We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional flavour”

Ted Drew's Frozen Custard
Ranked #1 of 53 Shopping in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Exceptional flavour”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After one month travelling around the States, this is the flavour I most remember. When it is well below freezing outside and a frozen custard place has a long queue, you know that you are on to a winner.

The taste of my lime-pie concrete was natural and delicious.

Well worth a detour if not a major excursion; a must go in my opinion. My other half had a milkshake and that was also a delight.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    21
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Route 66 Must Stop!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Too many delicious treats to choose from! Crowded, fun, STL gathering place. Enjoyed by young and old all year. Love this place. Best custard in the USA!♥

Helpful?
Thank lalpizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frozen Custard HEAVENLY”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Ted Drew's is a must if you come to St. Louis city on old Route 66.
I have been to many frozen custard joints but none compared to Mr. Drew's frozen custard. There are no words to describe the smooth creamy taste of this custard and no matter how many things they put on the frozen custard is the best part.
If you look around you may even see Ted hanging out. He is a great guy.
You will love this place and don't disparage about long lines they move very quickly but everyone hangs out so it looks crowded but really you never wait longer than 5 mins.
BEST FROZEN CUSTARD EVER.

Helpful?
Thank dwahby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a treat. Not sure why they only have one of these, but you must try it. There are many, many different combinations you can get. Since this was our first time we got something rather simple, the Lemon Custard with Graham Crackers chunks. Out of the world delicious.

Always long lines but they serve up very quickly. A must have when you are in St. Louis!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGEverettWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A piece of history in St Louis”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The small original Ted Drews takes you back to a different era and reminds us of how great the simple things in life are.
We had to try the concrete (a super thick malt) in many flavors and all were great. My buddy had his kids and bought 3 flavors for them to try and they are still talking about them.
The line was long, but the service was quick so not issue.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ted Drew's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ted Drew's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing