We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the museum type”

Saint Louis Art Museum
Ranked #8 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to Art and Free to All. Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the museum type”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

. . . But I really enjoyed this art museum. It has just the right volume and variety. We didn't get too lost like in the Vatican and Louvre.

Helpful?
Thank KandAGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    212
    32
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You need to go there!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Been to St Louis many times over the last 30+ years.
Never pictured STL as an art mecca (prejudiced for sure)(even a snob?).
I try to visit "SLAM" whenever possible and have never been disappointed.
This world class museum is a also a testament to the heart of STL.
An amazing permanent collection and rotating exhibits. All very relevant.
Art historians and novices can all find something to enjoy and learn from.
Either go there with a plan, or go there with a lot of time.
Learn, enjoy, be inspired!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nicely Located and Kept in STL”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Visited this museum with my colleagues as we were invited to an exhibition on French Impressionist works. The place is nice and overlooking the city and has Washington University (one of their campuses) nearby. Their facilities look well-maintained and the people were very friendly. I also learned the statue in front was once part of the symbols that represent STL before the arch which I find is overlooked. It was a relaxing and educational trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Free and Fun”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed walking through this museum. It's free, so that's hard to beat. While we were visiting, they were in the process of setting up their Flowers of the Four Seasons event. It was a real treat to see very impressive flower arrangements juxtaposed with the pieces of art by which they were inspired. Bottom line: If you love art museums (or even just like them), definitely go!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class Art Museum in Forest Park”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The St. Louis Art Museum is located in Forest Park in a simply wonderful building, a classic. While there was a visiting exhibit of French Impressionism on display when we were there, the permanent collections, though on the small side, is very impressive including works by Picasso, Rodin, Monet, and many, many others. On a very hot afternoon in St. Louis, the Art Museum was a welcomed oasis.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank syrdavid923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing