We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful staff and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #21 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Delightful staff and stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Upon pulling off of the highway, we stopped in front of what we thought to be the main entrance to the hotel (archway) only to find the doors locked. Another guest had made the same mistake and politely told me that we needed to walk up the street to the "flags." If there was a posted sign, I missed it.

With that said, difficulty finding the main entrance was by far the worst experience I had during my stay at the hotel. My interactions with each member of the hotel staff grew increasingly delightful. Even though I parked my own car, the parking valets got me going in the right direction to the front desk (2nd floor). The check in staff was kind and playful without any pompous attitude that I have found at similar priced hotels during recent business trips to New Orleans and Lincoln, NE.

The hotel also presents a bit of St Louis history in the form of an awe inspiring light show eight times every evening on the ceiling of the ballroom. Each member of my family, ages 13 to 50, found the 5 minute show entertaining and when the lights came on, admiring the beautiful cathedral ceiling of the ballroom. We wondered aloud to one another about the many passengers who had passed through the station and ballroom during the earlier part of the 20h century.

As my teenagers heads are normally buried in their electronic devices, I was appreciative of the moment.

Recently remodeled, we found our room to be very clean and inviting. The color palette and lighting were very eye appeasing and the historical decor very fitting. The beds were extremely comfortable and, despite the signage that there was construction going on in the hotel, our sleep was quiet and restful. The next morning, we dined in the restaurant where James, our waiter, took great care to ensure we didn't go away hungry and entertained us with his quick wit.

All-in-all, our stay at the Union Station Doubletree Hotel was quite delightful and I would recommended it to business travelers and families alike.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    798
    363
    176
    93
See reviews for
801
655
109
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 8/5 - 8/7. THe staff was very helpful and friendly. The only issue was at 3:00 our room was still not ready. They did put us in another room but the view was not very nice. We had upgraded for a courtyard view. I also had to request that the upgrade charge be removed from the bill. Otherwise a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 503laurieannf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was there for 4 nights and my room got cleaned once...Staff was very friendly, but just didn't do their jobs! Major reconstruction also underway...hammering starting at 8:00 AM every morning... Frint desk staff was very accomodating and everyone was friendly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank stevenp292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am terribly sorry that renovation was loud during your visit. Each week has been different; sometimes they are quietly laying carpet, and other days they are creating new suites! I do certainly appreciate your patience and I assure you that, in the end, you'll feel the pain was worth the improvement! I also want to apologize for the disconnect and misunderstanding regarding your guestroom service. We have received this same "type" of feedback many different ways and we've realized that it's communication between our guests and our Room Attendants. We've begun asking our Attendants to smile and have guests sign their work assignment next to the words "no service". We're finding that guests are realizing what their words mean to the staff and these interactions are now becoming so much clearer for both. Better monitoring of Do Not Disturb signs, or more specifically when the signs come off the doors is helping ensure Attendants go back to rooms that earlier did not wish for service. These simple changes to our focus have drastically reduced this feedback; thank you for being part of the solution and we do hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My 1-night stay was wonderful. Room was excellent, and the hotel itself - the lobby area, light show, music, bar - were breathtaking. Just beautiful. I get to stay at many ordinarily nice hotels - this was an outstanding exception.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What an AMAZING Hotel! It is rare that I go on vacation and the hotel itself is an experience - absolutely beautiful! I travel frequently for business, so I am familiar with good and bad hotels, but this was a family vacation with my 3 children. Our room was a 2 queen overlooking the courtyard. My children enjoyed the light show, the breakfast was great, service all around was great...I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL to anyone traveling to St Louis and looking to stay downtown. I would pay to park in the lot and not necessarily pay for valet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I traveled to St. Louis with a friend to take in a couple of Cardinal baseball games and we chose the Doubletree Union Station because of price and location. I can't say enough about the friendly service and the accommodations of this hotel located in the historic old Union Station. The hotel is currently undergoing a major renovation which caused only minor inconveniences that were made known even prior to our arrival.
We requested and were given newly renovated rooms on the 4th floor. My room was beautifully done, clean and comfortable with a great bed. My friend reported the same experience with his room.
The only meals we had in the hotel restaurant were breakfast. The buffet was delicious and included made to order omelets and all the other breakfast items you would normally expect.
Valet and bell service was prompt and courteous.
The only negatives were the complicated maze of corridors leading to the rooms in witch we made several wrong turns trying to find our rooms (somewhat our fault for not paying attention to the posted wall signs). In addition they were obviously having problems with the well advertised light show that takes place in the beautiful ornate old restored grand hall every evening. The show was disjointed and obviously not complete. Even during the day there were sudden loud blasts of sound from what appeared to be an attempt to fix the light show problems. Even with these minimal distractions this was a delightful place that will only improve as the renovation moves to completion. I will definitely make this my St. Louis lodging destination in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwtilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Union Station is amazing. The light shows in the main room are a blast and the food is excellent. It was a rainy couple days but there is plenty to do and see right in the station. Great bed and wonderful staff. I had a blast here and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenWeisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing