We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Scottrade Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #90 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Close to Scottrade Center”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We spent 2 nights here to attend a concert at the Scottrade Center. It is just about 1 block away, so the location was handy for that purpose. When we arrived we missed the entrance the first time, it was not signed very well. After we went around a few blocks we drove right in and were faced with self parking for 17 bucks per night or 23 for valet. Valet was easiest at the time, so we splurged.

At check in, they did not have a king bed room available at 5pm. We were "upgraded" to a suite. Basically a room with a partial wall dividing the bedroom from the sofa and chair sitting area. There was a large wall of windows behind the sofa, but the curtains did a great job of blocking the light. Overall the room seemed tired and ready for a redo, but given the rate we paid, ($100, booked on Starwood) can't really complain. There were 2 "old" tvs and a mini-fridge which came in handy. A decent sized closet but a light inside the closet would have been nice. In general the room was dark, one bedside lamp did not work and the vanity light was not very bright.

The king bed and pillows were very comfortable and the bedding was nice and appeared clean. Minimal, but nice toiletries. There was a card on the bed for a "green" option. If you hung it on the door before 2am they would skip cleaning your room for 1 day and you would get a $5 card to use in the hotel. We hung the card and it was never taken, no $5 card was ever offered and I don't believe that housekeeping came anywhere near our room. By doing this we ran out of in room coffee. At checkout however, we did receive 500 points on our Starwood account.

The only outlet we used was the bar for a quick drink after the concert. We were happy they were open so late on a Sunday night. They got busy in a hurry but service was fast and friendly and not overly priced for a downtown hotel.

On check out we called for the car. When we got to the drive a valet came up to us and said they did not have a valet on duty that day that could drive a standard transmission car. So I stayed with the luggage and my husband went with the valet to retrieve our car. They were obviously embarrassed by this, and they should be.

They did not seem to have a concierge available which wasn't too big a deal as we are familiar with the city some. Had a great dinner one night at LoRusso's on the hill. Always go there and always enjoy it. They are well reviewed here on Tripadvisor.

If we were to return to St Louis for another concert at the Scottrade Center I would certainly consider staying here if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clkc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkravitzgm, general manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
I appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you found value in booking on line as you did. I am disappointed that some of your experience was not up to standard. Please understand that these items such as housekeeping and valet have been addressed. We hope that you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    306
    209
    151
    130
See reviews for
325
240
51
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We stayed for 4 nights & got a great rate through hotwire.com for $79pn, otherwise I think the standard price would be overpriced for the area & lack of restaurant choices & the location wasn't that close to downtown.
The room was very nice, spacious with a king size bed, with a couch & chair plus a small refigerator.
The hotel is right next to the Metrolink, Bus terminal, Amtrak & Greyhound bus center. In the Amtrak terminal there is also a small KFC & Pizza Hut Express & small cafe opened from 7am - 8pm when we were there in Sept. Excellent if you want a quick bite & don't want to walk too far. If you're catching a ball game it's a great location and a short walk, plus it's across the street from Scottrade Center.The internet was not free. We also noticed, the room service trays sat in the halls for nearly all day/night. We found 2 GREAT places downtown- BREAKFAST- Chili Mac's
LUNCH/DINNER - Caleco's Italian bar & Grill (101N Bradway) EXCELLENT we ate there twice! We also went on the Dinner Cruise down near the Arch, expensive & you need to book, but great size meals & the night was perfect for Sept.
If you want to be close to Busch Stadium, its great, but if you want to be closer to downtown, maybe this hotel is not for you. Can get abit noisy if there's a game on, but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussiesfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkravitzgm, general manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2009
I am glad that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. We look forward to having you back when you are downtown for a Cardinal game.

St.louis@sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. This time around carpets were stained, dirty bed comforter, very dated TV's, no hot water one morning, meager club room selections.
Great location ...but they could do a lot better

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Louis hotels

Maple Grove MN
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The room was very nice, spacious really. There was a couch and chair, two tvs, ironing board, plenty of room for clothes, etc. Two queen size beds, wonderfully comfortable mattresses, pillows and down like comforters.
The vanity is outside of the toilet area which is also seperate from the whirlpool tub and shower. The room has a small refigerator. The in room coffe was also really good coffee, with liquid creamers.
The hotel is right next to the Metrolink which takes you around town and to the airport.
The hotel food was good, but pretty expensive. Brunch as 15.95 and "just ok" in my opinion.
Hotel staff were helpful too! They told us what was close for entertainment and dining.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Great woman valet, very helpful front desk, good resturant with a very friendly staff and THE BEST MATTRESS AND PILLOWS I have ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I chose to stay in this hotel one weekend due to how close it was to the Cardinals Stadium. I parked in valet parking and handed over my keys. The next morning I went to pickup my vehicle only to discover that the valet had handed over my car keys to a thief that had walked up and claimed to have my car. They did not verify he had a room or was the owner of the car. I then had to ask for a rental car to get home only to discover it had not been paid for as promised and I had to pay out of pocket. I am now out my time, money and belongings dealing with their negligence. I was told by my insurance company that they have had cars stolen from the Sheraton before.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomington, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2009

My wife and i took a relaxing "get out of town for the long weekend"trip. The Sheraton is a nice little spot away away from a lot of hustle and bustle, even though a bus hub is across the street. The rooms are a good size, but many of the regular rooms face to an atrium, not the outside, so at times that can be bothersome, but nothing that cant be overlooked. The water pressure in the shower was something out of a driving rain storm and was refreshing, although i am sure some would have a problem with it. The staff was friendly and answered many of the questions with courtesy.
The restaurant was very limited in the choice for breakfast and dinner. We ate there as we had certificates that we purchased online. If not for those we would not have eaten at the restaurant, as it was very expensive for the selection that is offered.
One of the best parts is the 13th floor where the pool/weight room is located. The views are amazing and the pool is very good sized. They also have a open air balcony where you can sit and relax. My wife and I used that area to drink some cofee and read the morning paper, that was very nice to do.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbirds45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkravitzgm, General Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding The Sheraton St Louis. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please keep in mind for your future visits that your breakfast options are not limited to The Bistro 14. We also have our Starbucks/giftshop with grab and go items.
I will share your kind words with all of my assocaites.
RKravitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#65 of 120 in Saint Louis
803 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Property: St. Louis City Center Hotel
Address: 400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. The historic flavor of this 1929 landmark building combines with modern comforts to create a unique experience with something for everyone. Spread out and relax in one of our beautifully appointed, oversized guest rooms, offering FREE high speed internet, queen sofa sleepers, wet bars, and refrigerators. Relax on our sun deck next to the indoor heated swimming pool, or experience an innovative meal of American-styled entrees and daily chef specials in the upscale setting of bistro 14. You can also take a well-deserved break in Columns Lounge, conveniently located in the lobby. Our hotel is adjacent to the Metro Link/Light Rail system, so you can easily visit downtown attractions like the Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Riverboat Casinos, and Union Station. We are also directly across from the Scottrade Center Sports Arena—home of the St. Louis Blues—as well as the renowned Peabody Opera House, where performances, concerts, and special events are staged. With 30,000 square feet of meeting room space, all equipped with Internet access, our facilities are a great choice for your next event. Our one-of-a-kind city view ballroom boasts spectacular views of the downtown skyline and is a beautiful setting for weddings, as well as social functions. We look forward to welcoming you to the St. Louis City Center Hotel —now 100% smoke-free. Together we can leave the air the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing