We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for personal; iffy for conference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #21 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for personal; iffy for conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff at this hotel are kind and helpful. The train station location is magical, especially the lobby, but the whole thing had a great vibe for me. I was there for a business conference, however, and while the staff was ready to remedy any problems, we did have several issues. The conference plan was not followed, so when we arrived in the morning, it was always a scramble to get the room set up correctly. At one point, our meeting was interrupted with a phone call from the operator asking whether we were a certain group (we were not). If they really needed to ask someone in our conference room who we were, it seems like they could have sent a staff member to our room instead of interrupting the meeting with a phone call. The food was lovely, though the staff did not seem to have been briefed about how to match the special plates (e.g., gluten-free, vegetarian, etc) with the special meal cards. And, we had an important package of documents that remained MIA until a member of our conference did some tenacious detective work. It had been sitting in an office behind the front desk. All in all, I would definitely return for pleasure but would not recommend holding a conference there. I would wait, though, until the construction is complete. Despite assurances to the contrary, it was quite loud and disruptive, though not during sleeping hours.

Room Tip: There is a strange layout based on the location in a past train station. Ask to see a floor plan if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryGirl1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm thankful for the complimentary mentions of our staff and facility, but the notes about the service execution are quite troubling! Being referred to as a "well-oiled machine" is much more common when discussing the catering, event teams. I will be doing extensive follow-up to identify what was not done that allowed so much to be missed. I am terribly sorry you did not get our best work; you clearly did not get our best work. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention.

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    779
    357
    170
    91
See reviews for
783
634
105
999
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is our summer of traveling the US, so we've had a chance to see and stay in some of Hilton's historic old hotels. As a train fan, I always try to see the old train stations in whatever city we're in. I have to say that the restored St Louis Union Station is the most impressive piece of pure art-as-architecture I've seen in a train station. The restored main hall is something I'd expect to see in France, not St Louis. It beats Chicago, LA, Cincinnati, Washington DC (close call there, but, yes it's more elaborate) and a host of smaller city stations. We had a great time sitting at the bar in the main hall, amidst cheering Belmont Fans, and unexpectedly next to other denizens of the Bluegrass, having Oysters Rockefeller (what else does one have watching the Belmont?) and sipping craft beer from St. Louis. And, of course, there is the 'floor show' which is really a 'ceiling show' projected onto the ornate ceiling of the main hall, several times during the evening. Charming. It has the feel of a full-on Hilton, despite its designation as a Double Tree. If you like grand old hotels, this one is a keeper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback...and WHAT a wonderful review to read this morning!! Once we finished our Grand Hall renovation we said to ourselves, "This may be the most beautiful lobby in North America"...reviews like yours help give perspective that this is not just a "gem" of St. Louis, but something the nation can be proud of. Thank you SO much and enjoy the rest of your traveling vacation!

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Literally everything I want in a hotel. Great and courteous service, clean room and facilities, comfortable bed, quiet quarters, and great breakfast. If you attend this hotel I suggest having some fun with the whisper tunnel as soon as you walk into the lobby, a very neat architectural mishap (or so they say). I will never stay at another hotel in St. Louis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for a GREAT review!! With so much of our renovations completed our staff is truly able to shine and show-off (what could be) the most beautiful property in St. Louis!! We will look forward to your next visit to the Station--have a GREAT summer!

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff are what really make the experience at this hotel. They are wonderful and welcoming. The hotel is currently under some renovations so getting around was a little tricky but not problematic. We stayed in one of the rooms that had yet to be renovated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We actually had a great experience at the Doubletree Union Station over Memorial Day weekend. I was a wee bit nervous because we booked using a 'hidden hotel' deal, and then the reviews I read weren't entirely favourable. Fortunately though we were extremely happy at this hotel. Sure, the hotel itself isn't exactly downtown St Louis, but it's proximity to the Metrolink is huge plus. (the Metrolink itself is easy to use and very convenient). The hotel is a spectacular building, housed inside the old Union Station itself. Whilst this does create some accessibility issues, this didn't pose any huge problems to us. We chose to do valet parking, which wasn't much more expensive than self parking. We had a warm greeting from Randy the doorman, and lots of help from Dwight with our luggage. We have a 11 month old son so we were carrying a huge number of bags! Our room was probably as far from reception as you could get but it was large, quiet and furnished appropriately. We had room service both nights, and whilst the fees do make this an expensive option, it was decent and perfect for our needs. We didn't use any other facilities, although we were keen to try the outdoor pool. The weather wasn't on our side but maybe next time. We would definitely stay here again, and I have to admit, I did enjoy that cookie!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FEMD0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City,IN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are here to celebrate our sons wedding day. From the time we arrived and valet our car ,our door man took care of our luggage, and before you know it we were in our clean room. Rooms were great,staff very accomodating,food was deliteful, will rate this a perfect 10. Would stay again when in St Louis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tamera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

There was so much to do and to see within the same venue of the hotel. Shopping, museum, paddle boats, the little lake, swimming pool, etc. All personnel were cordial, polite, and helpful. The light show at night was fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing