We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic room, poor service and cockroaches!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Ranked #56 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Tulsa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic room, poor service and cockroaches!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed there last night. The room was decent and the bed was comfortable. The elevator does make noise when it opens and closes. We were woken up around 430am when we saw a cockroach crawling on a wall by the bed. It was quite a huge roach. We got ready as soon as we could. I informed the front lady about the incident and requested a call from management. I haven't heard from them as of this evening. This is obviously disappointing considering that my wife and I love the Courtyard brand. If you are looking for a nice hotel downtown, there are plenty others that I will choose in the future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank guyscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    81
    46
    17
    7
See reviews for
65
47
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a free night and we were in town for a Cubs/Cards game. The lobby is nicely updated but once you get to your room, it is sadly needing a remodel. The a/c unit is noisy and the management must control the thermostat in the middle of the night because it got very hot in the room. Pillows were bad--my husband and I tossed ad turned all night. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. Parking is free but it is not really close to walk anywher. Cab to downtown is $10 each way. While the bistro breakfast sounds delicious, it is microwaved egg sandwiches. Why spend $8 for a breakfast sandwich you can get at Subway or McDonalds for 3 bucks?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey_Goose_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Went to St Louis for a James Taylor concert July 19, 2012. Stayed at this hotel. Room was comfortable. Internet access did not work entire time we were there, 3 days! Had to find a McDonalds to use ipad! Requested drinking glasses that room cleaning person failed to change out, never delivered. Elevator made a horrible rumbling sound every time we used it. On the positive side. Close to many attractions, free parking and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsatraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great location. Lobby and restaurant were good. Nice courtyard area to sit outside. Rooms need to be updated to marriott's standards. Showing some wear. Staff friendliness made up for shortcomings in room updates.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Large room, really nice quality hotel. The room was updated, very nice and large. We were hoping to be a little closer to the Arch, but it ended up that we drove anyway. The breakfast is not free and it is actually kind of pricey. There is a cafe in the lobby that is really nice and has plenty of options. A couple of kids had cereal, one had a BLT breakfast sandwich, I had tea. They serve Tazo tea and Starbuck's coffee. I consider this an upscale hotel and it presents as such. Free parking, good location, great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omahajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights on the way from Chicago IL to Springfield MO. I won't say that the hotel is in downtown but considering that you need a car to go to anywhere then it doesn't matter. Union Station is only 5 blocks but nothing to see there as many shops were out of business. Rooms and lobby are just standard Courtyard Marriott but was disappointed with the front desk staffs, guess they missed the hospitality class during training :(

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard on our trip to the NCAA wrestling tournament. Being only a 15 minute walk from the Scottrade Center, it was an excellent location. The hotel is nothing extravagant, but the rooms are clean and tidy. They have a small workout facility and a nice pool / hot tub which would make it a good location for families with children. They also have a solid Cafe in the lobby, that serves breakfast (average) and snacks / food / drinks in the evening. If we came back and needed a place near the Scottrade Center, we'd consider this an option in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Courtyard St Louis Downtown West, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. Our staff takes pride in giving great service and this makes their efforts worth it. This is the second time we have had NCAA Wrestling fans in the hotel and we hope St. Louis continues to bid and host these wrestling events in the future. The fans are very courteous towards our staff as well as other guests so it makes for an enjoyable weekend for all. Thanks again and we hope to see you down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#33 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St Louis Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Property: Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Address: 2340 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2517 (Formerly Courtyard St. Louis Downtown)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St Louis Downtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard St Louis Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Marriott
Saint Louis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing