We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Innerkip Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel the beginning of June and were very happy with everything. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room had a great view of the arch and the Gateway Arch park was within an easy walk and Laclede's Landing was in close proximity also. Our room, bathroom and bed were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was located on the lower level and even though it the was the typical buffet of most hotels it had a nice atmosphere with little candles on the tables.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ruth S,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We Love Having You Here! Thank you for the comments and noting that you would refer our property and return yourself. How nice to hear you mention a small touch - the candles in our breakfast area - thank you!! Sometimes it's the littlest things that make the biggest impact. We strive to "wow" our guests! Leslie Varney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    459
    137
    30
    11
See reviews for
563
431
61
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first stay in this location and we will probably not return. While we like being downtown and able to walk to Busch Stadium, we were disappointed with the breakfast service in this hotel. We stayed 2 nights and ate breakfast in the hotel both days. Both times we were disappointed. Hampton Inn is the hotel we normally choose when traveling, so we know what to expect. This location did not live up to the Hampton Inn standards. The breakfast staff could not keep up with the volume of people staying in the hotel and did not appear to try.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and we did enjoy their service. Wish this could have carried through to the rest of the hotel.
Also, the pool was very nice. Large area, lots of pool toys and a beautiful view of the Arch.

Room Tip: 17th floor provides a nice view of the city, but the elevators take forever as this is a very busy h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkbkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear bkbkg,

Our sincere apologies for not meeting, or exceeding, your expectations of On the House Hot Breakfast. This is a huge part of the Hampton brand. We understand the importance of starting your day off right! We do hope that you will return and give us another chance. We are in the process of making some staffing changes in this area. It is a busy time of year but that is no excuse; we never want our guests to feel that we are not trying to accommodate their needs. You had many good things to say but it is the constructive criticism that helps us to be the best we can be. We hope that your travels bring you back this direction and you will stay at Hampton Inn Gateway Arch! Leslie Varney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The room is spacious but the window was locked with screws !
Even though decent clean , cannot get rid of the mildew smell inside the room .
Buffet breakfast good quantity but poor quality .
Service staff very friendly .

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank alexra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear alexra66,

Thank you to one of our business travelers for the constructive feedback on our property. We read all of the comments and address them in our Staff Meetings. Our apologies to you for experiencing an unpleasant odor in your room. We have fresh 'n clean bedding and each room gets a daily, thorough cleaning. We reside in an older, downtown building; we have gone through a total renovation. We are always working on improving our breakfast selections. Come on back and let us serve you with a friendly Hampton Inn smile. Leslie Varney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanute, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was very nice and the staff was very helpful. They helped me with directions and answered all of my questions about the area and things to do. We had the arch view and my daughter loved that you could see it from our room. We walked to the City Museum and could have walked to the arch but drove instead. All in all this was a great hotel for our stay in St. Louis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Janae P,

It was our pleasure to serve you while you were staying with us. We used your comments in a meeting the other day and read them to the staff. It is so important that our guests find our staff to be helpful! Two great choices in St. Louis - the Arch and City Museum. Hurry back! There are many more attractions to take in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our stay was 12-13 June 2014. We had two 2 queen beds nonsmoking on the 16th Flr, connecting rooms. The hotel was surprising large. Did not expect a gated at least 4 level enclosed parking garage. I think the garage had additional levels but the highest level we parked on was level 4. You need you room key for the parking garage doors to side up to get in; you can’t walk in that garage without a key. I like that kind of security. Although the area is not a bad area but crime is everywhere.

The breakfast area is located on the lower level. It’s a large area. Now I was disappointed with breakfast at this hotel. First the waffle makers were not turned on when the staff came in and we had to wait for them to heat up, then they did not spray them so when myself and another couple made them they stuck in the maker. The other couple gave up and I got them to spray them and made another, but I believe the batter was old because it was gummy and the first bite was nasty so I threw it away. I know what I am talking about because I had a nice breakfast waffle the day before at the Hampton at Fort Leonard Wood. I will give them credit at least the eggs were good. This was before I had to go to the airport to fly home.

The hotel décor was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful when I had questions about eating places, driving directions and things I was going to do. The hotel does have its own restaurant and if I had stayed longer I would have checked it out. The pool was a very nice size and there was a hot tub also. Rooms seemed a little smaller than other Hamptons I have been in but the trade off was the view of the Arch. Even with the busy traffic below, it was a quiet hotel but then again I was on the 16th Flr. The chair in the room did needed cleaning.

The one of the highlights at being at this hotel was being so close to the Arch. You can walk to the Arch but we drove over. If you get the chance do go to the Arch. You can go up inside the Arch and it is a beautiful experience. I did write about it on tripadvisor and attach pictures.

Room Tip: Room with view of Arch is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msworldadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear msworldadventure,

Our secured garage does end on 4; parking is available on 2, 3, & 4. You stayed very near to the top of the hotel, we have 17 floors. Glad that you enjoyed your "room with a view". Thank you for the feedback on the waffles. We did address this issue with our breakfast staff. We hope that you will return and have a delicious Belgian waffle! Also, you can dine at Tigin Irish Pub & Grill; this is the restaurant attached to the hotel. We are budgeted for new chairs in 2014. We are hoping to renovate, thoroughly, by 2016. Lots of reasons for you to return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that this hotel is in a great location and it is easy to access restaurants and shops on Riverfront, an easy walk to Edward Jones Dome (right across the street) and only .7 miles to Busch Stadium. The Arch is also a short walk away.

The people working at the hotel were very personable and helpful. I love that they wear Cardinals attire on game day. It makes them more relatable.

We arrived on June 18 for a two night stay. On June 19, we went out to get in our car and discovered it had been broken into. This was in the outside parking lot adjacent to the hotel. They have video surveillance and the lot is fenced in. Do NOT be fooled into thinking your car is secure here. They accessed entry by popping our lock with a screwdriver and proceeded to steal over $1500 worth of our belongings. Needless to say, it pretty much ruined our day. I spoke with the security guard yesterday and he said that they had had a real problem with homeless people targeting out of town cars. We learned the hard way.

The hotel does have a parking garage and it is more secure. When we checked in, we were told parking lot or garage. I would encourage anyone considering this hotel to take advantage of their garage. We worked with Julie at the front desk after this happened and she was terrific. She called the police for us and she kept an eye on my girls for a couple of minutes while we went out to take inventory of what was missing for the police. Thank you, Julie!

The hotel serves free breakfast, has a pool and fitness center, an Irish pub. Our room was spacious and clean. We had a view of the Arch. The room had a modern bathroom, fridge and microwave and a flat-screen TV. All the folks working here were super. I highly recommend this property. Just remember one word - GARAGE!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear dbae27,

We do support our Cardinals and it is nice to hear that you enjoyed the staff wearing their jerseys. We are so sorry that your vehicle was broken in to. It can happen anywhere, unfortunately. I agree, though, that the garage is more secure. We do monitor and walk the surface lot, but a thief knows how to plan their attack. I am so glad that Julie was able to assist in this problem area. Our location is fabulous and we do hope that you will stay with us, again. Our Front Desk will welcome you with a friendly smile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is an mazing place to stay and in a perfect location to see what St Louis has to offer. Close to all - Busch Stadium, Casino, football, brewery tours, Zoo, etc. They offer covered parking. Free breakfast. secure building.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stevem1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Stevem1710,

What a great review to read! Thank you for leaving it for future travelers. You "sum it up" nicely :) Hurry Back - We Love Having You Here! Leslie Varney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Property: Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing