We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible overall experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al's Restaurant

Al's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Al's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,107 of 2,873 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: US$32 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Riverfront
Cross street: Biddle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible overall experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was simply awful. From the service to the food quality, completely unacceptable. It took the servers 1 hour to ask us what we wanted to drink (other than the water,because they will literally drown you in that) and if we wanted any appetizers. It wasn't a very welcoming environment whatsoever and the whole experience was extremely strange. We ordered the combination appetizer and everything tasted and looked like it had been frozen. It was a big letdown but that's just what happens sometimes. I wouldn't reccomend this restaurant to anyone. Absolutely terrible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Best Dining Experience I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I hadn't dined here in several years, so I thought I'd take the wife here for our 37th Wedding Anniversary. I must warn you, when you pull up outside, you may be taken aback by the exterior of the building, as well as it's proximity to the Railroad Tracks (50 ft away). Don't be alarmed, when you're in the same location for 87 years, things around you tend to change. I recommend the valet parking, as the area appears to be somewhat blighted, and rundown. Actually, the closest building is quite a distance from Al's. When we stepped inside and announced our arrival, we were taken directly to our table. Within a minute or so, we were provided a glass of water, and our waiter gave us his name (which I wish I had written down), and asked us if we'd like a drink. We ordered appetizers, and decide to share 2 different appetizers. The first was the crab meat stuffed mushrooms. The 2nd was a combination of butterfly shrimp, batter dipped, Beef Tenderloin tip, and Toasted Ravioli. Each of these were superb, the toasted ravioli was covered in a tomato/meat sauce that was heavenly. The Beef Tenderloin tip was drenched in the best barbecue sauce i have ever tasted. The shrimp had a crunch to it that was so good, i've never experienced anything quite like it. We ordered Filets from the large selection of various entrees offered. My wife got the 8 ounce, butterflied, and stuffed with Mozzarella and Prosciutto, then breaded, and pan fried. I got the filet, traditionally prepared, and served rare. Oh, it was the best 12 ounces of beef i've ever had, cooked to perfection. To top the whole thing off, our waiter brought us a large slice of the best chocolate cake i've ever had. We were so full, we could only finish half of it. We asked our waiter to package the rest, and the next day, when my wife opened the container, there was our half slice, and another piece of cake as well. Wow, you don't find places like this around anymore. It's definitely a one of a kind place, and we'll be back to enjoy another meal long before our next anniversary.

Kudos to our waiter, I wish I had remembered his name, he made the whole experience unforgettable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthSiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN ST LOUIS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

If you want the best in food and service, Al's Restaurant in downtown St Louis is the place to go. Knowledgeable waiters that treat you like royalty with over the top service, mouth watering food that makes you want to come back for more and a great atmosphere that is full of joy and romance. Just love this restaurant. You will not find another restaurant in St Louis that takes pride in everything they do to make your experience an absolute joy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozarks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what is used to be”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Al's last night. Been going for over 25 years. Caesar salad was watery. Steaks undercooked. Management argued with us. Won't ever return. Don't waste your time or money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank hillbilly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old Time Atmosphere...great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had our 25th anniversary at Al's Restaurant...had never been there before but had heard good things. We were not disappointed. Food was great as was service. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al's Restaurant also viewed

Des Peres, Saint Louis
 

Been to Al's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing