We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Ranked #42 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel was in a quiet location, 4 minutes from the heart of Downtown St. Louis. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff and the shuttle transportation were excellent! We didn't have any problems with our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here while house hunting for a new home due to a transfer. The hotel staff is very friendly especially the friendly and chatty "lunch room lady". She said hello with a smile to everyone that was getting their breakfast. Our room was smaller than expected for a one bedroom suite. We were going to stay here when we move down while we wait to get the closing done on our house but we have changed our mind due to the size. We will be staying at the Villas at Brentwood that offer corporate housing instead for twice the size and $83/night and it comes with an oven where the Residence did not unless you got a two bedroom suite. The bathroom tub had what appeared to be grime in it which was later confirmed by the slippery feeling when getting in. Slipped on my last day but caught myself. Lightbulb out above the bathroom sink. Both issues I plan to tell the staff when we check out today. The breakfast offers many options. You won't leave hungry. The also offer an evening meal Mon-Wed which is free. This is great for people traveling on a budget and on those days. As another person mentioned, you do have to have the staff let you in to the pool and hot tub area. We never did try them out so can't comment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somewhereiniowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel for two nights using our Marriott rewards points. The stay was great! As usual Marriott was very accommodating with our personal requests for extra pillows, towels, late check out etc... The location is OK, it's a little off the beaten path, but within a reasonable distance to main attractions. We usually stay downtown when heading to see the Cardinals play the Cubs, but chose this location so we could stay for free with our points. The room was super clean, the breakfast was great because you can't complain about a complimentary breakfast, and the staff were very friendly. If you're not a Marriott rewards member, become one, the perks are great!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikesItClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We drove to St. Louis for a family wedding so this was a quick trip. It was clean & comfortable & they have a shuttle that goes in a small radius. It didn't go far enough for us to utilize it, but they have to keep them small to serve more people.

Great breakfast in the morning although it is definitely crowded. They have a policy of requiring you to stay within the breakfast area, which seems difficult on a busy weekend morning. It's not like you're using any silverware or dishes.

Your room key also doesn't allow you into the pool area. A hotel clerk has to open it for you. They have no sign there saying that though & I guess not every clerk tells people when they're checking in. So we constantly had to get up & open the door for people who hadn't gotten the message.

These things are very minor in the scheme of things but they just prevent me from giving it five stars. Our room was a 1 bedroom suite & had plenty of room for the 3 of us. The beds are always comfortable at Residence Inn, so that wasn't wanting. We didn't notice any noise from the street or from the hall. I believe the hotel was pretty packed that weekend, so that's important.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are not noisy, so try to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcoombs1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Most recent trip to STL required us to stay at the Residence Inn versus the Courtyard on the other side of the freeway. First 2 nights were in 2 BR unit which was nice, clean and quite. Marriott staff did a good job providing us the room we requested. We needed to extend trip an extra night and explained to staff that the extra night would be our 10th night in a row at a Marriott hotel. They moved us to their "penthouse suite." This was an amazing room for a Residence Inn. 2 BR with fireplace, upgraded GE Profile appliances, top floor, granite, separate shower and whirlpool tub in MB, double sinks in 2nd BR. Plus, it had a balcony looking to Arch. While there was a building between balcony and arch, it still a nice view. A bit noisy, but we were tired and ready to sleep anyway. First unit was on other side of hotel and was much quiter. Location of hotel not the best being next to freeway, but if you are familar with STL, this should be a plus.

Room Tip: Request room on inside of hotel to reduce freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FormerExpat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel while taking my son to college orientation. In our customer profile we have documented our preferences requiring a feather free room. This allergy causes me and other family members difficulty breathing and is considered a disability.

We had stayed at this Residence Inn earlier this year and the staff abided by the pref requests.

So upon arrival, I checked one pillow and it was foam.

Feeling safe to stay, my son and I went about our city visit. After settling in for the evening, at midnight I went to bed to sleep and started to have trouble breathing. I checked the pillows and four of the five pillows on the bed were down filled.

I called the front desk and requested new foam pillows. The staff said NO preferences regarding this issue were in my profile and said they would try to replace the pillows as soon as possible. An hour later the new pillows arrived. Luckily, the Inn had meds at the Market Store which assisted in correcting our breathing issue.

I checked our online profile while waiting the pillow exchange, below is what it read:
Reservation Preferences
Room options:
No room options selected
Additional Preferences:
Low floor
Foam pillows
Prefer feather free room
Prefer extra towels
USA Today

Upon discussing this with the management, they apologized but refused to do anything more. We were charged the full agreed upon rate.

Although I understand the Residence Inn needs to recoup for the stay; if they do not follow their customers preferences regarding a health issue why bother asking for them.

We will remember this in the future regarding this hotel chain and this disappointing stay.

That said, the shuttle service is GREAT!

Room Tip: Verify that prefs are followed before staying at a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creechcr8v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding. We had mixed feelings on the property due to the contrast between the hotel and its location. The hotel is surrounded by express ways and is next to a train yard. This hurt our experience in two ways... 1) The NOISE- we thought our room window was open because of how loud the traffic sounds were, but it was actually closed. We got used to it, but the occasional motorcycle was enough to wake us up on the 5th floor. 2) No where to walk- The location of this hotel is not in the best area. At night you have to cross the expressways to get anywhere. The fully gated parking lot with spikes on the fences tell you that perhaps you should stay INSIDE the property or take a cab.

Positives- The hotel is clean and the staff was friendly. The shuttle service was excellent for getting around (which offset the problem with not wanting to walk anywhere). The shuttle will take you anywhere you want to go. The rooms were much larger then we expected. A standard room includes a kitchen, living room area, bedroom, and bathroom (with seperate vanity and shower rooms which is nice for multiple people to get ready). The rooms were the best part of the hotel, clean and big for a decent rate. Everything in the room felt new and modern.

Negatives- Location (mentioned above), parking was tight, bar was a bit small (but nice there was a bar at all). Wall paper in bathroom was peeling somewhat, but i feel that was an isolated issue.

If this hotel was in a more "fesitive" part of town, there would be very little to complain about if anything at all. My wife and I just enjoy being able to leave our hotel and walk to local restaurants or downtown. If you are here for a short stay and just want a decent room for a good rate, then we recommend it. If you want to enjoy the downtown and walk around, I would recommend staying at the Hyatt or Four Seasons. Espeically if you want to see a ball game and hit the bars after.

Room Tip: Try to avoid anything near the express way due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krippelz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
#48 of 123 in Saint Louis
259 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#41 of 123 in Saint Louis
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Galleria
#2 of 2 in Richmond Heights
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown

Address: 525 S Jefferson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63103-3021
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#37 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the difference at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Louis Downtown. As the first and only extended stay hotel in downtown, we combine the conveniences of home with the services of a hotel. Wonderfully different and tastefully designed, you will have the option of choosing accommodations from our three various suite types ~ studio, one, and two-bedroom. With our versatile suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, you will have plenty of space for entertaining or meeting with colleagues; and space to work efficiently and comfortably. Experience the difference at Residence Inn by enjoying all of the complimentary extras we offer; deluxe breakfast buffet, evening social hour, high speed internet access, grocery shopping service, and exercise room. With our convenient downtown location, you will be just minutes away from all of the excitement happening in Downtown St. Louis Riverfront-Arch, St. Louis Cardinals, St. Louis Rams, Washington Avenue, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Residence Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing