We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Place - Downtown St. Louis
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Marriott St. Louis Grand(Saint Louis)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
214
359
339
322
438
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
359
339
322
438
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgateway archan older hotellarge roombit datedmississippi riverself parkingcourthousebaseball
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Location is excellent.. a short walk to the arch as well as to the ballparks..
Bar in lobby is dreary..
The escalator from lobby to first floor was only operating in the down direction causing people to have to walk up to the 1st floor where the business office was located.
For 3 days this had not been repaired..it seems as if the hotel just didn't care.
Long lines to check in due to lack of personnel..
A tired hotel in need of a crisp new attitude..
Don't stay here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank miamisaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear miamisaks,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We deeply regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time as our guest at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hi I called around a few downtown hotels with pools on the day to try to get a room for a good rate- as i am a member of the IHG rewards program this hotel was the best offer I had- $30 cheaper than any other- and the staff were super friendly, the room was extra huge, it has a small but friendly rooftop pool with great views which my kids loved, parking available underneath for $10 in and out. All in all a great hotel for a quick visit to the Arch and museum. Only complaint was bedcovers were too thin to be warm at night- guess we could have asked for more but we were only staying one night. Free wifi in rooms- we had breakfast at Starbucks in the hotel right next door.

Room Tip: Go high- great views- hotel has 29 floors- we were on the 27th.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lemanieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Upon arrival we got on an elevator to get to our 17th floor room. We were jolted to an abrupt stop on the 6th floor. It started again and then abruptly stopped at 8. Thankfully we hit OPEN and tried another elevator. That was not pleasant. The room had old furniture, dirty carpets and curtains, a rusty toilet and filthy mirrors. We enjoyed meeting Keith our bartender who went out of his way a couple of times for us. Visit the roof top pool for great city views. The location is great but the Hilton at the ballpark provided us a much better experience on our last visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear habsmom,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The overall stay was just bad. The carpet needed vacuumed, there was huge stain on the couch cushion, the AC/Heating unit could not be temperature controlled, and the parking garage was leaking water all over. The one positive was that the front desk staff folks at check-in were very pleasant and helpful. This hotel get a 2 because of them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SWIndianaShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear SWIndianaShark,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I regret that this stay was not 100% satisfactory due to the condition of the room that you were given and its temperature level. Despite this, I am pleased that you have recognized the service of our reception staff.

We sincerely hope you can give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First off, their automatic circling door was not automatic and had to push. I had a King bedroom reserved but was pleasantly surprised to walk into a full suite with kitchen and all. Not one plate or fork, ect tho. Check in was very slow. 1-2 front desk staff on a Friday night with a full line of about 10-15 people. Staff was OK. nothing special. Had my girlfriend get drinks at the bar for us while we waited (bring liquor.... extremely expensive bar). Our room was generally clean.... the closet had pennies, a receipt, and a used towel which I did not appreciate. The shower was a one person small shower. Also we got a smoking room with not one ash tray. Don't know how that happens. Maid knocked once with no Housekeeping announcement at 9:30 when check out is at 12. Did not apologize when I kicked her out. That is unacceptable. I was on the 19th floor; one of the big window's was shaky (moved about a centimeter in each direction) which made us feel a bit unsafe. No breakfast with the room. There is a cab bench outside so finding a cab was as easy as walking out. The TV signal was very spotty and kept going in and out during my stay. Did not use wi-fi. The room could have used some updating honestly but it was generally pretty nice.

Dave, the manager, is very nice and was appreciative of me bringing up my complaints at check out. I received a generous adjustment that will definitely bring me back next time I'm in St. Louis.

Room Tip: Corner suite! As high as you can go!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsymo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear jsymo18,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. It is disheartening that your experience at check in, some of our room amenities, as well as our housekeeping services, affected your overall satisfaction. On the other hand, I am happy to hear that our general manager was able to attend to your concerns. I am confident that necessary steps will be made to improve on our end and to provide our guest with the best hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews