We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Not Ready”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Check-in time is supposed to be 3p.m., however, my room was not even ready at 5p.m. when I went to check in. Upon arrival to the room, the housecleaning ladies were still in the room cleaning, where I waited until they were done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you want to stay downtown with your family this is a great option. Love that Embassy Suites have the separate sleeping room - makes it a good option for families with kids. Located near lots of restaurants, movie theater, convention center - and easy walking distance to Busch Stadium. City Garden and City Museum also nearby. Only complaint is that the complimentary happy hour was very crowded - and the lines weren't served quickly. They ran out of glasses and seats (which was particularly problematic since they had seating sections closed off). Other than that, no complaints. I would recommend this hotel to those staying in St. Louis. (Really neat if you research that the building was an old department store.)

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which is convenient to the happy hour and breakfast (also on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmilyinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Embassy Suites is in the heart of St. Louis. Walking distance to Edward Jones Dome, Home of the St. Louis Rams and Blues, Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium, Home of the Cardinals and the conventions center. The services is fabulous and the rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've been here many time before and have written about this hotel before on tripadvisor all good. We have not been back in over a year and stopped in for a several night stay, It's still wonderful. The staff from Valet, to bell persons to the front desk remembered us and welcomed us back. It was honestly like coming home and you don't find that kind of friendly service at many hotels now days. What I really like is this hotel must be well managed to keep so much of the staff this long. Most of the staff has been here a long time, Helen who cooks your eggs or omelet, to perfection, has been with the company over 30 years and still smiles and makes you feel good each day. The front desk staff is very good, Nick, Christina and all of them make you feel welcome.
Yes parking and unloading is a little difficult on the street but the guys out there make it happen and work hard to get you out of the car and in the hotel. Yes you must valet but it's a downtown hotel and parking is hard. I'm just glad they take care of me.
The food here is very good and if you don't wait to get out you won't be disappointed. But there are some GREAT places to eat all around you just ask the staff and they will help you find what ever you are looking for. The managers reception is always fun at most Embassy Suites but this one is the best because of Robert the bartender. He is the best, never misses a step, no matter how long the line he is smiling and talking to everyone. Never gets upset even when people get mad over the only one drink per person rule. Just one of those people who make you happy to be around and makes the evening fun. Oh yes and after a year still remembered what we drank.
Only negative is housekeeper could use a little boost. Our room cleaning each day was not good, didn't even empty our trash or take out empty water bottles or food stuff. Plus the common areas could have used a little dusting. I'm betting this will get better fast with this management team. Over all Great hotel and a must stay when in downtown St Louis.

Room Tip: For a real treat book a corner room WOW huge and beautiful, with high ceilings and floor to ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed with my husband and four children. We had a fantastic stay. Things we loved:

Spacious rooms, within walking distance to The City Museum, great hot breakfast and "happy hour", fun pool for the kids.

Would definitely recommend.

We actually left my sons special "lovie/blanket" in the room, called 48 hours later and housekeeping had it and put it aside for us to pick up a week later. Great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had stayed here before right after it opened and the hotel had a hipster vibe, this time it was full of families. No problem, was traveling with family myself. First impression was bad, asked doorman/valet where I could self park and was answered with a thumb pointing down the street "There" was all he said.
Check in was fine but noticed dirt and dust in common areas, OK breakfast and night reception although I had to have my wife come to the bar and get her glass of wine because "embassy limits us to 1 drink per person at a time".
Next day after arriving back at hotel at 5:30 room was not made up, I called front desk and asked it to be made up and we went out for supper. Arriving back at 10:00 it was still unmade, by this time I was disgusted and called front desk again just to get towels, finally housekeeping provided them.
Not what I expected for the price, as a honors gold/diamond member for the last 10 years I will avoid this place in the future. Shame that a few bad apples spoiled it for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jlabsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear jlabsher,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We want to thank you for returning to our hotel but apologize that your second visit did not meet the standards you have come to expect from our hotel.

Our goal is for our guests to be completely satisfied and apologize that we were not able to do this for you. We strive for ways to improve the experience for our guests and your input will assist us in doing so. We have shared your comments with our team in an effort to make sure our future guests do not experience similar situations.

We sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to provide you with truly great service on your next visit to St. Louis.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Wade Thompson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Phone: 314-678-2903
Email: wade.thompson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My time spent at the Embassy Suites was excellent: clean rooms, great breakfast, good restaurant with attentive service, and very clean in all aspects. The water wall was memorizing as you sit in the lobby relaxing. I was here to celebrate a wedding and it made the experience outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 309josephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown

Address: 610 N 7th St, Saint Louis, MO 63101-1209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: £124 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing