We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Impressionism Exhibit”

Saint Louis Art Museum
Ranked #8 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to Art and Free to All. Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Impressionism Exhibit”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was able to attend the last day of the Impressionism Exhibit at the St. Louis Art Museum. The exhibit was actually extended due to popularity. This exhibit was fantastic because it did not totally focus on traditional artists such as Monet, Manet and Renoir. The collection went beyond the traditional including not only impressionist paintings, but also photographs. The exhibit was well laid-out and allowed for plenty of viewing room.
We had timed tickets but because we had lunch in the museum restaurant they allowed us to enter a half hour after our time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    217
    35
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st louis mo
Level Contributor
356 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Top notch collection PLUS it's FREE!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We never get tired of visiting the St. Louis Art Museum! There's always something new each time we visit. I think maybe you'd not see it all even if you visited 3 days in a row. One of our favorites has always been the Egyptian mummies. Kind of creepy but it's probably the only place we'll be able to see an authentic mummy. Another favorite is the collection of photography.

Don't forget to visit the gift shop! The prices are surprisingly reasonable :-)

Admission is always FREE!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shellakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I visited the museum on Friday, July 11, 2014 for the Expressionism exhibition but wound up spending the entire day exploring the wonderful collections! Nice permanent collections of 19th century European art and although modern expressionism and pop art aren't my favorites, I greatly enjoyed viewing those as well. There also is a wonderful cafe and gift shop on the lower level. I will return!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

While staying at the Grand Center Inn, we decided to visit St. Louis Art Museum. This was a great experience and when in the area again, we will certainly visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A remarkable collection”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We saw the regular museum and the special exhibit. Both very good. The collection is quite varied and the modern art is marvelous.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsyknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing