We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Bad Hotel But The Area Is Miserable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not A Bad Hotel But The Area Is Miserable”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was probably above average in its own right, but the shopping area (an enclosed mall) in which it's situated is downright scary at night. If you stay here go directly to and from your room and eat room service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the kind words about our amazing hotel! I wanted to share with readers the reason behind the vacant retail spaces. As we design the future look of this space it is wiser to not fill it with a new tenant. Our renovations of the attached mall of Union Station will begin in 2015. Please know that although it is strange to see a space like this so quiet at night, it is safe with excellent security teams and surveillance and after 10pm only hotel guests with their key cards may enter into the space.

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    830
    382
    187
    100
See reviews for
847
690
113
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I had really high hopes for this hotel. The grand lobby is just beautiful, and the ambiance of the restaurant (complete with evening light shows, some that lasted for nearly twenty minutes) was stunning. Unfortunately, my experience with my room left much to be desired. You always take a chance when booking on Priceline, but I was disappointed that I received a room with 2 queen beds instead of 1 king, but that can't be helped. They gave me a 1st floor room, hot and moist next to the pool area. The room itself was average - nothing at all interesting about it. I take that back. The room had two corded telephones - one on the desk, and another in the bathroom. I believe these relics belong in 1995, not a 4 diamond hotel. The lamp shades were dirty and broken, and the shower still had hair from the previous guest. I had to pay a premium to stay here because of the lack of rooms in St. Louis this particular weekend, but I would have expected a little better from this place. I most likely will not return here to stay, but stopping in for a drink at the hotel restaurant would be a definite possibility.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review and your lovely notes about the positives of our property. I think what is most important for me to address is your first floor room--the black eye of your stay. Our guestroom renovation began on our top floor, working down through the building. With only the last two floors left to complete you did see the worst we have to offer. These are the rooms that are last to be used, last to be assigned, and typically what is available for those discount, wholesale sites to sell on our behalf. Most hotels keep this type of thing I secret, but I feel it's important to be honest. I am so sorry that this was all we had left to sell this busy weekend. If you were to book through Hilton.com I know your experience would be as positively memorable as your first impressions. Please don't rule us out--I know you'll enjoy your next stay.

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on May 30th and I highly recommend staying here the staff was so nice and the hotel was so beautiful. The beds are the softest bed I have ever slept in, I had the best night sleep. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place was a pleasure to stay in. The help was very nice. The check in and check out process was very smooth. We ate each morning in the restaurant. the food was great!! They have a little everything for the picky eaters.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! As readers can see our past months of renovations have tested our wonderful Associates, but with so many improvements now complete the staff can begin to truly shine again in their new environment. We all look forward to your return and wish you a very happy summer.

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Came in for a wedding, called day before and was told we could have early check in at 1000. Upon arrival 10:15-1030, was told room wasn't ready it would be ~45 minutes someone was in there cleaning now. Came back 45 min. later, room not ready, told to go ahead and go to rib fest and upon return room would be ready. Came back 3-3.5 hrs later room was STILL not ready. Friends arrived 30 min. before we arrived 3-3.5 hrs later and room was available. Told our rooms were all together, they were not even close.Told $50. would be taken off room charge, bill came next morning, not taken off had to make special trip down to get bill fixed.Told there would be staycation coupon coming in a couple days, it was mailed. No staycation coupon 1 week later. Poor, poor service .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank HappyV1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us; there are very concerning items here that I'd like to personally follow-up on. I imagine at this point you have received your certificate; I will speak to my administrative team to see if there's a way to expedite this process moving forward. Without knowing more about you and the room you reserved I cannot, with integrity, explain what happened with the readiness of your room. However, for readers I can share that our property is extremely unique and we have over a dozen "types" of rooms that we have only 5 or fewer of. When these rooms are reserved we are at the mercy of the prior guests and when they chose to leave. Not to brag, but it's hard to leave such a beautiful place on time. What concerns me the most is what was said to you at the Front Desk. If our staff is confident enough to quote a time then we must deliver on it. I will be reviewing your experience with our Front Office team and develop new ways to accommodate check-in requests prior to 3pm, our check-in time.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback,
Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I reserved a Superior King Executive level, arrived at 5:00 pm and were sent to A Queen room. We called the desk immediately and were promised a bellman with keys to the correct room. He never came. We returned to the desk and were told that the King rooms had been oversold and we would have to accept a Queen. We had purchased the event package to see a concert and have a romantic evening. By the time we finally settled into our room with two Queen beds we were running late for the show and didn't get a meal beforehand. While the grand lobby of this Hotel is indeed Grand, the practice of overselling is unacceptable and I will not return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and please let me apologize for starting your special evening out in such a poor way. It is not our "goal" or "practice" to oversell a particular room type--please know this. However, what many people don't know is just how complicated balancing 539 guestrooms can be when we offer over 22 different types of them. I do not wish to make any excuses; we clearly did not deliver on what we said we could and for that you should be compensated. I cannot contact you directly, but I ask that you contact me so I can properly apologize for our balancing oversight. As a service provider, and creator of memories it is our goal to create an experience that not only brings you back but your family and friends. With this as our strategy I assure you we weigh your satisfaction greater than anything else. I hope to hear from you. jessmyer@stlunionstationhotel.com

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location, historic hotel, and it is very nice. It is having some remodel work completed. I liked the fact that the Metrolink is really close so you can travel around the city easily. The laser show on the Union Hall ceiling was awesome. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,465 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing