We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Louis's Finest Restaurant”
Review of Tony's

Tony's
Reserve with OpenTable
Tony's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 2,925 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Description: Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“St. Louis's Finest Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Tony's restaurant is the best restaurant that we have ever experienced, and we have been to many fine restaurants. The food and service are wonderful. Vince treats everyone like a guest. It is comparable in price to many other fine restaurants, and it is less expensive than some of the other fine restaurants. We enjoy dining where people are not wearing ball caps.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    54
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This has the rep of being the best restaurant in st.Louis. but its just overhyped. It's pretty good and all but other restaurants in the area are better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifelongtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, Az
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One great dining experience from start to finish”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We dined at Tony's with friends on Tuesday evening the night before the start of the world series. Our entire experience at this restaurant was flawless. The valet service was anticipatory and excellent. The restaurant was somewhat dark but very classy and quite enough so that conversation at our table of four was effortless. The waiters were very professional, unobtrusive and allowed our dining experience to simply flow.The drinks were great. The wine list was complete but not overly extensive. The food was outstanding. The deserts were to die for. And to top off our evening, the owner came by to make sure that our experience was special. As he sincerely said, "they have to earn their reputation with every meal". In our case they certainly did and then some. When we are back in St. Louis we will most definitely return as Tony's is one of the best Italian restaurants outside of Italy that we have experienced.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RaquelHereford_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Went here for lunch and I should have gone hungry, in fact I did go hungry because I was not eating this slop. The worst pasta really I've had better out of a can. This place is just not good at all. Sorry.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old school stylings, pretty good food, great service”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stepping into the non-descript lobby entrance to Tony's you can't help feel like you've been been transported to another era. Indeed, Tony's is a time capsule of the types of restaurants you'd see in the 70's and early 80's. But just because they are relics of a time since passed, doesn't mean they can't produce high quality food, even if it is decidedly old school.

No one in my party had any complaints about the food. We had multiple courses including dessert. I thought the dishes themselves and the table side finishing and plating were a cool reminder of old school service. The wine list was straightforward and more than decent.

Just one note, this place is also very formal. Gentlemen remember your jackets, they can check your hats at the door. I'm not quite sure you can get away with jeans in there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sameder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's also viewed

 

Been to Tony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing