We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel with a below average breakfast”
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
Ranked #19 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid hotel with a below average breakfast”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Relative to other Westin's, this location in St. Louis is very nice/above average. The rooms are extremely spacious and the lobby is fancy; you feel like your money is going a long way (maybe because I stayed here during their offseason). The location is great, although walking around in the middle of December isn't the most enjoyable activity. Thankfully, there were a half dozen cabs waiting on at the Westin to take you wherever you want to go.

There are some great restaurants around the Westin, but if you're looking for somewhere decent/easy, the Flying Saucer is 50 yards away (substantial bar food with 200+ different types of beers available).

Besides it's massive rooms, the Westin has the BEST workout facility I have seen at a Starwood hotel. I have stayed at 20+ SPG locations this year and the Westin at St. Louis blows them all out of the water.

There are a few drawbacks: There is no garage parking, so if you decide to park your car in the winter time, it's a real pain thawing out in your car when its 9 degrees outside. Parking isn't very cheap either (relative to St Louis standards). Also, the SPG complimentary breakfast is insufficient, you can load up on fruit and yogurt, but thats about it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for sharing such detailed comments from your recent stay with us! Our historical building allows us to offer a spacious Westin workout facility so the all important workout routine will not be missed while on the road! We do offer a full breakfast buffet, which SPG members are able to upgrade to in the event one prefers something in addtion to a continental breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    348
    95
    42
    26
See reviews for
287
417
82
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here before a St Louis Cardinals playoff game and the location cant be beat and it is a nice hotel. You are right across the street from Busch Stadium a short walk to the Arch etc etc.

However being SPG platinum and having stayed at numerous SPG hotels found a couple of things were off that most people (non-SPG members wouldnt notice)
(1) There was no dedicated SPG line and when we checked in there were about 30 people in line and 2 people checking in peopel.
(2) I went for the breakfast as my SPG amenity and let me tell you it must have been the worst breakfast amenity I have ever encountered as SPG member. All you had access to was cereal some pieces of fruit and orange juice that was it! When we stayed at Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian Spain we had an amazing breakfast with everything you could imagine and we felt like royalty! It appears this hotel wants the SPG name without providing the perks that should come with SPG membership.

It is a nice hotel but those little things are the reason I stay at SPG properties versus other boutique hotels I see on Hotels.com or Kayak.com

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for sharing comments from your stay with us in October! I apologize for your wait to check in; we do our best to offer each guest personalized, attentive service which sometimes can take a bit longer. Each SPG member is welcome to upgrade the complimentary continental breakfast, or order off of the menu in the event one would like a heartier breakfast. We stand ready to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the best locations in St Louis for a hotel! You are right across the street from Busch Stadium a short walk to the Arch, Scottrade, Edward Jones Dome and the casinos. It was really cold while we were there but we comented that in the summer it would be a great stay for lots of walking. The hotel seems like it maybe newly remodeled. Room was very big and comfy bed. We were on the side next to the parking garage no noise issues. The customer service was amazing. Check in was easy. The restaurant was wonderful. Clint took care of us at breakfast and was so accomidating. Esther at the bar was very friendly and so funny. Chris Fox was also pleasant, hard working and very personable with each encounter we had with him during our stay. With managment like this it is no wonder the stay is so great and friendly. We had planned to stay again at the Four Seasons but it was double what we paid at the Westin so we decided to give it a try and We were not disappointed. It is different feel then the Four Seasons but still great. We will diffently return. Thank you Westin staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyBranson_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for the many compliments! I'm thrilled to know you had a great stay, and that our associates and managers alike offered such personalized, attentive service. We completed our guest room renovation in the first quarter of this year, and our Clark Street Grill's renovation was completed in the first quarter of 2012. We look forward to welcoming you back in the furture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Eleventh wedding anniversary at Westin and our stay was great. The rooms were comfy, the staff was friendly, and the included valet parking was a bonus. We didn't take advantage of the included breakfast because we slept until 11!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Happy Anniversary! I'm thrilled to knwo we wree abel to be a part of your special celebration! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments--we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NASHVILLE
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I found a deal on Hotwire. It was well worth my investment and time. It was perfect for what I had to do. And very convenient to where I had to go. I will try for this deal again. I was very pleased and would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: I was facing the Cardinal stadium on the 4th floor. Great View!
See more room tips
Green Features: Things were very environmentally friendly. I saw lots of recycling and notes about they quality of water and pratices they had in place.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! Our convenient location is steps from many downtown attractions and office buildings. We do offer rates of various third party reservation sites so that one may choose the best option to fit their individual needs. We stand ready to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My family and I were there for Thanksgiving. The hotel was beautiful and very comfortable. The staff was great, especially two people in the restaurant. Olga, she went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we need. Also, Rod Chamberlain, he was great also and made sure we had everything we need. If anyone visit the hotel I hope you have the experience to meet Rod and Olga. The rooms were nice and clean. The whole hotel was very clean. The guy that helped with out luggage I don't remember his name he was great he helped us the day before Thanksgiving. Overall, our entire staff was good! I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortisrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We stand ready to welcome you back! Thank you for complimenting our associates--they truly love what they do an I'm thrilled it shows! I'm happy to know we were able to be a part of your Thanksgiving celebration and that our associates offered such attentive, personalized service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
785 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Property: Westin St. Louis
Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1717
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing