We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely outdoor seating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Italia Ristorante

Bar Italia Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Italia Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #208 of 2,876 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Central West End
Cross street: Euclid
Transit: Close to the metro link Central west end station. Bus stop near by.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The thing I most enjoyed about this restaurant was the atmosphere, with a wonderful spacious outdoor patio, cheerfully decorated with strung lights and tables full of happily chatting patrons. It was crowded enough to make you feel you were somewhere well liked, without feeling cramped or too noisy. The food was very nice italian food, tasty but not out of this world. The menu had a nice selection and the service was excellent, both friendly and attentive. The only negative that comes to mind is that despite the cheerful lighting, it was a little too dark to see the menus and we all had to use our phone flashlights to get a better look. It's well located on a popular street in the Central West End, so it's nice to stroll after dinner and there's an ice cream spot nearby if you're not ready for dessert at dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleWing59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing an worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we visited Bar Italia. The first time we arrived late in STL and were looking for a place to grab a bite. We were lured in by the curb appeal and were pleasantly surprised. This past weekend we going to dine with a group of friends and I told them I would make a reservation... My wife suggested Bar Italia. I did and everyone in our group was blown away. One owns a bar and one used to own a resturant, so I think they look with a different eye. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rangermp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Visited with four friends for a late lunch. The restaurant was far from full, but the service was very poor. Our waitress clearly couldn't care less. The other employees were competent and helpful. Food was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Yummy food in a laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

If you are getting appetizers, the mussels are fantastic. The rest of the food was good as well and the atmosphere was quaint and laid back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MNwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Laid-back choice for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stopped by the Bar Italia one Sunday mid-day. They had an appealing live jazz duet playing on the large patio on the west side of the building, but we decided to have lunch inside, which wasn't crowded at all. The service was good; we never felt neglected. The lunch menu seemed a little lightweight for an Italian restaurant, but we found some good items: a panino sandwich for one person, and the pollo alla griglia for another. Both were tasty, with generous portions. The only gentle criticism I would offer is that the pureed vegetable sauce with the pollo was quite bland; it unfortunately added nothing to the meal. It could have been kicked up a bit, to complement the bed of mashed potatoes the delicious chicken rested on. Lunch for two came to about $23 (including a cup of soup). On balance, I like the place, and I'll certainly want to try it again, maybe for dinner, next time I'm in the area. Note: as another reviewer commented, there is street parking out front, but good luck finding a spot, especially when Maryland Plaza is really swinging, such as on Saturday nights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kay-cee-1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Italia Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Bar Italia Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing