We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms, but old facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #92 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is not nearly as glamorous as pictures might lead you to believe. The rooms were quite spacious, but that's one of the only benefits of this hotel. Upon arrival, not one person offered to help us with luggage or parking. Housekeeping banged loudly on the door early in the morning even though we had the 'do not disturb' sign out. Later that morning, we had the door cracked open (kids were going back and forth between our room and grandparents' room), and housekeeping walked in - completely unannounced!! Beds were comfortable, but there were lots of patchy areas on the walls and in the bathroom. Pool was big, but water was really cold.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 918mommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for St. Louis City Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location for anything in St Louis. Loved the huge enclosed rooftop pool (whirlpool was closed), great outside pavilion right next to it overlooking the stadium, huge open atrium in the center with glass elevators. The parking ($17 a day) was onsite but it's very VERY tight maneuvering if you've got an SUV. Only complaint is that the non-smoking room smelled of smoke. Not enough to drive us out of the room to another one, but it kept it from being a perfect stay for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel staff is extremely friendly I didn't run into one staff person who didn't go out of their way to say "Hello" and offer a friendly smile. I'm not sure of the complaints about the rooms, because mine was fine. The fold out bed is not comfortable, but I'm not sure who expects them to be. The breakfast buffet was good, temperature in room was fine. With the great location, I would recommend it to anyone going to a baseball game.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This facility is quite old. The bed was not up to standard - uneven, not firmly soft like a "seet sleeper" should be. Couch had no cushioning at all. Desk chair was busted. Staff was frequently not helpful. Service in bar was slow. There's really nothing good I can say about the place. Oh, and don't walk outside after dark...... OK, one god thing: Workout room was very well equipped.

I'm lifetime gold status with SPG. This facility is NOT at SPG standards, unless those are slipping.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOpsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Decided to stay an extra day in Saint Louis for vacation and was able to get this hotel at a good price. The location is great, downtown, close to the sports venues, the arch, and all the downtown has to offer. However, the lobby is deceivingly nice. interior of the hotel desperately needs major updating. The air conditioner in room 562 only kept the room tolerable, not cold. The beds were ok, but pillows were extremely flat. The room had some noticeable dust present. The carpet appeared quite old in the room and interior hallways. Curtains are dated, and the furniture has seen better days. Parking in the hotel's garage is also $17 a day. Only worth a stay if the price is more than reasonable and if its close to planned activities.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer nicer views of the city.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DM_1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear DM_1278,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. Our building was a Brown’s Shoe and then a JC Penny warehouse in the early 1900’s. Approximately 12 years ago the building was converted to our hotel offering the most spacious guestrooms in the city while maintaining its’ historical charms. Our goal is to have our entire hotel be as warm and welcoming as our recently renovated Lobby, Fitness Center and Sundeck. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I attended a concert at the Scottrade Center and decided to try the Sheraton for a change. In the past we've always stayed at Union Station but not always happy there. The Sheraton is actually closer to the concert venue and it is clean and the staff are great. We got to town a couple hours early and they gladly gave us an early check in. We had a couple of drinks in the bar before the concert and the bartender (Scott) was a lot of fun yet professional. This will be our new place to stay for these concerts.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Dani E,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,


Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location is close to the Scott Trade Center and Busch Stadium. We got upgraded to a club floor which was nice. Our room was clean when we checked in, check in process was fine. But we slept in the first morning and housekeeping missed us. We left the hotel and popped back in early afternoon, and notified the front desk our room had not been serviced, and asked if it could be addressed while we were at the baseball game. Came home after the game, room had not been cleaned. Called the front desk, nobody available to make up our room. An attendant brought up towels for us (after a lengthy wait). Club lounge: the woman attendant was good, area was clean and well stocked. The gentleman on the other hand was on his cell phone on a personal call the whole time we were there, and the area was trashed, the water wasn't restocked, he was not helpful. Back to housekeeping....somehow again we got missed, so I wrote a note and put it on the housekeepers cart to please service our room when we were out, which did happen. But then we were only left with one bath towel (??), annoying. There are some rooms that face an interior courtyard, we had one of those, so there was no city view. I would ask for an outward facing room. We didn't spend any time in the common areas. Air conditioning worked great and was not loud, that was a plus in hot humid weather. Would not return if visiting St. Louis again.

Room Tip: ask for an outward facing room if you want natural light
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giftgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Giftgrrl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites. I want to sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you encountered.

Please be assured that we fully appreciate the points you have raised and would, once again, like to offer our sincere apologies for the shortfalls you have expressed. In view of the inconvenience you have experienced, we hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service in the future and gain your confidence back in our hotel.

Regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#68 of 121 in Saint Louis
827 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Address: 400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £88 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. The historic flavor of this 1929 landmark building combines with modern comforts to create a unique experience with something for everyone. Spread out and relax in one of our beautifully appointed, oversized guest rooms, offering FREE high speed internet, queen sofa sleepers, wet bars, and refrigerators. Relax on our sun deck next to the indoor heated swimming pool, or experience an innovative meal of American-styled entrees and daily chef specials in the upscale setting of bistro 14. You can also take a well-deserved break in Columns Lounge, conveniently located in the lobby. Our hotel is adjacent to the Metro Link/Light Rail system, so you can easily visit downtown attractions like the Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Riverboat Casinos, and Union Station. We are also directly across from the Scottrade Center Sports Arena—home of the St. Louis Blues—as well as the renowned Peabody Opera House, where performances, concerts, and special events are staged. With 30,000 square feet of meeting room space, all equipped with Internet access, our facilities are a great choice for your next event. Our one-of-a-kind city view ballroom boasts spectacular views of the downtown skyline and is a beautiful setting for weddings, as well as social functions. We look forward to welcoming you to the St. Louis City Center Hotel —now 100% smoke-free. Together we can leave the air the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing