We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location near arch and Stadiums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #103 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
332 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great Location near arch and Stadiums”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here 4 nights for FIRST Robotics Event at the Edward Jones Dome. This hotel is very conveniently located next to the Arch and about 5 blocks away from the dome. So we walked to the venue every day. We stopped in at Starbucks or St. Louis bread co for breakfast on on way. We also strolled down to the Arch the first night. The rooms are quite big and if you get a balcony room on the Arch side you get a great view of the arch. The staff was pleasant. The Hotel itself is a little worn and does need some updating. They really did not have any breakfast service but i think for the large FIRST members they offered some grab and go items. Would have been nice to have breakfast service. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red-Barchetta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your recent experiences at our property. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, our team and the tournament.
We look forward to seeing you next year.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    344
    323
    286
    337
See reviews for
409
368
61
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just finished a 4 night stay here last week during the FIRST Robotics World Championship and enjoyed every day of my stay. I couldn't have asked for a better hotel that was centrally located in a great city. Yes it's an older property but the upkeep is well done. The front desk staff was pleasant, courteous, professional and friendly upon checking in and checking out. My room on the 21st floor was big and comfortable. It was clean, smelling fresh and equipped with just a fridge no micro. The bedding was comfortable which enabled me to sleep peacefully each night. I had a clear view of the Arch from my room which was spectacular!
I did use their business centre but not the fitness room or the pool. There is a restaurant located in the hotel, breakfast was not included with my room rate, but a short 3 minute walk up Pine St is a St Louis Bread (Panera). I did however eat in the restaurant for dinner and found it to be a little on the pricey side. I guess one would expect that when staying at a hotel located in the heart of a major urban downtown.
The Arch is just behind the hotel and I highly recommend that you go up into the Arch to get great views of St Louis and to the east views of the great Mississippi River. Bush stadium is just a hop, skip and a jump away as well as the Edward Jones Dome and the Convention Centre. There was plenty to see and do within walking distance from the hotel and plenty of resturants also.
All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlessedAmI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team. We were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you next year.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was worn down. Ceiling needed painted, carpets dingy, rooms dusty, and no in-room temperature controls. The hotel had a great view of the arch and was in walking distance to Busch stadium. For the price it was ok, but I will look for other alternatives for the next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KStaterinMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences at our property. We are glad you enjoyed our location and it's proximity to the area attractions. We certainly hope you consider staying with us in the future.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for on night in March on a road trip. Location is perfect, right next to the Gateway Arch. We were upgraded to a nice room on one of the top floors. The room was huge but has seen better times. Beds were nice and comfortable and we had a good stay there.
With the upgraded room came access to the lounge where we had a nice breakfast with a spectacular view at the arch. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at our property. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and had a good night's sleep.
We look forward to seeing you on your return trip.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Central Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was my first time to stay downtown in St. Louis. The hotel was wonderful, and only was about a long city block away from the Gateway Arch. I like to try to see some of the sites when I am in a city, so this was a very welcome bonus. The hotel is a large, but compact hotel. The lobby was nice and the hotel bar was very inviting. I found the staff to be very helpful and they took care of all things very quickly. The hotel was busy, but I think it does serve as a hub for the many groups that come to St. Louis for conventions. It was very family friendly.

My room was great. I stayed in a corner room, so it was very spacious and clean. Imagine my surprise when I walked out on to the balcony, and there right in front of me was the Gateway Arch! I had a perfect view, and would recommend this room location to anyone staying in the hotel. I was up high and on the corner. It was a great night and day shot with my camera. During the day I was able to walk to the Arch, and had a nice time with the short walk and the view. You are also very close to the state capitol building.

The hotel breakfast was also very good. I ordered off the menu, but they had a buffet as well. Food was reasonable.

I would stay in this location again. The staff went out of their way to make things great. The valet was very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room high up on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our team and the service they provided you with during your recent stay. We were all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to take in some of the St Louis attractions during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. I was there from April 9-13, 2014 and had to change rooms within 5 mins of checking in. Unfortunately the 2nd room was even worse. No air conditioning and it was in the 70's all week. I was told by the front desk that they don't have the air turned on. LIES. The air was on in the lobby and in the elevator hallways, but not in the rooms. Granted the a/c units in the room are VERY OLD, but even on high, no air came out. I was told by housekeeping that they don't work. No kidding! It was unbearable. One night I tried opening the window, only to have the window come off in my hands, and no screens whatsoever. I had to put the window back in. Hallways are dirty, old, and dark. Carpeting in the room was badly stained. Fridge didn't work either. Water that I put in the fridge in the morning, was just as warm at night when I came back. The man at check-in was unfriendly and could care less about customer service. When I came back down to tell them I could not stay in that first room, he told me it was too late since I had already checked in. What? How do you know a room is unsatisfactory BEFORE you get to it? He was useless. The young lady on duty with him, Sondra, did try to help me, but he kept coming over telling her she couldn't do anything for me. Unbelievable. A line started to form behind me while she was trying to help me. I turned and told all the people behind me about the extremely hot room and there was no A/C in the rooms. Funny how then someone was able to help me. Unfortunately the second room was horrible too. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. It is so old, out-dated, and not clean. The bathroom amenities were less than half full, meaning the guest before me used the shampoo, lotion, etc and they never replaced it for a new arriving guest. A disgusting place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Kay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the concerns you experienced during your recent stay.
I have shared your comments with the entire team so that each area of the hotel can address those concerns in which their departments were involved.
I am so sorry that we failed to provide you with a comfortable, friendly stay. I do hope you consider giving us a second chance as I know our team is capable of providing you with a great stay.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown for 2 nights earlier this week. I have visited the property several times over the last 10 years when in St. Louis, and unfortunately it seems to have declined over the years. It was disappointing because the property feels as though it has not really been touched since I first stayed there and it really takes away from the experience. I remember my first stay and how nice the Crowne Plaza was then. However today, compared to other properties in the IHG family, it just feels run down and somewhat dirty. Renovations and flashy decorations aren't the only things that make a good hotel, but something needs to be done to bring this property in line with other IHG properties and the competing hotels nearby, if it is to live up to it's luxury name.

Outside of the appearance, there are good things to say about the property. The staff was very friendly and professional (especially the young woman who ran the Concierge Lounge on the 29th floor), the location is great, and the on-site parking garage is convenient. If you are traveling to St. Louis to see the Arch and sight-see, or go to a Cardinals, Rams, or Blues game, the Crowne Plaza is a great home-base that is easy to get into and out of by car or on foot, and close to both the bus and Metro system. If you need a place to stay and value these aspects, the Crowne Plaza will work for you, but you may not feel as though you're getting a higher-quality experience for the price you'll pay per night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyTravelMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team.
The team was thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service they provided you with during your stay.
We do hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Samantha VanDemark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#91 of 120 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Property: City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing