We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Place - Downtown St. Louis
Ranked #108 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed for a week in May of this year for a conference held on location. I travel 25-30% of the year for my job and have stayed in many hotels throughout the nation. I had the cleaning staff steal new clothing and personal effects from my room. This was reported to security and management and they were not concerned at all. I asked for progress the following day from the management team and they knew nothing of it. My issues were insignificant enough that they were not even communicated. I had to ask that the cleaning staff not enter my room until I left. I expected more from the Crowne Plaza than the ghetto thievery that took place and the complacency that followed. I have stayed in motels with a more honest staff. This was the first time in a decade of professional and personal travel that this has happened. Beware. The rooms were dated as well.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, your belongings are not safe with these bottom feeders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am truly sorry to hear of the concerns you had during your recent stay. If this has not been resolved, please contact me directly at 314-436-8055.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is average. Not like some of the Crown Plaza hotels I've been at. If you can get the room rate at a decent price it is O.K. The best thing about it is its within walking distance of most of the downtown activities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our property. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were very surprised by how run down the parking garage was. Didn't seem like a safe place to keep the car overnight. We purchased our stay through Groupon and I explained that when we went to check-in. The man at the front desk simply said " We don't take Groupons. My manager came and told me today that we don't accept them". It took a lot of probing on my part to have him confirm that the room was already paid for. He seemed annoyed. I guess it was a purchase through the Groupon website but was not actually a Groupon. Still, his attitude was unprofessional. The room was fine. The bed was comfortable and our view was great. The bathroom was a little outdated but was it was fine. Overall it was an alright place to stay for one night. You can't beat the location! Walking distace from lots of downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting the city of St Louis. I am sorry for the confusion with the payment on your reservation at check in and for the way our team responded to your issue.
I do hope you consider staying with us again.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was old, and definitely needs to be remodeled. The elevator doors get stuck, and a co-passenger had to manually push the door to shut. The air conditioner in my room was very old, and didn't cool. This hotel is a good location if walking to Cardinal's games, or Ram's games. I think this hotel has great possibilities if it was updated. I didn't see a complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms facing the Arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our property. Our guest's safety is our priority for our entire team. Thank you for letting us know of the issues you experienced with our elevator system so that we can have them addresses immediately.
I am glad you found our location to be convenient to St Louis sporting events and hope you consider staying with us again.
Samantha VanDeMark -Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good location. Rooms needed updated. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The location is very convenient. Close to stadium and Arch. The AC didn't cool the room as well as we would have liked it to. Mattress on sofa bed needs replaced.

Room Tip: AC didn't work very good and the fold out sofa bed was very uncomfortable. It needed a new mattr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your detailed comments regarding your guestroom at our hotel. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to correct our deficiencies.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your interactions with our team and look forward to your next stay.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We visited on Father's Day, arriving to a full lobby. We parked across the street at another parking garage (City Park) for higher required clearance (7' here), so I can't comment on the parking situation that others have complained about. Check in was quick, but when we got to our room the keys didn't work. It took two trips to the desk and eventually maintenance and security had to come to the room to fix the lock. The room was clean and comfortable. I was on alert for anything less than clean from some of the previous reviews, but wasn't able to find anything that bothered me on the cleanliness. There was a place on the bathroom door from where someone had busted it and a leg of the desk was weak, but we brought that to security's attention while they were fixing the lock.

As other reviewers have noted, the bathrooms are small. I found it to be clean, though, if not large enough to change your mind in. Standard tub/shower combination with a nice shower head and the curved rod. This is an older building, but they've done well at making use of the space, which I appreciate. There were only two bath towels in the bathroom, but as soon as we called for additional towels, they responded to our room within 10 minutes.

The sofa bed needed linens, but they were brought with the towels. I expect that they reduce the laundry loads and ensure fresh linens on the sofa bed by only providing them when needed. Not a problem since they responded so quickly.

Latonya at the front desk was exceptional, learning my name after the second trip down. The following morning I realized that I had goofed on our reservation. Despite having only five rooms left in the hotel, she managed to find a room to accommodate our family of 6 into another room. The new room required a rollaway bed be delivered and it was there within minutes of the new room being assigned.

The second room was an ADA room that had just had the bathroom converted. The bathroom was huge.

The rooftop pool was nice and was consistent with other hotel pools - no diving boards, etc. There was an observation deck as well that was nice, but the area around that could have been cleaned up a bit on the roof.

As I stated earlier, this is an older building so don't expect brand new and shiny. We stayed here when this was a Radisson about 10 years ago and it was shabby and dirty. It's clean now and looked great to us. We would certainly stay here again if in downtown St. Louis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of the hotel if you want to see the arch and Busch Stadium. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampinFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate you kind words about our team and are glad you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable.
We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to St Louis.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

i guess people had different experience with the customer service, but my experience was great especially with the manager Sam. He was extremely understanding and time-concious as well. I didn't get a chance to eat here but the bartenders were nice too. I was here on the day of the game so i guess the hotel was full but for some reason i didn't feel it too much.

Room Tip: high floor corner king room with a view has an excellent view of the arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our team. I am sure they enjoyed your company as well.
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Samantha VanDeMark - Hotel Manager
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#77 of 123 in Saint Louis
844 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place - Downtown St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place - Downtown St. Louis

Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place - Downtown St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above the Mississippi River, the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis, a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the country's largest, private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city, the City Place® St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer! Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us "The Place to Meet" in St. Louis, MO. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event, from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Perks like a 2-hour RFP Response Guarantee, Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debriefs set us apart. Additionally, we're minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch, ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch, our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Place - Downtown St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing