We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Visit”

Saint Louis Art Museum
Ranked #7 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to Art and Free to All. Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

While staying at the Grand Center Inn, we decided to visit St. Louis Art Museum. This was a great experience and when in the area again, we will certainly visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    212
    33
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A remarkable collection”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We saw the regular museum and the special exhibit. Both very good. The collection is quite varied and the modern art is marvelous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsyknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Free, yes free, and a very comprehensive collection. Not much depth, but complete in period and style. And free.... city museums everywhere, take notice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mafac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. VA
Level Contributor
537 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We attended the museum for special ceremony that was held there, and decided to go thru the exhibits when we were finished. It was very nice! The collections and exhibits were extensive, and well organized. I was both surprised and impressed. I'd highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank mlowder500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“St Louis Gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Art Museum has a great collection and is a very comfortable place for even those who don't think they like art. They display it very well and it's free with exception of the special exhibits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Churls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing