We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #34 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
McLeansboro, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I spent 8 nights at the Parkway, while my husband was a patient at Barnes-Jewish Hospital. This is an excellent hotel! I had originally booked for 6 nights, but then had to extend my stay two more nights. The staff was extremely helpful. On the morning of my husband's surgery, I wanted to be at the hospital at 4:00 a.m., the link to the hospital is closed from the hotel to the hospital from 9 p.m. until 6 a.m. (You can go from the hospital to the hotel, but not the hotel to the hospital). The front desk arranged for the security guard to walk me to the Center For Advanced Medicine Building, where the Barnes Security picked me up and dropped me off at the South hospital campus. Great service in spite of a cold, windy, snowy night! The room was clean, the staff very kind, and the location can't be beat! James Montgomery checked me out. He was sincerely interested in how my stay had been. Keep up the wonderful job!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gma2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    151
    85
    22
    17
See reviews for
191
74
46
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was very pleased during my stay at the Parkway. James Montgomery checked me both into and out of the hotel. He answered all my questions and was very courteous and professional. I had a procedure at Barnes Hospital but never had to step outside into very frigid temps.; everything connects!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolono, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed last weekend and had the best service! Denise the Security Guard went above and beyond to get us a room before check in. Room was clean staff was so nice! Made a bad situation at hospital a pleasant place to stay! Will return!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was easy access to Hospital!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljecksteij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Found out about the Parkway on TripAdvisor and based on previous reviews recently stayed there. I have to say these folks thought about everything. 24 hour tea and coffee. Free hot breakfast including sausages and eggs. Fresh fruit in the lobby and fresh baked cookies. Had an initial problem with next door guest and it was swiftly taken care of without fuss!! VERY IMPRESSED!! Very comfortable room with refrigerator, microwave AND coffee maker. What more can you ask for? Be aware people are allowed to keep pets but they stay on seperate floor and the Hotel is thankfully completely non-smoking. Enjoyed our stay and location as an fyi was close to Jazz on the Bistro and to highway access.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

this hotel was wonderful to stay at. the staff is very nice and helpful, and the rooms are very clean. it is also one of the best hotels to stay at if you have to be at the Barnes Jewish Hospital. they have a bridge connecting the hotel to the hospital, they give a discount if you or a family member is a patient there. they have a shuttle that takes you almost anywhere you want to go. the zoo, the gardens, the museums, and resturants on The Hill, (Guido's is fanatstic), Walmart, Target. malls etc. we were there almost a week because of the Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes Jewish hospital and the fact that there was a resturant right there at the hotel made it very convienent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been frequenting this hotel since three years. I have to see my Eye doctor three times per year and he examines me at the Barnes Jewish Medical center. When staying at the Parkway you are few steps away from the hospital using a connecting walkway. Very convenient rain or shine. You can walk to many restaurants in the Central West End and the hotel have a free shuttle that can take you to the nearby attractions like the St Louis Museum of Art and the Missouri Botanical Garden. The hotel is only few minutes walk from the Metrolink station "Central West End" which provides a quick access to the Amtrak railway station. The staff are very friendly and the hotel offers free breakfast and free hot drinks and popcorn in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherifshawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Parkway Hotel offers comfort and convenience in the heart of the Central West End. Attached to Barnes Jewish Medical Center by a 3rd floor breezeway as well as a chain restaurant off the lobby, the Parkway provides complimentary, hot breakfast daily with popcorn, fresh fruit, tea, coffee and hot chocolate throughout the day. The huge, warm, moist, chocolaty, gooey cookies are available for only two hours in the evening, so get them while you can. Should you need anything else, a small convenience store is located adjacent to the front desk.

I reserved three rooms for a family “Meet Me in St. Louis” Thanksgiving gathering. All rooms were quite unique. The accessible room has everything needed for a comfortable stay. One minor note, the clothes rack in the armoire was kind of low to the floor. Nevertheless, the room was in a great location on the floor; near the bank of three elevators, yet very quiet.

The second double room housed a shower stall in the bathroom, while our third room next door had a tub/shower combination.

All rooms were on the pet-friendly floor. The hallways and rooms were fresh and deodorized on a daily basis, if not several times per day. There was no pet odor whatsoever. When guests check out, furniture can be seen overturned in the rooms with housekeepers fervently spraying and vacuuming. Housekeeping is phenomenal at the Parkway. None of the rooms showed any signs of pets – no stray hairs, odors or stains. Fantastic!!

This was our second stay at the Parkway Hotel within two years. This location, once again, did not disappoint. The free wi-fi is greatly appreciated. Garage parking fee is reasonable with in and out privileges.

The staff members were very friendly and professional; Vanessa (hospitality) was wonderful! She ensured the breakfast items were replenished and she was extremely courteous. When another employee made a mess, she volunteered to clean it up for her. The dining area remained highly organized and spotless while she was there. Vanessa greeted each guest as if she knew them personally. Keep it up!

With or without my four-legged friend in tow, as long as this superior level of service and attention to detail continue, I will always look to stay at the Parkway. Compared to other hotels in its class, the Parkway Hotel most certainly leads the pack. High five!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, request a room facing the parking lot. Emergency vehicles can sometim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
The Cheshire
#38 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing