We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for Hospital Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parkway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Parkway Hotel
Ranked #35 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Little Rock
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Hospital Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hospital during a hospital visit at Barnes Jewish. It is connected to the hospital which allows one not to have to leave the building to go to doctor visits. The staff is very helpful. We were allowed a late check out in order to accommodate our doctor visits. Also a having a restaurant site is great. the breakfast is lacking in that there is not large selection but it does the job. It is also nice that they have fresh cookies, fruit, and popcorn available for the guest. the hotel could use some updating but in general it was clean which is highly important to me. I certainly will consider this hotel for other stays in the area and on hospitals visits.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BOWDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    150
    85
    20
    17
See reviews for
189
72
43
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

A wonderful hotel with helpful staff and extremely reasonable price for the location. The cookies and snacks in the lobby are nice. No hot tub unfortunately. My priority is always a clean, quiet room, and this delivers. Great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

No need to look any further for the best hotel that is closest to Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis, or for one that is more accommodating to hospital visitors. It's just a short walk, all inside, to the Center for Advanced Medicine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittlePilgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLeansboro, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I spent 8 nights at the Parkway, while my husband was a patient at Barnes-Jewish Hospital. This is an excellent hotel! I had originally booked for 6 nights, but then had to extend my stay two more nights. The staff was extremely helpful. On the morning of my husband's surgery, I wanted to be at the hospital at 4:00 a.m., the link to the hospital is closed from the hotel to the hospital from 9 p.m. until 6 a.m. (You can go from the hospital to the hotel, but not the hotel to the hospital). The front desk arranged for the security guard to walk me to the Center For Advanced Medicine Building, where the Barnes Security picked me up and dropped me off at the South hospital campus. Great service in spite of a cold, windy, snowy night! The room was clean, the staff very kind, and the location can't be beat! James Montgomery checked me out. He was sincerely interested in how my stay had been. Keep up the wonderful job!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gma2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was very pleased during my stay at the Parkway. James Montgomery checked me both into and out of the hotel. He answered all my questions and was very courteous and professional. I had a procedure at Barnes Hospital but never had to step outside into very frigid temps.; everything connects!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolono, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed last weekend and had the best service! Denise the Security Guard went above and beyond to get us a room before check in. Room was clean staff was so nice! Made a bad situation at hospital a pleasant place to stay! Will return!

Room Tip: 3rd floor was easy access to Hospital!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljecksteij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Found out about the Parkway on TripAdvisor and based on previous reviews recently stayed there. I have to say these folks thought about everything. 24 hour tea and coffee. Free hot breakfast including sausages and eggs. Fresh fruit in the lobby and fresh baked cookies. Had an initial problem with next door guest and it was swiftly taken care of without fuss!! VERY IMPRESSED!! Very comfortable room with refrigerator, microwave AND coffee maker. What more can you ask for? Be aware people are allowed to keep pets but they stay on seperate floor and the Hotel is thankfully completely non-smoking. Enjoyed our stay and location as an fyi was close to Jazz on the Bistro and to highway access.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cheshire
#34 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel

Property: The Parkway Hotel
Address: 4550 Forest Park Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63108-2114
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkway Hotel, Fully Renovated with a Modern, sleek, upscale look. only 5 minutes from downtown St. Louis. With 217 guestrooms, they provide the customer service that will always make your stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. As their guest, you will enjoy complimentary hot breakfast, popcorn, fresh baked cookies, 24 hour coffee and fresh fruit. The St. Louis Metro Link station is 1 block from the Hotel. It provides inexpensive transportation from Lambert Airport and throughout the city. The Parkway courtesy shuttle is also available. It travels within the Central West End. Sign up for the Parkway shuttle is located at the Parkway's front desk. The Central West End consists of 6 blocks of restaurants and cafe's nestled among art galleries, antique and specialty shops. The Parkway Hotel is adjacent to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Muny, Jewel Box, Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes/Children's Hospital, Close to dozens of wedding venues. The Parkway Hotel,is the perfect hotel whether you are traveling for business or pleasure. We do not accept pets at this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Parkway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing