We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”

J F Sanfilippo's Restaurant
Ranked #295 of 2,926 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stopped in for dinner after attending a football game. Was greeted very friendly upon entering the restaurant. The waiters and waitress were attentive and helpful with the menu and selection. The bread was fresh and warm. The entree was hot and delicious. Great Italian dinner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    7
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Peaches was our waitress”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

She was very attentive and professional. The food was hot and delicious. It was priced fairly. The beers and wine was ice cold. The atmosphere was appropriate.

Helpful?
Thank Ampguru57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Friends chose this place, we walked in at 7 and there was only one other table filled. The decor feels like it is in a time-warp from a couple decades ago, but the service was great. The 5 of us all chose different entrees and all were very good. I had the Ravioli di Pesci & my husband had the Pollo Conti. Though other tables filled later, it was still a quiet place for our conversations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slemp
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Worst experience ever...Called ahead told them how many were coming,,said they would have us a buffet set up with salads, pasta, breads, all drinks we needed...Got there they put us in the back of restaurant where one bowl of salad, one type of pasta and bread were available and only thing to drink was water...Mind you this was a group of 40-45 adults and kids. Service was horrible...the bill was over $700.00 for nothing......NOTHING.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Would not eat here again”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the Renaissance though I can't imagine why. Located in the Drury Inn, the restaurant is dark and without charm. Instead if tablecloths there are black napkins on the table. The food is extremely expensive and tastes blah. No kids' menu so I paid $12 for fettucini and another $4 for a side salad for a 10 year old. They also charged extra for bleu cheese dressing (not crumbles, just the dressing)! The extra charge was not on the menu or mentioned by the server. Also was our bad luck to go on a night when some photographer was taking photos and handing out his cards. Ick. So we paid (with tip) over $100 for dinner for 2 adults and 2 kids--no drinks but water. Nice waitress and busboy but I really regret not eating at the cute little outdoor pizza place on Washington. This place felt like a funeral rather than a vacation eatery. :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J F Sanfilippo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J F Sanfilippo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing