We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chili Mac's Diner

Chili Mac's Diner
Ranked #97 of 2,875 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Great place for breakfast, my French toast we delicious, my husbands eggs with chile we awesome. Need to come back and try Spaghettis with eggs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S0CALGIRL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

His family run business is amazing. We went for breakfast two days in a row. You have to get there before 1030am to have a chance at scoring the best French toast ever! Very friendly staff, care about service nature diner experience right downtown. Go!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WindsorON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chili on Eggs?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We ate here 9/13/2013

The menu has a section giving definitions of diner speak and the cost. The best one is "The Attitude" is FREE!

We can't think of a more appropriate comment abou the restaurant.

We were in St. Louis for business and there was a Joyce Meyers conference too. The place was packed and the staff was moving folks in/out as quickly as possible.

We had:
Chili Over Eggs - EXCELLENT
Biscuit & Gravy - avoid at all costs
Eggs Over Easy w/ Sausage - GOOD sausage, OK eggs
Short Stack w/ Bacon - OK short stack (I prefer mine a bit more golden brown), OK bacon (it was too thin)
Coffee - nothing to write home about

Three of us at for less than $25 which isn't too bad.

Overall I'd say it was a very good LOCAL place to have breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Chili Mac's feels like somewhere you've been before, like a diner you've seen in a movie. Three sisters were running the place, food came quickly and the prices were great. Would definitely go back and be a little more adventurous with the menu choices, but the French Toast was wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A blast from the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Visiting St Louis went to Chili Mac's for breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed food and atmosphere. The cook and the waitress (maybe sisters?) shouted orders and confirmations back and forth. Only the two of them plus one busboy so service was a little slow but the colorful setting made up for it. Biscuits and gravy were great, as were ham and eggs and pancakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chili Mac's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Chili Mac's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing