We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #105 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
“Honest Review”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown St Louis for 3 nights. I was worried after reading reviews I would be disapointed, however it was not as bad as expected. The hotel is on heat and air is not regulated by room. It's on a main system controlled by the hotel. We were lucky and it was not that hot for the end of August. I brought a fan in case. The room was not spacious, but nicely arranged. There are only 2 bath towels, but they tell you if you need more to just ask. I left my room service order out for the next morning and it was never fullfilled. I ended up just checking out and eating elsewhere. The bar and bartender Celester were our favorite part of the trip. The entire staff was friendly and accomidating. It was not as clean as other Crowne Plazas, but for an older hotel it was not bad. The parking garage is crazy, but it's downtown parking. Anyone who has ever travelled to a large city understands more than someone who hasn't. Overall it was just ok. I would choose to stay somewhere else, but for enjoying a game and being walking distance to everything downtown it's a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear stephanie w,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    355
    331
    306
    401
See reviews for
455
389
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We traveled to Saint Louis for a weekend getaway. We arrived Sat. evening during a cardinal game, so the hotel most completely sold out that day. When we booked the hotel we requested a room with a view of the arch. After check in we found that the hotel room was overlooking the city and not the arch, and it had a queen sized bed and hot a king. We requested a room change for the second night, and were upgraded to a king suite. Turns out that rooms with king sized beds mostly face the city view, not the arch.

During check in we were greeted and taken care of relatively quickly. The room itself was fairly clean, but showed signs of aging. The wall paper in the bathroom was coming off the wall in a few places. The A/C system was centrally managed for the building and there was no way to turn it off or change the temperature. We only had one set of towels in our room until we called to get more.

The staff was helpful and did a good job taking care of our requests. Overall the hotel was average, not what I expected from a Crowne Plaza, but suitable for a few nights.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms with king beds face the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpaylian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Roman P,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is an excellent location. Close to everything and the arch in its backyard. However, this hotel needs major remodeling. The halls are dark and gloomy, the room carpet looks old and because it's dark in color, it gives the impression of an old dirty motel room.
Vernon at the front desk was kind and professional. He was so nice and really cares for his customers.
Hotel really needs to be upgraded. Oh and parking sucks

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpectingtheBest77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear ExpectingtheBest77,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of our property and the challenges you had in our parking lot. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel with Priceline. We got good room where an up date can make it a great room. But the big problem is outside the room. Every public space in this hotel is old and didn't feel clean. As a result we didn't use any amenities at this location- we had drink at the Hilton, coffee at the next door hotel and didn't use the roof top pool. The location was very good. We walked to see the arch, baseball games, dinners and music. The view from our room was the best thing about our stay- the arch and river.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lali102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear lali102,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is lovely to hear you liked our location. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our product and service continually.

Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

While I was a bit concerned about what the interior of this hotel would look like after seeing the 1970's architecture of the outside, I was mildly surprised to see that the hotel was mostly updated. It was in the perfect location for us; we took the metro from the airport and walked 4 blocks to the hotel. Over our three day weekend we walked to the Arch, Lacelade's Landing, and a Cardinals game which were all located close by. Unfortunately there were some minor issues with this hotel that would prevent me from staying here again. First, we entered our room only to notice immediately the stale smell of cigarettes and an ashtray on the desk. I felt like I had walked into a hotel room in 1974. Hotel staff immediately remedied the problem and we were moved to a non-smoking room. When we arrived in our new room it felt significantly cleaner. One mark of a low-budget hotel, to me, is when rooms are only provided with 2 bath towels. Crowne only provided us with two which was a minor inconvenience. The bathroom sink was difficult to shut off as we had to find the sweet spot (not at the usual down angle) to make it happen. Another minor inconvenience. Although we were provided with wi-if directions, we never could get the wi-if to work on either of our iPhones or on our iPad. Friends staying in another floor finally got wi-if to work in their room on day 2. Again, another minor inconvenience. With all that being said,the location was perfect for our trip and the bed was clean and comfortable. I just expected more from a Crowne Plaza.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WeRunEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear WeRunEverywhere,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. I am glad that our location was in close proximity for your needs. However, I'd like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the room you were provided and if the Wifi connection was a disappointment. These points will be addressed to consider for improvements needed in what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Service was terrible. Called for extra blankets and never came. Went to front desk and still waited over 20 minutes for them Really need to update Ceiling in bathroom chipping because no vent to remove moisture. And then to top it off, smoke alarm went off. No announcement made as far was what to do. I called down to front desk after heard fire trucks and he said it was cleared didn't know what set it off. Location is great and we have loved this hotel in the past. Very sad to see the deterioration.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Carolyn D,

Thank you so much for the feedback provided from your stay and your compliment regarding our front desk staff. I am happy to hear you like our hotel location. However, i am sorry our staff service and hotel amenities fell below your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I appreciate you taking the time to provide critical feedback which we use to help us improve our services for you and all our future guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable review. I hope you will give us another try.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel really shouldn't be a Crowne Plaza... it is more of a Travelodge feel or maybe a Days Inn. Check in was slow with a 20 minute wait. The woman who checked us in (Shonda) was trying to be nice but was extremely hard to understand. She had a hard time finding a room to assign to me (strange for a Crowne Plaza, especially because as a Platinum IHG member I should have had a room that was pre-assigned). There were only a few elevators working and there was a line to get on one. Our room was fine, except that there were absolutely no towels at all. A housekeeper was in the hallway and I asked for a set of towels. A lady arrived 15 minutes later with a set of towels. About 15 minutes after that, a lady entered our room (without knocking) and tried to deliver more towels. The heating/cooling system was totally antiquated and turning the dial did nothing to modify the room temperature. Our bill was far incorrect when it was delivered overnight. When I went to check out/talk about the bill, the male clerk was unhelpful and argumentative. This hotel hurts the CP brand. If you can, I'd avoid this property.

Room Tip: Higher floors may provide a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank H533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear H533 ,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#91 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Property: City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing