We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded my expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Forest Park
Ranked #77 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
1 review
“Far exceeded my expectations!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is a bit dated, but the staff is VERY NICE, and the rooms are large and the beds comfortable. A lot of folks wrote bad stuff about this place but I found it to be a nice place. The staff is wonderful, and it is in a central location very near all St. Louis attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravisYoungGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for the kind words about the staff and the hotel. We have an incredibly hard working staff that does try and make everyone have a great experience at the hotel. It means a lot that and I will make sure that this is shared with the team.

If there is anything else you would like to mention or anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at tyoung@hiforestparkmo.com. Thank you for your time and have a nice day today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    63
    59
    20
    16
See reviews for
67
35
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

for my stay in St. Louis - a spacious comfortable room included a nice HD-TV with a wide selection of channels, a decent-sized refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, iron/board and hi-speed internet that was actually capable of showing streaming video (without paying an additional fee).

The hotel itself provided plenty of free parking, coffee at the front desk, USA Today newspaper, a pool & a small gym. There is a also a sit-down restaurant on the premises. The location seemed very good; a city neighborhood not too far from the downtown area to the east nor from the airport towards the west.

Room Tip: One side faces the highway, the other doesn't, so ask for the non-highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fried003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravisYoungGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your experience with us. I appreciate the kind words about the hotel and the staff. I am glad that you were able to enjoy all the amenities all that the hotel has to offer. Between the fitness center to all the coffee you can drink to the free hi-speed internet, there is a lot to enjoy here. I appreciate the kind words.

If there is anything else you would like to mention or anything I can do for you in the future, please let me know at tyoung@hiforestparkmo.com. Thank you for your time and have a great day today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our second stay at this property on our way through St. Louis. It's location between Forest Park and the Hill and near the botanical garden and I-44 is convenient. We don't pay much attention to the age or architecture of a hotel as long as it is well-maintained, clean and comfortable. This Holiday Inn was all three. WiFi is included and it's fast. We were most impressed with the manager and the diligence with which took care of our needs. He also greeted us as we came and went and even remembered who we were. Lemonade, coffee, water and cookies were available in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravisYoungGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your recent stay. I appreciate the kind words about the staff and the hotel. The staff does put in a lot of effort to make sure everyone is taken care of properly. I am glad you had such a great experience with us.

If there is anything else you would like to mention or anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at tyoung@hiforestparkmo.com. Thank you for your time and have a great day today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

60s vintage architecture with a high rise room section connected to a one story entrance/restaurant/bar area. Results in a long hike (some uphill) to get from the hotel entrance to the elevators. (This same outdated design is repeated in modern Hilton Garden Inns, to the discomfort of guests with luggage.)

Room was average in condition, furnishings and cleanliness. A/C had difficulty keeping up with the afternoon sun on the north side for building. Only hotel I have even stayed in that has two pairs of ear plugs with the complementary shampoo. The hotel is directly adjacent to Interstate 44, which can be noisy. It is a long way from Forest Park.

On the plus side, it is on Wilson Avenue, a direct street into The Hill and all the famous eating Italian eating places. Have a map or GPS...many one way and disconnected streets. Wendy's (it is concealed by the Hardee's when viewing from the hotel) offers quick and cheap alternatives to the restaurant. They have some great salads!

We were locked in by a Priceline purchase (about $95 per day) and ended up staying six days. Otherwise, we would have moved to a different hotel, even at a substantial increase in price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toastmaster2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravisYoungGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I apologize for your overall experience during your stay. The rooms facing the highway can sometimes affect the guest's sleep and have put the ear plugs in the rooms to assist with the guest sleep. We are just over a mile from Forest Park and many people do use us for the short drive or walk up Hampton to enjoy all the park has to offer.

I am sorry that we could not provide the experience you expect from IHG. If there is anything else you would like to mention or anything I can do for you in the future, please let me know at tyoung@hiforestparkmo.com. Thank you for your time and have a great day today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here last week and hope to not have to return.

It was 90 degree's outdoors and the room would not cool below 71 degrees; uncomfortable.

The door wouldn't stayed closed unless you turned the deadbolt, which is impossible if you leave the room.

The interior hallway was very hot and the carpeting is wrinkled and torn and the window coverings were hanging askew. Dirty is a good word.

The location is convenient right off highway 44, so if you're needing an inexpensive place to stay for a Cardinals game, this place could work. I noticed several clientele dressed in rolled up sweat pants and tank tops, which goes along with the overall theme of the hotel and that is, it's "common".

Don't be impressed with the name of the hotel having "Forest Park" in it because it means nothing; it's miles from Forest Park and is actually located in an extremely congested intersection in a low income enclave of South St. Louis City.

For fast food afficionados, there's a Hardees right next door and a Wendys within walking distance. For more upscale diners, there's a restaurant onsite or across the street is a Bartolino's restaurant; located in the Drury Inn.

Room Tip: In the summer, request a room which does not get any direct sun because it will be 82 degrees in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilbere H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravisYoungGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your recent stay. I am sorry for your experience with us and this is not a typical stay with us. I will have our engineer check out both the room issues you mentioned. The a/c normally goes as low as 68 degrees so I will check with him to see what is going on. Both us and the Drury Inn across the street both have Forest Park incorporated in our name as we are one mile from Forest Park. I apologize if you felt as though this was deceiving. Our carpet is being replaced this summer in the hallways and agree that it is much needed. We are actually in an iconic part of St. Louis known as The Hill. We have 40-50 amazing Italian restaurants within a four mile radius of the hotel. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy this as many of our guests rave about these restaurants. The good news is that all of our rooms face north and south so the sun never comes directly in the guest room.

If there is anything else you would like to mention or anything I cna do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at tyoung@hiforestparkmo.com. I do appreciate your time and hope you give us a chance in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Louis hotels

Muskegon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My review is colored by an exceptionally terrifying event experienced by our family. We were awakened by a domestic dispute outside our room after midnight. The foul language and yelling was very disturbing and wasn't responded to in a very quick manner. Following the incident it was difficult to get back to sleep. Calming one of my children down wasn't easy. The room was clean and met our needs. When leaving no one was at the desk, so we weren't asked about our stay. We were prepared to complain, but had to make an appointment later in the day and couldn't wait around for staff to appear!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyWrenReck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravisYoungGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Forest Park, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your resent stay with us. I am sorry for the issue you encountered with the guests next to you. We do have security on overnight and do take it seriously when we are contacted about any incident like this. I am sorry for your experience and sorry that you feel we were not more involved than we were.

If there is anything else you would like to mention or anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me at tyoung@Hiforestparkmo.com. Thank you for your time and have a nice day today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Hill
Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Parkway Hotel
#30 of 121 in Saint Louis
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Forest Park

Property: Holiday Inn Forest Park
Address: 5915 Wilson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Forest Park , The Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Forest Park 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Forest Park now boasts the completion of a multi-million dollar renovation, featuring stylish new guest rooms, flat screen HDTVs, contemporary lobby, and modern restaurant and bar. Explore St. Louis in the center of all the action at the Holiday Inn Forest Park/St. Louis. Ideally located next to Forest Park, St. Louis Zoo, Washington University, Barnes Jewish Hospital, Science Center, History Museum, St. Louis Hill area, and close proximity to The Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Grant’s Farm, Missouri Botanical Gardens, and Six Flags, this convenient hotel in Midtown St. Louis puts you in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Forest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Forest Park Hotel Saint Louis
Forest Park Holiday Inn
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing