We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hole in the wall a diamond to be found!”

Bogart's Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 2,908 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Soulard
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Little hole in the wall a diamond to be found!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great ribs and other assorted fixins litter the menu in this tiny little gem just outside of downtown. Hours/seats are "flexible" pending what they have left so don't mess around an get there asap to enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachK2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    220
    43
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great BBQ without Pretense”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As other reviewers have recommended, you should plan to arrive early or they may run out of your choice. It is a no frills restaurant with fantastic food. Some people in our group ordered the pulled pork, which was moist and tender with the right amount of smoky flavor. I ordered the burnt ends, which are rare and they were better than the ones I have had in Kansas City. Like the pulled pork, they were also tender and moist. The baked beans are awesome, a little sweet, just the way I like them and most baked beans I have had at restaurants have been mediocre. The deviled egg potato salad is way above the average potato salad found at other BBQ restaurants. There are 4 BBQ sauces available and they're all delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRSRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good barbecue”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent barbecue. There's inside and outside seating, but it gets very busy around lunchtime, so you may want to opt for an early or late lunch. We got lucky and had a warm day in December and were able to eat outside. The smoked pastrami was an interesting taste-very good. One of the best places in St. Louis for barbecue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We made a special trip here because of the trip advisor reviews. It was not very good at all. We love BBQ and I would never go back here. It was overpriced as well for the quality of the food. We went to Roadhouse as well and I would most definitely pick that over Bogarts!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jess j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, but get here early!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We should have gotten here a little earlier in the day, because they were out of ribs and burnt ends. We got the pulled pork and the sirloin tips, and both were excellent. The sauce was great as well. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bogart's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Bogart's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing