We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #91 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outdated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

For a Sheraton it's gross! It's very old and outdated when it's got so much potential for a good remodel... Which they haven't done yet obviously.

My husband and I got a suite for the Justin timberlake concert. So a positive is the location. The negative is that the suite looks like a model 6 suite (if they had one) The furniture is ugly, the carpet is gross, the couch was nasty, the beds uncomfortable, the view was of the highway which you could hear all night long.

If we need to go to the scottrade center for something else we will be finding another place until Sheraton updates this place. I was scared to walk around barefoot as I thought I might catch something!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience during your last visit. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered; and want assure you that we take your feedback seriously and have shared your comments with our Leadership Team.

Please rest assured that the satisfaction our guests are our first preoccupation. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    298
    202
    144
    120
See reviews for
315
231
47
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Parking is tight, rooms are very old, lobby is old and worn, restaurant is ok but nothing special.
Staff was very friendly and the location is OK. I would stay elsewhere if I travel to St. Louis again as I prefer more modern places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCityCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear us40,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites; it was a privilege having you as our guests. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to provide feedback on your experience.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience during your last visit. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered; and want to reassure you that your comments have been shared with our Leadership Team. Our Lobby was recently renovated, with brand new carpeting, furniture, paint and artwork, while maintaining the historic charm of the building. It is gratifying to know that you had very friendly encounters with our associates.

Thank you again for the feedback and understanding, and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

If there is anything we can do further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,


Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a huge hotel very close to the Blue's arena. We walked the 1.5 miles to Edward Jones dome and felt safe in the day time. I was OK at night, just stay on the busy streets.
Took the Metrolink light rail train from the airport and it couldn't have been easier. Just get off at Civic Center station and walk 3 minutes to the hotel, the trains run at least every 15 minutes and are about $2.25 each way.
We arrived at 9:00, I am a Starwoods member and was able to check in at 10:00 am that day and the gentleman at the front desk gave us a key to the concierge level for free breakfast while we waited (5 star service). There was some traffic noise (the Cards won the World Series one night).

Room Tip: We were on the forth floor and the highway overpass was close to our room and a bit noisy...try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel for you recent visit to St. Louis, It was a privilege having you as our guests.

As we continue to strive to exceed all guests’ expectations and want every guest to have an exceptional stay; your feedback is imperative for us to better understand the needs and concerns of our guests.
We truly appreciate your patronage and hope that we have earned your loyalty and future business.

Warm regards,


Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I will start with positives...beds comfy and nice size rooms. Room has couch and t.v. However rooms are outdated with older furniture even though hotel is not that old. We had a horrible experience.in lobby bar\restaurant. It took us 50 minutes to get a drink served to us. We were never given silverware or napkins for food. Parking is expensive. BAR\restaurant was over priced too. 17 bucks for one night to park. For the price, I would recommend staying at a different hotel downtown. You can getore for your money at many different hotels downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Tracey C,

Thank you choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites, and for taking the time to share your experience from you last visit.

I sincerely apologize for the lack of attention to detail on the part of the associates you encountered in our Lounge. I want to assure your that this is not typical of our hotel, and that this has been addressed. While our close proximity to the Scottstrade Center blesses us with large volumes of business on event nights, there is no excuse for the less than satisfactory level of service you encountered. I can certainly understand how disturbing it must have been for you.

I very much regret all the inconvenience caused, but truly appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. I want to assure you that all of us here at The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel are dedicated to Total Customer Satisfaction; and hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate this commitment.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were staying at the hotel for the weekend (Sat and Sun). My fiance's daughter was getting married on Sunday. The hotel is nice. The room was spacious. Double sinks for the bathroom. The shower was okay, but it took a long time to get the hot water running. The water pressure was so-so, but usable. The bed (king size) was hard for us and the pillows were a bit squishy. While the hotel does have Wi-Fi, it is free in the lobby, yet you get charged for it ($11 a day) if you are a guest. If you park there you have to pay for that as well. ($17 a day). It is located near Busch Stadium and across the street from Scottrade Center.

Room Tip: We had an inside atrium room, but I think an outside room to see some of the city would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardnut23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Cardnut23,

It was a privilege having you as our guest, thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your departure.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back soon to experience our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed as so many other guests have. Since your visit we have completed the renovation of our Lobby, while maintaining the historic charm of the building.

I want to assure you that all of us here at The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel are dedicated to total customer satisfaction; and hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate this commitment. Thank you again, for the time you too to provide your feedback.

We appreciate your patronage and hope that we have earned your future business.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Should have guessed... The outside has beautiful architectural features painted on it. It's just an old building that looks cool from a distance due to the paint. This negative review is not

If you want a place to party and you party hard I would highly recommend this hotel. The previous guests had already gashed and scratched the furniture. Stained the sofa and the sheets. Busted the springs on the pull out. Not to mention the pot smoke lingering from one of the neighboring rooms. Very disappointed. I moved my family to the Hilton down the street. Rooms were huge. It's a shame as it could be great with an emense indoor courtyard. But the place was becoming a dump. But great for a party weekend or to rest after a Blues game.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a privilege having you as our guests and thank you for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent hotel visit. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to provide feedback on your experience.

I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you encountered, I am truly sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. As I am sure you understand; Guest Satisfaction is our utmost priority. Our Engineering and Housekeeping Team has taken steps to resolve all of the mentioned defects and continue to perform preventative maintenance of our facility. It is feedback from conscientious guest such as yourself, that has prompted us to renovate our Lobby and Fitness Center. Our Lobby renovation is complete with new carpeting, new furniture throughout, fresh paint and new wall paintings. Our Sheraton Fitness Center programmed by Core Performance, has brand new flooring and Life Fitness cardio equipment. While we continue to maintain the historic charm of the building, we have ongoing project to improve the product and services.

Thank you for your patronage and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to total customer satisfaction. If there is anything we can do further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm regards,


Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a business trip. Took the local train from the airport, and 25 minutes later, the hotel was right across the street from one of the stations. Appears to be a renovated old mill building on the edge of downtown. Check-in was fairly quick, given there weren't many people in line at the time. However, disapproved of being asked about additional hotels services once my credit card was swiped. Lobby had an upscale look and feel, with comfortable seating. Contained both a bar and restaurant. Ate at the restaurant; decent food but at above-average prices.

Probably the greatest plus was my room; it was huge! A suite with a living room area (with flatscreen TV and sleeper sofa and work desk), a sizeable bathroom "area", and a large bedroom with flatscreen and sitting area. The bed was comfy. The weather was cool during my visit, so I had to turn up the heat, which worked fine.

Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cov Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Cov Traveler,

I want to extend my sincere gratitude for you taking the time to offer your feedback regarding you last stay at the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel. It was a privilege having you as our guest and hope that when in St. Louis you will come and visit us again. We truly appreciate your business.

Warm regards,


Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#59 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Property: St. Louis City Center Hotel
Address: 400 S 14th St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing