We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better then expected”

Saint Louis Art Museum
Ranked #8 of 254 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated to Art and Free to All. Located in beautiful, historic Forest Park, the Saint Louis Art Museum hosts a world-class collection of art works and artifacts in one of the most impressive buildings in the city. The Museum recently completed a major expansion project, adding 21 new galleries for both collection and temporary exhibitions. Admission to the Museum is free every day, and admission to special exhibitions is free on Fridays.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
386 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Much better then expected”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

after visiting STL Zoo we walked in the park and decided to visit Art Museum. We did not regret it. Buildings housing the museum are spacious and well design. Place id full of light. There are really nice pieces in the collection. We liked the most American Art.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    212
    32
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice selection of art and history ”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This art museum is beautifully designed. It's elegant looking, has amazing architecture and overlooks a stunning set of fountains downhill! On the inside it has a good selection of art and artifacts from a variety of art periods. My only criticism is that the displays are rather randomly scattered about and didn't seem to flow by dates.. But it was free and had a great selection, so
It's worth the visit!

Helpful?
Thank B9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
320 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Spending Some Time at this Free Museum!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We decided to spend part of an afternoon at the St. Louis Art Museum after taking the Trolley Tour earlier in the day and learning that it was a FREE attraction. We also needed to find something to do indoors on this very hot day for some AC! They had a nice collection of art. We did not have a whole lot of time as it was after 3:00 when we arrived, and they close at 5:00. This was a very large museum, and the building itself is pretty cool. You really can't go wrong with a free attraction! There are LOTS of security guards here, and in some rooms there would be 3 or more guards. We sometimes felt uncomfortable because of that. At one point, I was moving my camera from one pocket to another, and a guard yelled at me that taking pictures was prohibited. He was not kind about it, either. I didn't even have the camera on, though, so I felt kind of offended. We are not really into art, but we appreciated the wonderful works on display. I would recommend this as a way to spend all or part of a day. There is a café available in the lower level as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The St. Louis Art Museum is both gorgeous and free. The building is one of the few remaining from the 1904 World's Fair and houses many famous pieces of work. For being a free attraction, it sure gives you a lot to see and enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BelltownBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Astoundingly, this is free!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good medium sized collection in recently remodeled and expanded building on the site of the 1904 World's Fair. It is free, which is a rarity. Go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Louis Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Saint Louis Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing