We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“merveilleux, wonderbaar”
Review of Tripel - CLOSED

Tripel
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 18th & Park
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“merveilleux, wonderbaar”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stopped in while visiting friends and we were very pleased... The menu was fantastically different. I had the Stoofvlees (beef stew over frites) while my wife had the Mussels A la Marinière (in a White wine shallot broth). WOW is all I can say.

The beer list is great as well - we really enjoyed sampling the Belgian abbey style ales.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teambanzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have been to Tripel twice now with consistent quality both times. My wife had the mussels the first time while I had the venison with a marchand de vin sauce. The next time we both had the antelope, my wife with the marchand de vin myself with the poivre . This displays one of the fun things about Tripel- the ability to try dishes with different sauces, each displaying different qualities of the dish.

The wine list is relatively modest, but works well with the dishes on the menu. The beer list is wonderful, with many great choices. Service was excellent both times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PLEASINGLY DIFFERENT”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

HAS A BELGIAN NATIVE I WAS PLEASE. BELGIAN ARE KNOWN FOR THEIR CULINARY ART. The menu was authentic. The beer list totally Belgian, great French wine list, congratulations to the management. and to the serving staff. A bread basket with assortment of bread and slices of Belgian waffle, a memorable beginning. I order as 1st course Frites with Mussels and Mayo, great but the frites should be served in a paper cone. For 2nd course My wife ordered the Choucroute and myself the Antilope, both very good. For 3th course a delightful Baba au Rum.I can forget to mention the unique table setting including china and cleaver water vessel. The owner stop by to chat, always a great touch. Being new I wish Tripel success!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Beer, mussels and excellent Belgian style stews! We had a very enjoyable experience at Tripel, a new restaurant in Lafayette Square. The staff were friendly and organized. Our food came out promptly and it was delicious. We will definitely return soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mirtle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A taste of Belguim in St. louis”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Went to this restaurant in its second week of being open. It was running smooth and the wait staff were really friendly. Great choices on the menu and lots of belgian beer. Seval ways you can have your mussels from Brussels. We had tomato and basil and it was delightful. Even our vegatatian friend found something she liked. The place was ful but we could still chat. The owner, Jim Darst, stopped by to chat supper guy and he was interested in our comments. Will go back again, still several things I'd like to try. Enjoyed the ambiance as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TonySt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tripel also viewed

 
Webster Groves, Saint Louis
Maplewood, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing