We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice update Lobby, deceptive when it comes to the room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Ranked #48 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The staff was helpful, with directions and places to go. However, most of the time when I went to the lobby no-one was at the front desk, and I had to wait a few minutes. Not sure if they had a system in place that could see a customer waiting, it just felt strange. I prefer a nice room vs a lobby because thats where I spend most of my time when I'm not out. The towels were so hard and old I started to go to Wal-mart to buy some. The room did not have a clean smell that I would expect from a Marriott hotel. The elevator was noisy, seem like some repairs are needed. I liked the GPS system in the lobby on the wall and the location is good. I was too scared to take a bath so I took a shower because you can tell that housekeeping just do the minimum. The worse experience was my towels had old blood stains on them. I would have rated this hotel higher if it wasn't for the towels, musty smelling room and housekeeping knocking on my door at 9 o'clock to clean the room. I would like to point out I met an employer who said he loves his job and that the employees and employer are good people to work for! I hope they do some updates to the rooms, get some new towels and I might give them another chance if I get a good rate.

I

Room Tip: Higher floor usually have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldup12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed there last night. The room was decent and the bed was comfortable. The elevator does make noise when it opens and closes. We were woken up around 430am when we saw a cockroach crawling on a wall by the bed. It was quite a huge roach. We got ready as soon as we could. I informed the front lady about the incident and requested a call from management. I haven't heard from them as of this evening. This is obviously disappointing considering that my wife and I love the Courtyard brand. If you are looking for a nice hotel downtown, there are plenty others that I will choose in the future.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank guyscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a free night and we were in town for a Cubs/Cards game. The lobby is nicely updated but once you get to your room, it is sadly needing a remodel. The a/c unit is noisy and the management must control the thermostat in the middle of the night because it got very hot in the room. Pillows were bad--my husband and I tossed ad turned all night. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. Parking is free but it is not really close to walk anywher. Cab to downtown is $10 each way. While the bistro breakfast sounds delicious, it is microwaved egg sandwiches. Why spend $8 for a breakfast sandwich you can get at Subway or McDonalds for 3 bucks?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grey_Goose_Up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Went to St Louis for a James Taylor concert July 19, 2012. Stayed at this hotel. Room was comfortable. Internet access did not work entire time we were there, 3 days! Had to find a McDonalds to use ipad! Requested drinking glasses that room cleaning person failed to change out, never delivered. Elevator made a horrible rumbling sound every time we used it. On the positive side. Close to many attractions, free parking and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulsatraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great location. Lobby and restaurant were good. Nice courtyard area to sit outside. Rooms need to be updated to marriott's standards. Showing some wear. Staff friendliness made up for shortcomings in room updates.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Large room, really nice quality hotel. The room was updated, very nice and large. We were hoping to be a little closer to the Arch, but it ended up that we drove anyway. The breakfast is not free and it is actually kind of pricey. There is a cafe in the lobby that is really nice and has plenty of options. A couple of kids had cereal, one had a BLT breakfast sandwich, I had tea. They serve Tazo tea and Starbuck's coffee. I consider this an upscale hotel and it presents as such. Free parking, good location, great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omahajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights on the way from Chicago IL to Springfield MO. I won't say that the hotel is in downtown but considering that you need a car to go to anywhere then it doesn't matter. Union Station is only 5 blocks but nothing to see there as many shops were out of business. Rooms and lobby are just standard Courtyard Marriott but was disappointed with the front desk staffs, guess they missed the hospitality class during training :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSusilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#42 of 124 in Saint Louis
438 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. Louis Downtown/Convention Center
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#41 of 124 in Saint Louis
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard St Louis Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard St Louis Downtown West

Address: 2340 Market St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2517 (Formerly Courtyard St. Louis Downtown)
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: £89 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St Louis Downtown West 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard St Louis Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Louis Downtown Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Hotel Saint Louis
Courtyard Saint Louis
Saint Louis Marriott
Saint Louis Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing