We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check in staff rude, bathroom unclean, and the breakfast gross” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Peters
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Check in staff rude, bathroom unclean, and the breakfast gross”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

When we arrived at 4:00pm the sign at the desk stated the clerk was helping a customer and we should dial 0 to let them know we were there. When we called the phone rang in the room directly behind the front desk. We heard the gentleman speak to us from that room and then we waited while we heard he moving around in there more then 5 minutes. When he arrived at the desk he took a call from a guest complaining about their dirty room. He was not helping a customer.

Our bathroom had not been cleaned. Hair all over, toothpaste in the sink, and smeared makeup on the counter.

The breakfast was the worst. The coffee mugs were presented upside down on a tray. The tray had dried coffee covering it. Every cup had a ring of that coffee around the top. Over half the cups had not been washed well since the last use. My husbands cereal bowl had an empty splenda packet stick to the inside. The fruit was old and the oatmeal was pasted.

Room Tip: The hotel gets a great deal of traffic noise. Try for a room far from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
As General Manager, i value our guests and read all guest comments and reviews and do take them seriously. It is obvious that the hotel failed to meet this guest expectations.

I take guest complaints and issues directly to the departments involved and let them know that we did not meet standards and guest expectations. These issues are certainly not up to our standards as recepients of the 2012 Carlson Hotel of the Year Award and the TripAdvisor 2013 Hotel Excellence Award given for hotel meeting and exceeding both Carlson Brand Standards and Guest Expectation.

There are times when the front desk agent is away from the desk instructs the guest to use the phone at the front desk. The guest used the phone to contact the front desk. I was the agent and I was on a call, but did acknowledge their call. I came to the front desk to assist the guest after completing the call. Another phone call came into the hotel and I did answer that call. There was never any intention on my part to be rude or delay the guest waiting to check into the hotel.

The hotel can not address issues if the staff is not advised of them during their stay. There is not any record of calls to the front desk regarding these issues. I will follow up with the housekeeping department as to why the bathroom was not properly cleaned and will talk with the full time breakfast attendant who should have noticed the issues as reported by the guest. .

We want our guests to be completely satisfied. or immediately address any issues that may occur during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    78
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
159
61
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel on February 25 2014. I wanted to compliment the front desk staff, African American lady, I believe her name is Yvonne. She was very kind, patient and understanding. We arrived earlier than check in time and she was able to accommodate us she called to ensure that we settled in okay.
The room was clean with a small microwave and refrigerator in the room. Bathroom was clean. Breakfast was okay - your usual toast,eggs,sausage etc.
The facility is next door to the IHOP and other eateries.
It was quiet no noise AT ALL. Overall good location plus checkout is at 12noon.
I gave it a four because the room was a bit tight.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ola2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are always happy to accomodate early arrivals if possible. I am glad that Yolanda was able to get the guest into their room early. This hotel is a 2012 Carlson Award Winning Hotel and 2013 Hotel Excellence Award winner. These awards are based on the hotel meeting and exceeding corporate and guest standards and expectations as reflected in the reviews. Our best referrals come from our previous guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great experience with this hotel. No complaints about the room, clean and comfortable. Has a pool for the kids. I'd skip breakfast as it appeared to be mostly heat and serve, but there are a few breakfast places right by it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrnebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are always excited to see that a family has a great stay at our hotel. We are a 2012 Carlson Hotel of the Year Award winning hotel and also a 2013 Hotel Excellence Award winning hotel by Tripadvisor. These awards not easily achieved and are based on the hotel exceeding facility, staff and guest expetations and reviews.

Our breakfast menu items are taken from menus provided by our corporate offices. They do feature some items that are frozen and partially cooked, but the breakfast attendent does final menu item preparation on site before placing on the buffet. Many other hotels offering continental breakfast are following the Carlson Hotels Be Our Guest breakfast program featuring serving 3 hot items rotated daily and served on real dishes using real silverwaare..

Our facilities include an indoor pool and hot tub are favorites with families as well as offering free high speed internet , business center and exercise facility at a convenient location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ozark, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Was there for four days with my 3 sons, 2 daughters and there family. Room were clean. service was great. Food was great at breakfasts, changed daily. Most days we took over the dinning area after 9 O clock with as many as 40 to 45 people and was very welcome. The hotel is near a shopping center and many restaurants.great access to hy 70 to every thing down town St Louis.

Room Tip: We all stayed on the 3ed Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
As General Manager, I am always excited to get reviews from guests and even more excited when the hotel is mentioned as playing a part of a successful family event. They had several rooms booked in the hotel. Staff and guests worked with each other to make the event happen after hours in the breakfast room.. The group was wonderful and even cleaned and returned the breakfast room to its orignai settings after their functions.

As a 2012 Carlson Hotel of the Year Award winner and 2013 Hotel Excellence Award winner we met and exceeded guest and corporate expectations and positive guest reviews.

Our best referrals come from our previous guests.. We welcome back families and small groups and pledge to do our part to make their events a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had our family reunion here the week of Christmas (2013), and it could not have been a better experience. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The rooms/bathrooms are clean. The breakfast buffet was great. The location was great as far as nearby stores & restaurants. If you need to stay in St. Charles/Peters, Mo - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Still_Coughing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are always pleased when our facility and staff meets and exceeds guest expectations.
This hotel is a 2012 Carlson Hotel of Year award winner and 2013 Hotel Excellence award winner from Trip Advisor. These awards are given based upon meeting and exceeding our corporate and guest expectations as revealed on guest surveys. This is because the staff goes above and beyond to satisfy gueet requests and special needs.

Our hotel is convenient to the largest shopping mall in St Charles County and there are several national and local restaurants in the area. We are also 25 miles away from the St Louis Gateway Arch and downtown St Louis.

We openly welcome small groups and families and can provide our breakfast room for their use after breakfast is closed when there is a registered guest from the group and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were in town for a Christmas gift exchange. We could not have picked a more wonderful hotel to host our family. The staff was excellent, the rental of the breakfast room was the perfect place for our family to get together. Plenty of room for the grandkids to run around, big screen tv for the guys to watch the game, tables and chairs and counter space, very clean and comfortable. The suite we rented was just as perfect, bed was super comfy, nice and clean and very quiet.

Room Tip: I probably would not choose the room that was directly above the stair well, I would think that one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breezey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are always pleased when our facility and staff meets and exceeds guest expectations. This hotel is a 2011 Carlson Hotel of Year award winner and 2013 Hotel Excellence award winner from Trip Advisor. These awards are given based upon meeting and exceeding our corporate and guest expectations as revealed on guest surveys. This is because the staff goes above and beyond to satisfy gueet requests and special needs.

Unfortunately, some rooms must be located near stariwells and we experienced high occupancy levels so we could not move them to another room away from the stairs. I am glad that the room and breakfast room allowed them to have their family Christmas functions.

Our best guests come from our previous guest referrals and we hope they have a good experience and will return on their next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel had very accomodating staff and a clean, comfortable atmosphere. We arrived in an ice storm and staff promptly laid down ice melt to protect from mishaps. Our room was clean, comfortable. We had a quiet and refreshing sleep and were greeted nicely by the desk clerk on our way to the hot breakfast. Breakfast was disappointing. The eggs and bacon had little taste; the bread looked stale and the fruit was canned. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank aktrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryJacobs, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We take all guest commenst seriously.

Our breakfast menu items are taken from a list of menu items provided by our corporate offices. We purchase these items from the corporate approved vendor who has been selected after meeting strict quality standards. The Be Our Guest breakfast program exceeds industry standards.

We do have a full time breakfast hostess who can be contacted if the breakfast items are not satisfactory and they can prepare other items. We offer four different menus that are rotated on a four day basis so same items are not repeated on consecutive days. We serve the breakfast on real dishes using real silverware so we want our menu items to be satisfactory for our guests.

As a 2012 Carlson Hotel of the Year award winner and a 2013 Hotel Excellence award winner, the hotel has demonstrated the we meet and exceed both corporate and guest expectations. based on positive guest reviews of staff, facilities and service.

As General Manager it is my goal for all our guests to be completely satisfied with all aspects of their stay. It is obvious the hotel did not do this for this particular guest in the area of breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peters
0.9 mi away
Courtyard St. Louis St. Peters
Courtyard St. Louis St. Peters
#3 of 5 in Saint Peters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn St. Peters
Drury Inn St. Peters
#2 of 5 in Saint Peters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters
Address: 3877 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Saint Peters, MO 63376-6416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Peters
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saint Peters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Peters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing