture. Just walking in the door gave you a feeling of peace and serenity.

This hotel was also a short drive from Forest Park. This is a beautiful area where the zoo and many local museums are located. It would also be a great place for a long walk in a natural setting. Beautiful, old mansions line the streets across from the park. I wish we had spent more time in this area but discovered it the day we were leaving.

We had a great experience at this hotel and would recommend it to those that appreciate a unique place to stay while in a big city.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. The local skyline was very unique and it was also quiet away from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a wonderful time. The customer service was wonderful. The rooms were very well decorated and spotless. The hotel is connected to European motorcycle museum, Triumph themed restaurant and a Triumph and Ducati dealership so plenty to check out for the motorcycle enthusiest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDawn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
908 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
The Chase Park Plaza
#35 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
559 reviews
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ignacio

Property: Hotel Ignacio
Address: 3411 Olive St, Near Saint Louis University & Grand Center, Saint Louis, MO 63103-1116
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ignacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened boutique hotel close to Saint Louis University and within a short walk of 12,000 theater seats and 12 galleries & museums in Grand Center. Independently owned, amenities include; tempur pedic mattresses, Avaya Media Hubs (first in the USA), a strong "Green Statement", house bikes, Kindles and conveniently located in the heart of Midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing