We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
Ranked #20 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We were in St Louis to catch a couple of baseball games at Busch Stadium, so I booked three nights at the Westin because it was near the ballpark. Well, when we arrived, we discovered it is literally a crosswalk away from the third base gate. You can't get any closer to the action. The property is well appointed with modern furnishings . Our room was clean, cool, and very large with high ceilings and blackout draperies to make sleeping in possible. The bathroom is also very large with an oversize shower featuring a rainfall shower head and hand wand, A flatscreen LED TV and a nice desk area with a recliner and ottoman finished off the furnishings . Plenty of outlets and USB charging ports for the electronics. The property was sold out but it was so quiet we felt like nobody else was here. Like most downtown hotels in major cities, this hotel still charges for wireless internet access and parking. The internet fee was waived under my Starwood membership but valet parking was around $30 a day. I guess that comes with the territory. We will stay here again and I can highly recommend this hotel to my fellow travelers.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank DB514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We checked in on July 25th, quick process, then went to our room. The bellman turned on the AC as the room was very warm. After unpacking and resting for a short time we had to leave for dinner with some friends and mentioned at the desk that the room was not cooling down. They sent someone to the room to check it out, but when we returned the room was still not cool enough. Maintenance came to the room again, but he was unable to get the AC fans to function. At that point there was not a room available to move to and he brought us 2 fans to help circulate the AC and gave us 2 breakfast buffet coupons. The next morning we went to the front desk and were told that they would have a room available about noon and asked if we would like buffet coupons! Well, they gave us coupons for every morning of our stay, comped all of our valet parking, gave us free internet for our stay and asked if there was anything else they could do for us! All of this done with a smile and without us asking for anything. Every staff member we met was all smiles and always asking if they could help with anything. Service in the buffet was the same, smiles and good service. As a frequent traveler I was impressed!

The hotel itself is very well maintained, clean and modern inside. It is directly across the street from Busch Stadium and close to the Arch.

By the way, the room they moved us to was a Junior Suite! Can't ask for more! Thank you to Yevette and all of the staff for a great experience!

I reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in the St.Louis area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gramgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Upon arrival, it was somewhat difficult to park. The front desk personnal showed no extra effort to ensure ability to park. Directions were given quickly, with little regard to us not being native to The city.

Nonetheless, the room was very plush, clean, with a contemporary decor. Great recommendations on local eateries (Mike Shannon's Steak and Seafood Resturant was delicious)!

This was a quick anniversary getaway, so upon returning to the hotel, we had booked a massage. We were told that it would be difficult to get an appointment at the spa, but that an in-room massage could be arranged (for anytime of the day or night). I asked if this person specialized in deep tissue. I was told she was very good and could do anything and is often used by some of the professional hockey players who have stayed in the hotel.

She gets to our room, the room's thermostat was set at 70 degrees. Mind you, I was fully unclothed under a thin sheet. She complained about it being extremely too hot, and that she was sweating. She proceeded to turn the thermostat down to what later I found to be on 65 degrees. I was freezing. She absolutely could NOT do deep tissue. It was not a very detailed massage, considering it was a two hour massage. She simply "glossed" over many places. At the end, she tacked on an extra $50.00 due to it being after hours! I felt so taken advantage of, angry, cold, and still had very tight shoulders .....all for a whomping price of $300.00!!! $300.00 dollars worth of NOTTHING!

When I told the front desk about my experience, the woman apologized for my experience-nothing more.

Absolutely do not get an in-room arranged massage, especially from a German woman with a very thick accent! She is soooo not worth the cost!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W, General Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Tonia T,

On behalf of the entire team at the Westin St. Louis, I hope that you will accept my apology for your experience with our Front Desk Services personnel. In addition, your feedback regarding the Massage Services that were arranged for you is quite a concern for me and my team and I promise to look into this issue with her further. I would like to think there will be further communication with the Masseuse after our review of the matter. Your comments have been heard loud and clear and we will use your feedback for further improvement and adjustments in the team’s attitude, which fortunately is typically not an issue at the Westin St. Louis. On a more positive note, I am very glad to read that you found our accommodations to meet your satisfaction.
Tonia, if there is anything I can assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel,314-621-2000.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I came to stay at the Westin St. Louis in the most unplanned, unexpected way. I had come to the city to visit a friend, and when circumstances forced me to leave the place at which I had planned to stay late at night in a big hurry, I used the HotelTonight app to find a place to stay and it pointed me towards the Westin. The app couldn't have directed me to a better place.
Not only is this property comfortable, impeccably designed, and impossibly clean, but the kindness of the staff is completely unmatched in my opinion. The front desk agents Ajla, Sarah, Yvette, Brittany, and Lanette were more than just mildly welcoming. Warm, hospitable, and charming, these women went above and beyond for me at a time when I needed a reliable hotel stay the most; I was alone, confused, and fearful in a new, unfamiliar city far from home.
From the aforementioned women at the front desk to the service staff at the hotel restaurant (really great food), the entire Westin staff single-handedly turned me into a top fan of this hotel franchise and has instilled a new trust in the Starwood brand throughout the course of my 3-night stay. This trust will no doubt make other Westin hotels my go-to places to consider when planning future travel.
You really can't go wrong if you choose to stay at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MMP-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the moment we arrived everything was perfect! Great welcome from reception staff and bell hops. Easy and affordable self park or valet options. Fabulous and modern hotel rooms with rain fall shower head. Luxurious accommodations, amenities, soaps, shampoos and conditioners.

Now, on to the food....incredible buffet breakfast with ample variety of choices ranging from hard boiled eggs, huevos rancheros, sausage, fruits, array of fruit juices, French toast, pancakes, yogurt, etc. simply scrumptious and delectable.

Meeting rooms were quite satisfactory and beautiful in decor.

The fitness club was OUTSTANDING and I used it each morning of my stay. There is an wide variety of exercise machines, elyptical, treadmills, free weights and weight machines. Sauna and spa services are available too. The only thing the hotel doesn't have is a pool however the Westin will provide free passes to another nearby upscale hotel.

Location is unbeatable because we were able to walk to most venues of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for room 318! Generous size, super large bath and phenomenal shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Westin in St. Louis for the Boyd Family reunion. It has a great location. It is within walking distance of many local attractions. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was great. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DSmith1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Was treated like family the moment we stepped in the door. All the staff was courteous and helpful during our stay. It was the perfect compliment to our own family that was there! The rooms were nice along with the workout facilities. Proximity to the Ballpark and Arch was perfect and in short walking distance, not to mention public transportation access right outside the hotel to the Metrolink. We only stay at Starwood Hotels and this by far was one of our best experiences within that family. Hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 124 in Saint Louis
840 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 124 in Saint Louis
1,470 reviews
Downtown
Marriott St. Louis Grand
Marriott St. Louis Grand
#25 of 124 in Saint Louis
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1717
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £93 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing