We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh but overpriced”

Olympia Kebob House & Taverna
Ranked #215 of 2,880 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh but overpriced”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Four of us stopped in at Olympia, a Greek restaurant we've visited for a number of years, but had not been in lately. We tried an appetizer of red pepper spread, which none of us liked - it tasted as if half of a red pepper was put into a blender and poured onto a teacup plate. Very bland and the taste was only that of red pepper, no other seasoning. At $8.50 this was ludicrously priced. Better were our entrees - two had deluxe gyros (the deluxe being added lettuce and feta cheese; at +$2 over the regular gyro a bit expensive). One had the same gyro but in a Greek salad; our fourth had lamb kabob. The gyro meat was very tasty and tender - some places overcook or re-heat the meat, making it tough, but this tasted fresh. The lamb was also very tender and fresh. The gyros were an average sized serving; the lamb a bit less so with too much onion; the gyro salad was huge and there were leftovers to take home. The place was jammed this Monday night, perhaps because it was the night before Christmas Eve, not sure why so crowded and loud. Servers were overtaxed, but we received good service. A pleasant experience, not anything too exciting, but fairly good quality food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whizzzyCanton_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Gyros, Friendly Service, Nice Setting”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Four people in our party, we all got the Gyro. Two were deluxe, includes lettuce and feta cheese, the others were plain. We all enjoyed them. I ordered fries with mine but barely ate any after eating the gyro.

If your in the area give it a try. They have burgers, chicken fingers, and other options also.

Helpful?
Thank jkhartwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The food was great and the portions were huge. The prices were more than reasonable and teh staff was courteous and polite. Seemed like it was family ran and the people there really cared about what they were doing.

If you like Greek food its a must.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lack of Attentiveness to Diners”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I attempted to dine here on a weeknight. We were instructed to seat ourselves and sat and waited. Water was eventually dropped off without a word and the server left without acknowledging us. We were then subsequently passed by 3 times by servers before someone came by with menus.

I was very disappointed. My husband and I just left. If you want great service, awesome atmosphere and great prices go to Ari's on Hampton.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cruisimel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level Contributor
246 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“For a good Greek meal, we frequent Olympia”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Enjoyed another good meal at Olympia last night!

The menu at Olympia encompasses the standard Greek items you would expect - saganaki, hummus, babaganous, gyros, pastitsio, dolmades, souvlaki. For the most part, everything seems made to order.They have really broadened their draft and bottle beer offerings now, too.

One of the unique items we love at Olympia is their red pepper dip. This dip is chock full of red peppers and feta cheese, and is very flavorful. It is served with two pitas cut into wedges and is a terrific starter. We are partial to the gyros, but really like the souvlaki as well. The items we have not been as crazy about are the moussaka and the kebobs.

Tips: Olympia has a terrific patio area for nice weather dining and their parking lots (across McCausland from the restaurant) have been improved as well. If you decide to eat indoors, the best locations are in booths at the back or on the north of the restaurant. Service everywhere here is hit or miss, so you might want to ask for your bill earlier than you really need it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJandDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympia Kebob House & Taverna also viewed

Saint Louis, MO
 
Saint Louis, MO
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Olympia Kebob House & Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing