We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older historic awesome place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Older historic awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is built around the former train station. The valet and bellman were very helpful and the registration desk person was so friendly. Two warm delicious cookies were presented when we checked in. Our room was very clean and a bit small. We enjoyed the shopping mall attached to the hotel- some empty stores- but a nice food court. The hotel presents a wonderful sound and light show on the beautiful dome over the lobby/bar area (the former train station waiting room). The only negative was the telephone call buttons in our room - calls to the bellman, front desk went no where! They need to update the system! Really a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannymaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    831
    383
    187
    100
See reviews for
851
691
113
1,063
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adams Friendship, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel is beautiful but they are under construction and need to get a lot of that finished before putting people in rooms next to it. Lots of miscommunication between departments. Room Service and House keeping needs to get on board about up holding the standards of the hotel.. The lobby light show is spectacular to watch and is a must see.... The food in the hotel was very good. Just a lot of hic-ups with the rooms and the construction that was going on. Disappointed in that and the way it was being handled!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremiah E, General Manager at St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review; we certainly appreciate your feedback and the kind words about our new Grand Hall experience and our amazing culinary team! Although some weeks of renovation are more challenging than others I'm curious as to what happened during your visit; no specifics mentioned for me to follow-up on. If you care to, my email is jessmyer@stlunionstationhotel.com and I'd love to hear your story. With so many recent hires (getting geared up for a busy fall/winter) It may not have been renovation, but perhaps just a training opportunity that created a disconnect for you. I hope to hear from you and see you again after our work is completed!

Warmest regards,
Jeremiah Essmyer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

You wouldn't expect a historic hotel to feature start of the art multi-million dollar light show displayed on the massive ceiling of their grand lobby. This is just one of the incredible renovations they've made to this property.

I've stayed here a couple times on business to attend a conference. Once late last year. Once this summer. The difference was night and day.

- First, I'll tell you the staff is friendly and helpful. Both trips. Top notch. And as standard with Double Tree, you're greeted with a warm cookie upon check in.

- The new bar area is open, spacious, and very trendy. (Being a business networking trip we spent some time at the bar. The bartenders were very friendly and they had a very wide selection.)

- You can tell it is a historic hotel, but you do not see it's age in the main areas. Some of the rooms were dated.

- Both visits my room was located on concierge level. Good sized room. Well appointed. But very different from what I saw in the other areas of the hotel when I met my business partner at his room. (On our first trip he later switched to the concierge level.) I believe they are in the process of continuing to renovate.

- It's attached to a mall. An old mall. A few independent shops and a food court. Nothing amazing. If you're tired of hotel food you have options in walking distance, and you don't have to venture outside. (Especially good in St. Louis winters.)

- There's a 3-d light show every hour after the sun goes down. They have different programs displayed on the ceiling of the grand room. Pretty cool to watch.


- The fitness center is above average. I didn't get a chance to use the pool.

- Outside of the small is a planet hollywood and an Landry's Seafood. eh. Both meals were underwhelming

- There's also a local Irish Pub just outside of the hotel that was really good!

Because of work I'll be at this hotel several more times over the next year or so. Overall I look forward to staying again and see the continued improvements.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFromJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Landed this Hotel on Priceline and was not disappointed. Staff was amazing from Colin at front desk to manager in the Bar area. All very very helpful and the light show on the celing was amazing and at no cost! Check was fast and took Metra-Link to ballpark which was fast and easy. Had 4 children in our party and they too were impressed by this hotel and the fact it was historic and on the mend. This place has changed hands over the years but appears it is on the rise and with more shopping and traffic, hope to see this back to the good ole days for Saint Louis. Stopped and Soulard Market on way out of town and that is a must as well. Thank you Union Station and Double Tree. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Since this hotel is based out of the old train station, the lobby/entrance/main lounge is extremely beautiful and even worth visiting if you choose to stay at another hotel. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious. I stayed with family in the new/remodeled part of the hotel and was very pleased. I did request to stay on the historic side, but they said they didn't have any rooms with 2 beds available. However, I'm not sure I could've liked the historic side any better than the new side. They was construction taking place, but it was not noticeable and they only worked during normal business hours, so sleeping was no trouble. I wish I had more time to explore the hotel/are because it's large and in the perfect location downtown. The large parking lot across the street was also a huge help. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Laine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This place is in a great location close to Saint Louis downtown and midtown. The staff were very nice as was the room and the bed. Additional renovations are underway to better use the space that used to be part of a n active shopping mall but I think it will be just beautiful! Yeah for the fudge shop too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We spent our 35th anniversary in St. Louis, staying at the Union Station Hotel. What a beautiful experience. The property is just beautiful and the staff could not have been better. They made a point to know our name, extend every possible courtesy and made a visit wonderful. The food was great as well.

Thank you for a very memorable trip. We hope to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,466 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#4 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,343 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1820 Market Street, One St. Louis Union Station, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2274 (Formerly St. Louis Union Station Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#47 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Union Station Hotel in St. Louis, MO, is in the center of St. Louis and within walking distance to Scottrade Center, Peabody Opera House, MetroLink and within minutes from Busch Stadium, Gateway Arch, Edward Jones Dome, America's Convention Center, and City Museum. The hotel is only 20 minutes from Lambert International Airport and has direct MetroLink access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Louis Union Station Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Louis Union Station Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Marriott Saint Louis
Marriott Hotel Saint Louis
Hyatt Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing