We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Ranked #74 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Brumley,Mo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pretty nice place”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a trip to University Hospital for treatment. Clean and quite and the staff was great ! Only con Is I wish these places would put recliners in these rooms the chairs were very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms have been remodeled
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamers2Trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Dreamers2Trucking,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    80
    63
    40
    38
See reviews for
90
79
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four days while looking for student housing at Washington University. Despite the low price, the accommodations were excellent. The rooms were very clean and had been recently renovated. The front desk clerk Jessica was one of the nicest representatives of a hotel chain I have encountered. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Lilly C,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night so we would be close for an early morning hospital appointment. Location was a short easy drive to hospital. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and price was good. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was very small but not a problem for one night. No breakfast, but coffee and tea available in the room and lobby.
The flooring in the room was some type of laminate flooring rather than all carpet. Since this type of floor can be cleaned better than carpeting I liked it, but I did notice the floor was very slick when wet.
I was afraid that the location would be noisy but it was very quiet. Once settled in our room we didn't hear any outside notice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Jfersmom,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great employees, beautiful renovated rooms, but unsafe-feeling location and poor maintenance. Outside corridors for entry to room. In this area, it would be better to stay at a hotel with inside corridors. No breakfast. Ice was available in the lobby. Very close to Forest Park and not far from downtown.

Room Tip: third floor might be safest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippin392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Roadtrippin392,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Pros: great customer service, newly renovated, free parking, decent location
Cons: dirty rooms, maintenance issues, bugs, didn't feel all that safe

We were passing through St Louis and this was the only hotel in a semi-safe area that wasn't outrageously overpriced because of a Cardinals game and a big conference in town, so we booked it. It was pretty ridiculously priced for a Red Roof at $135 for two full beds, but we didn't have much of a choice.

Both the clerks I spoke with were very nice, and the evening clerk was even conversational, making me feel much more at ease with our choice. She gave us the choice of 2nd or 3rd floor, so we took 3rd so no one would be above us. I did like that it had outside entries and we could park our car directly below our room. We chose to use the stairs, but there was an elevator in the center of the building.

The room was not good. The bed was okay, but the bathroom was awful. At one point, I smashed a tick with a shampoo bottle. We also had a bunch of ants under the desk in the room. The toilet had a brown smear down one side and there was another brown smear in the bottom of the shower (there were not permanent). It was really gross.

The next morning I complained to the clerk at check-out and showed her photos of the room and brought her the smashed tick-bug. She offered to take 1/2 off the cost of the room, which was very nice, but still made it an expensive Red Roof Inn.

The service was nice, and the hotel has potential, but it is definitely not there yet.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet. If you find cleanliness issues, bring it up immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDevColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear MissDevColo,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Louis hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My fiance and i took a two week trip throughout the midwest to visit friends and family. We stayed at many hotels along the way and were very impressed with our experience at Red Roof Inn. We had read other reviews and most were not favorable so we were hesitant to book a room at this hotel. However, we arrived a couple hours before check in time and they had a room available and let us check in anyway. Barb and Chevon were very friendly. They recommended a fabulous Italian restaurant named Zia's that was close by...I would recommend having a meal there if you are in the area...it is very reasonably priced, large portions, and delicious. Our room was spacious with a king bed, desk, micro/fridge, and clean bathroom area. It was a convenient location off the freeway as well. We felt safe in the well lit parking lot. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. It seems that the hotel has done some updating and made major improvements since most of these reviews were written. Give them a chance!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Kim R,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was booked on our behalf as part of a Road Trip, quite close to the main highway and relatively easy to find. Its just a motel so don't expect any frills, we were allocated a twin room which was spacious and clean but the bathroom is tiny, there is no way two people could ever fit in there if they wanted to.

There isn't much on the doorstep other than fast food restaurants but a walk of about a mile will take you to 'The Hill' which is packed with Italian restaurants, its a nice safe area and was recommended highly by a member of reception staff.

Coffee and hot drinks available in reception which is a nice touch, had no problems with the WiFi which is free and pretty quick.

Room had a safe which is a good option for travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgt180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Cgt180,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
#77 of 121 in Saint Louis
204 reviews
Lafayette Square
Hotel Avyan
Hotel Avyan
#92 of 121 in Saint Louis
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue

Property: Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Address: 5823 Wilson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-2709
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > The Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue Hotel Saint Louis
Red Roof Inn Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing