We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn and stained carpets. Broken Lampshade -reported 3 times not fixed, no coffee in room, old furniture.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #92 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Missed opportunity for this hotel. Good location for Scott trade center, but that is only real benefit of this hotel. For the rate paid...much more is expected. Lobby is good, but extras are definitely missing here. If you want a bargain...this isn't it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxydo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is always our intention to have every guest leave our hotel looking forward to their next visit, and I most sincerely apologize there were some areas where we failed to meet this goal in your case.
We take our guests feedback extremely seriously and will be taking action on your observations.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest to demonstrate our commitment to total customer satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for St. Louis City Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

After reading some of the reviews about this property here on TripAdvisor, I was a little worried about staying here. The worries, though, were completely unfounded. Every part of our stay was great...it couldn't have gone any better.

Check-in was painless, and the two workers were both very friendly. When they found out why we were there (daughter's surgery), they even gave us free breakfast buffet coupons.

The room was very large and while it was obvious it wasn't new, it did not seem dirty or worn out...just a little bit dated.

The bathroom was clean, but maybe the ONLY thing I could be disappointed about was the water pressure in the shower wasn't really strong. Not unlike most hotels though.

The indoor pool was huge and offered great views of the city (13th floor).

We did have to pay $17 to park...but we were downtown, so I'm sure that is fairly standard.

All in all, it was a great stay, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent hotel visit. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
It was gratifying to learn that you experienced what we try to instill in our associates, “going above and beyond” and ensuring that our hotel is our guests’ “home away from home”.
We hope all is well and that your daughter has a speedy recovery.
Once again, we thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our stay at this hotel was average, our club suite was a little disappointing, and the club room facilities were too. The room was large, but dated. The staff were friendly and the young lady who served our meal in the restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JPS0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your comments after your departure. Although we continually strive for excellence, there are times when our guests may experience less than satisfactory.
I would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding the friendliness of our staff and also of our server at the restaurant.
We hope that you will give us another chance to have you as our guest.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Heat did not work. They offered to change rooms but this was at 12:20am in the morning. They gave us extra blankets but sleeping with a coat, gloves and hat on was not fun. Plus we had some cute pink mold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnowacki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments, and I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Please rest assured that our maintenance team has corrected the issues in the room. I can assure you that service and attention to detail are our top priority for total customer satisfaction.
We truly value you as our guest, and hope to have another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Upon arrival, I thought this hotel was so much better than it turned out to be. It has a lot of potential: good sized rooms, comfortable bed, nice amenities (e.g., coffee maker, frig, breakfast and free Wi-Fi on club level floors, nice bar area). However, the food was mediocre, and very expensive. The drink menu was disappointing as well. The carpet in the room just looked nasty. It looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. The coffee pot was nasty. I had to clean it really well before using it. The walls were very thin. I could hear the neighbor's private moments as I was standing and looking out my window one morning. The front desk people provide inconsistent information so it's hard to be clear on what they do and don't offer.

The people who work in the restaurant are great. The guy who takes care of the club level breakfast room is very good also. He is very accommodating and helpful.

A lot of the guests that stayed there looked very rough! One large group of women paraded through the hall at night (after midnight) as if it was a daytime party in the hall! They weren't teenagers. They were grown women acting like it was their own private place, shouting and laughing and stomping. There were A LOT of REALLY rough looking people coming in and out off of the street at various times of day. I'm sure they weren't guests. It did not feel safe. Even waiting out front by the bell stand for my taxi, I saw rough looking people driving through and getting in and out of their cars and parking them there. They weren't guests. So not sure why they were parking their nasty looking bomb vehicles there. Basically, a lot of thug looking people wandered in and out from the street...one on the same floor as me...and wasn't sure if he was a guest or just one of the "wanderers".

Saturday night, after returning from my concert, the hotel was flooded with these types who were apparently there for a "party" someone was having in their room or something. The hotel security guy and the manager on staff said there was nothing they could do about it b/c a legitimate guest was coming down to usher them up. I asked if they didn't have any rules or anything about allowing people to just come and party in the rooms of the guests (especially when they looked so ROUGH). They acted like 'duh'... no. There's nothing we can do about it. I started to get on the elevator and just stepped backwards off of it due to the 'characters' on the elevator who looked just too scary for me to feel comfortable. Even on Sunday morning, after mentioning the "wanderers" from the street coming in and out, the front desk clerk said she had been there all morning and hadn't seen any. Right after that, two of them walked in from the street and around the corner to the bathroom on the main floor. She was oblivious.

Anyway - I won't go back there. Plus, the area surrounding the hotel is also scary.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Your comments have been reviewed by our Executive Committee, and steps have been taken to ensure that another guest does not have the same experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Safety and Security of our guests is of the utmost priority during their stay.

Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With our very best regards,


Your Sheraton Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Location gets you across street from bus and metro. Nice big room for mother & daughter trip. Wallpaper peeling. ceiling by vent dirty, needs TLC. But bath and beds so clean! Gracious staff. Alarms went off twice in one hour only complaint

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel, and for giving us the opportunity to demonstrating our commitment to total customer satisfaction. Good or bad, we truly believe that feedback is a gift. It was gratifying to read that you rated your stay as excellent; your comments will be shared with our Team. With feedback from conscientious guests such as you, we can continue to strive to exceed all guests’ expectations.

The safety, security and well-being of our guests and associates are our paramount priority. We are committed to ensuring we provide a safe and comfortable environment during your stay with us. Thank you for your kind understanding.

Warm regards,


Your Sheraton Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We traveled from TN (8 of us adults) and 5 friends from MO met here to attend the Predators/Blues hockey game and hang out. We all arrived at different times, but had coordinated our visit with the staff, who were very accomodating, and put us all on the same floor. We paid for club level and SO glad we did. There is a room on the club level (with tv and computer) where we all met, hung out, drank (we brought our own drinks), while we decided on what to do next. This club room is also where the continental breakfast is served in the morning. The rooms are very spacious, the beds are very comfortable. The toiletries were much more than typical. I didn't really notice anything antiquated as stated in previous reviews. There's a bar/restaurant downstairs - but it's pricey, a grilled cheese is $17. All the staff was user-friendly as previous reviews indicate. My only frustration was that the hotel "held" some type of deposit on our credit cards for two of the rooms - not all rooms just mine and my brother's - for almost a week, and the rest of the billing was confusing because we ended up with several charges on our credit card. However, like they said, the "held" charges were all cleared and we paid only what we should have. I would recommend, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GR82B50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Linda H.,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent visit to St. Louis to attend the Predators/Blues hockey game. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your comments on the TripAdvisor website after your departure.

We are very glad to see that you remark our spacious hotel rooms, the comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds, and that you and your friends enjoyed the perks offered in our club lounge.

And we were also pleased to learn that you experienced what we try to instill in our associates, “going above and beyond” and ensuring that our hotel is our guests’ “home away from home”.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience encountered with the deposits held on your card, we failed to indicate that the hold could take from 1 to 7 business days depending on the card holders bank institution. We would like to give you further details regarding options when using debit or credit cards at your next stay.

Thank you again for your patronage and your kind feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit in St. Louis and hope we can prove our high standard of total customer satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#68 of 121 in Saint Louis
827 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Address: 400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £88 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. The historic flavor of this 1929 landmark building combines with modern comforts to create a unique experience with something for everyone. Spread out and relax in one of our beautifully appointed, oversized guest rooms, offering FREE high speed internet, queen sofa sleepers, wet bars, and refrigerators. Relax on our sun deck next to the indoor heated swimming pool, or experience an innovative meal of American-styled entrees and daily chef specials in the upscale setting of bistro 14. You can also take a well-deserved break in Columns Lounge, conveniently located in the lobby. Our hotel is adjacent to the Metro Link/Light Rail system, so you can easily visit downtown attractions like the Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Riverboat Casinos, and Union Station. We are also directly across from the Scottrade Center Sports Arena—home of the St. Louis Blues—as well as the renowned Peabody Opera House, where performances, concerts, and special events are staged. With 30,000 square feet of meeting room space, all equipped with Internet access, our facilities are a great choice for your next event. Our one-of-a-kind city view ballroom boasts spectacular views of the downtown skyline and is a beautiful setting for weddings, as well as social functions. We look forward to welcoming you to the St. Louis City Center Hotel —now 100% smoke-free. Together we can leave the air the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing